We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B and campsite in a lovely town”
Review of Val d'aleth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alet les Bains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Val d'aleth
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“B&B and campsite in a lovely town”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The B&B is run by an English couple; so if your French is as good as mine (i.e. close to non-existant) fear not. The owners are very friendly, and the rooms are very nice, too.

The campsite (same owners) is small and has wondeful pitches at the river and close to the ruined abbey. You can't find a much more stylish setting to put your tent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revrazna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This B&B is in a charming village in a very interesting area. It's an excellent, comfortable, genial place with access to everything you need, including a peaceful and attractive garden, covered outdoor table, and dining room with fridge and microwave. The room was big and comfortable with a good remodeled bathroom. Christine was an efficient and obliging bilingual hostess who went out of her way to help us solve a logistical problem. We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a terrific time and the b&b was so welcoming and comfortable. A very central spot to explore the cathar region. The b&b is surrounded by greenery and a peaceful river and the building is so charming - all in all an excellent spot to holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golly003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We regularly travel to the Languedoc in the South of France an have visited this B&B more than once. We like the classic town house with all the mod-cons. All rooms are nice and very clean with a street view and French shutters! The windows are double glazed so there is not much noise when they are closed. Most rooms have an en-suite bathroom and the water is always plentyfull and very hot which when you travel in winter or after a long motorbike-ride from the UK is great.
Breakfast is good with fresh coffee or tea, fresh bread, cereals, jam and cheeses and when you visit in summer it is served on the verandah in the garden.
We mostly travel by motorbike and when asked Christine will always try to find a secure parking place on the adjacent campsite which she and her husband own as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Nederland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We started off at the campsite, due to the weather in october we switched our accomidation to the B&B. At the campsite we were warmly greeted, this was continued at the B&B. Breakfast was perfect, a fresh pot of coffee or tea, warm bread and nice cheeses, the interaction with the other guests was extremely pleasant and useful to exchange information and tips. Also nice, in the communal area was a small refridgerator and microwave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottevana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were on a tour of Italy and Southern France and liked this B+B a lot. The hosts were friendly and helpful, especially during an emergency (I made a booking error for our next stay so our hostess required both English and French to sort it out for us).
The village Alet-les-Bain has little choice for dining, nor food shopping actually, so it was vital we were able to go to surrounding villages to buy produce and to return and prepare (not cook) food to dine on the verandah at Val d'aleth. The village of Couiza was a popular coffee, cafe and food haunt for us, and there is an open market there on Tuesdays.

Room Tip: We had the first floor room with 2 or 3 windows opening out onto the street. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alet les Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
#1 of 1 in Alet les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Marguerites
Les Marguerites
#1 of 3 in Alet les Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Escalette
L'Escalette
#2 of 3 in Alet les Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val d'aleth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val d'aleth

Property: Val d'aleth
Address: 14 avenue Nicolas Pavillon, 11580 Alet les Bains, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Alet les Bains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alet les Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our charming home in the medieval village of Alet les Bains. The rooms are comfortable and airy and have en suite shower/ toilet facilities. A kettle is provided in each room for hot drinks and we are a few paces from the village restaurants and bars. Enjoy the large garden and terrace where breakfast is served in the summer months. We are here to help you get the most out of your Holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing