We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful house with wonderful people”
Review of Les Marguerites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Marguerites
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful house with wonderful people”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Antoinette is the consummate host in providing a seamless stay for her guests. While laying out a delectable breakfast complete with eggs if desired, she chats about the local area, suggesting just the right small vineyard for a sampling of the wonderful bubbly known as blanquette famous in the region or giving a rundown of which neighboring villages have markets on what days. Antoinette and Keith have spent untold hours renovating this gracious historical mansion and adding all of the modern conveniences that travelers desire without changing those graceful features that define the house. Their four children are a perfect delight, helping to make this house a real home away from home for travelers. For a wonderful stay in a wonderful house with wonderful people, treat yourself to a stay at Les Marguerites with Antoinette and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCBartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
90
112
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We traveld around Spain for four weeks , on our way back to Holland we stayed in Les Marguerites: we had a lovely downstairs room with a nice bathroom annex. Everything is perfect , but the best part is the breakfast ,certainley the best in 4 weeks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Antoinette and family were very hospitable, House has been newly renovated to a high standard. The nicely decorated bedroom was a good size with a very comfy bed. Breakfast was good and Antionette was very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had heard so much about Antoinette and Keith from our daughter and her partner, that when they asked if we would like to visit in October 2012 we jumped at the chance. We were a party of six, nothing was too much trouble. All the bedrooms were large comfortable with luxurious bed linen. We dined inside due to the time of year and the meals we had, i can still remember fantastic. The wine flowed everynight, great company made to feel so welcome a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Antoinette looked after all our needs and recommended a great restaurant which she booked for us. The house is very grand in this part of the Pyrenees and the family have made it very comfortable, with original features abounding. It was cold when we stayed (though sunny) and the house was very well heated (though I suspect it might not be so warm when guests aren't present!). The rooms were clean and comfortable and very large, room 3 has a slightly lower seating area as well as views of the garden. Mind the step - while Antoinette warned us, I was for ever stubbing my toe. Breakfast was excellent with aprticularly good croissants.

Room Tip: The bed in room 3 is very comfortable and the ensuite next door room would suit 2 children
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avro504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Idyllic. We were travelling with friends from Marseilles to Barcelona and our friends booked us into the bed and breakfast. From this one night, we met wonderful people, had a magical evening and are already planning when we can return. (And it will definitely be for more than one nigh!.)

Welcomed into this renovated 190-year-old property, we immediately felt relaxed and at home. We arrived on a Saturday night, not a night when dinner is usually served to guests. However, Antoinette graciously included the seven of us in what turned out to be a birthday celebration with 19 people at a long table in the front garden under the stars. What a magical evening. Starting off with a glass of Blanquette de Limoux, we chatted with Antoinette and Keith and our children played with theirs. Dinner was delicious, a calabrese salad followed by a roast pork dinner and decdent cholocate dessert. The conversation lasted long into the evening.

We were fortunate to have arrived the weekend of the Fete-des-Alets - the annual town festival. A night of music and dancing ensued with ear plugs offered but not used. We were so happy, full and tired that we all slept through what remainded of the night.

The next morning we were served a delicious breakfast with lots of freshly baked goods, fruit, coffee, tea, fresh juice, yoghurt, ceral and even eggs cooked to your liking!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed with beautiful linens and high-quality bedding. We stayed in Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffVaderA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes-le-Chateau, France
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Bedroom No.3 is my ideal bedroom. Enormous, luxurious, a very comfortable sofa to chill out on, balcony, huge bathroom. This is a superb Chambres D'Hotes. The house is superbly decorated with attention to detail and quality. Plus Wifi a must. Antoinette and Keith have a lovely family and are very friendly and welcoming. They go out of their way to accommodate any requirements that you have. Will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patacake5160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alet les Bains
3.4 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
0.2 mi away
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
#1 of 1 in Alet les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
9.1 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
13.9 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Marguerites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Marguerites

Property: Les Marguerites
Address: 57 avenue Nicolas Pavillon, 11580 Alet les Bains, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Alet les Bains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alet les Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Languedoc, in the medieval village of Alet Les Bains, we offer you all year round luxury bed and breakfast accommodation with the choice of evening meals. Surrounded by tree lined mountains this idyllic rural setting is an ideal base to unwind and savour the many delights of France! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Marguerites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Marguerites Hotel Alet Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing