We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”
Review of Les Marguerites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Marguerites
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

A rather belated "thank you" for the unique experience which was our stay at Les Marguerites in May. Sadly we were unable to stay at Keith and Antoinette's villa but that's another story. The alternative offered by our visit to Les Marguerites was a different but totally special holiday. I can think of no more hospitable couple than K and A and the old cliche about coming as guests and leaving as friends could not be truer here. As soon as you arrive you become part of the family - and so if this style of thing is not for you then stick to the faceless budget hotels on the motorway! Apart from the material comforts which other reviewers have described, it is the unique personal touch which distinguishes Les Marguerites from all the rest. The most enjoyable dinners become a social occasion - good talk, good food and good wine - and no stinting on the latter including the most enjoyable Blanquette de Limoux as an aperitif.

Our stay was all too short but hopefully we can return in the future, not least to see how the ongoing project which is Les Marguerites is proceeding: K and A might even have sorted out that vegetable garden next time!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
92
116
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Travelling as two families 4 adults and 5 children ( ages 5 through to 12) our scheduled accommodation was unavailable and after frantic phone calls and Facebook blogs for help our guardian angels answered our prayers when Keith and Antoinette were able to accommodate us. It must have been fate as this place is absolutely unique, typically French with superb English hosts, the breakfasts our fantastic in the jardin overlooking the mountains, the afternoon teas are more than welcome after a day site seeing, the evenings relaxing with wine, another scrumptious culinary delight from Antoinette.

What more can one require 'en vacance avec la famille'

Shh! Don't tell everyone as this can remain our secret corner of paradise.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife found Les Marguerites and boy were we lucky. Antoinette and Keih's home is just superb. We do not want to leave. Alets les Bains has so much to offer for adults and children alike. From the Accro park to the kayaking/canoeing trips on the Aude. The thermal swimming pool and the history and countryside around. You will not fail to be impressed by Les Marguerites and Alets Les Bains.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonbm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Alet-les-Bains is a seemingly sleepy place, albeit a great base from which to explore the southern French Pyrenees and Cathar country. The best part of it is Les Marguerites. This B&B has only been open for about two years, but it has a great deal going for it. First, your hosts, Keith and Antoinette (British ex-pats) are simply delightful. You quickly become part of the family there. Second, the rooms are beautiful, spacious, comfortable, and relaxing. The bathrooms are also large and very nice, equipped with large soaking bathtubs and showers. The water they use is local source water found in the thermal baths here (those baths are currently closed, but there are other thermal baths within a short drive). Your day's exploration starts with an ample breakfast provided by Antoinette when you want it in the morning, and ends if you wish with one of her great dinners. Most meals are served in the garden. Nights in the summer are cool, and the owls call regularly. Les Marguerites will relax you fairly quickly, but it is not a place to come for just one night. It is just too nice.
I note that if you are taking a working vacation, as I often do, the free WiFi is excellent here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhenawayfromWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Following a last minute dash into your local tourist office we would like to thank you for such a wondeful welcome, a huge pot of tea with a slice of home made cake followed by a glass of chilled wine. What a find after driving through the Pyrenees on a hot day. We loved your house and Room 3 was perfect!

Room Tip: a late booking: what a find
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullion-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My wife and son (aged 3) stayed at Les Marguerites last summer for a mixture of pleasure and house-hunting. Keith and Antoinette could not have been more accommodating. The maison is a magnificent building (it has a face!) with a heart and a soul. It has been refurbished to a superb standard with impeccable taste and style. All the rooms are capacious and private. It is set in a part of the region which is at the centre of gravity of all you would wish to do and if you have children, they will adore running around the grounds. The food is exceptional and Antoinette has a wonderful sense of hosting with a light touch-you are always made to feel very pampered, but she respects your personal space. We would happily return without a second thought. Highly recommended for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DATMST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Saanich, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

One could write and write about the wonderful Les Marguerites, but one word sums up our stay - "perfect". Les Marguerites is everything one could ask for - amazing, friendly hosts, large, clean spacious rooms, comfy beds, a large bathroom, delicious breakfasts in the garden, amazing dinners in which the food was fresh and locally sourced, a peaceful and relaxing location, and a wonderful family to top off the stay. On arrival, we were greeted by Antoinette and shown our lovely accommodations and invited for tea in the garden. Keith was very welcoming and willing to provide us with lots of information on the area and offered the use of guide books and maps from their library. My wife requires a gluten free diet and Antoinette ensured that she was very well looked after. Les Marguerites is located in the medieval town of Alet-les-bains which is worth exploring with its old abbey ruins and medieval buildings. Les Marguerites is perfectly situated for day trips to many of the region's sights and at the end of the day, one knew that we could come "home" to a friendly smile, a warm greeting, and Keith pouring a glass of Blanquette out in the garden. A fantastic time and a wonderful stay in a beautiful house. We truly believe that we came as guests, but left as friends. If you are travelling to this area of France, do not hesitate in booking a stay. You will not regret staying at Les Marguerites.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alet les Bains
3.4 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
0.2 mi away
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
#1 of 1 in Alet les Bains
64 reviews
13.9 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
9.1 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
187 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Moneze Basse
La Moneze Basse
#1 of 13 in Limoux
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Marguerites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Marguerites

Property: Les Marguerites
Address: 57 avenue Nicolas Pavillon, 11580 Alet les Bains, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Alet les Bains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alet les Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Languedoc, in the medieval village of Alet Les Bains, we offer you all year round luxury bed and breakfast accommodation with the choice of evening meals. Surrounded by tree lined mountains this idyllic rural setting is an ideal base to unwind and savour the many delights of France! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Les Marguerites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Marguerites Hotel Alet Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing