We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best moules frites!”

La Maison du Pecheur
Ranked #43 of 63 Restaurants in Meze
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to try this restaurant for Sunday lunch as we could see it was popular with locals. We were not disappointed - both had moules frites - the freshest, juiciest, tastest ever! If you’re looking for somewhere glamorous this is not for you, but for good food I’d give it a go!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank nickd592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 310 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2019

The food in this restaurant is well below an acceptable standard, we ate from the 29€ set menu the fish soup starter tasted like the dregs of a pilchard tin washed out with water, the main course of steak was infact completely inedible just complete grissle and sinew, the saving grace was the children’s menu for the grandchildren deep fried chicken Nuggets and chips. The entertainment from a disgruntled customer was poorly handled by someone acting as the owner. Take my advice and avoid, that way it may well get closed down and someone who actually cares about the French cuisine of the area will take it over AVOID

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Went in search of moules with rouquefort for lunch. Fav restaurant on the port - l'ambre marine - was closed so tried this one stupidly without consulting trip advisor reviews first. Moules arrived with chips. Chips yummy. Moules ridiculously salty and shrunken and many empty shells. So bad was inedible. Waiter offered pathetic explanation that the moules were naturally salty and should taste like that. However he did offer to do a fresh batch. Waited ages. Finally arrived but not in roquefour sauce as requested. Moules better but still slightly over salted and shrunken. We explained that we ordered with the sauce then waiter bought over small dish with melted rouquefort sauce separately. Husband ate his. I didnt think they were decent enough to eat. Meanwhile waitresses must have been having bad day. One dropped 2 glasses in separate incidences and didnt bother to clean up broken glass on floor (bearing in mind people walking around in flip flops) and another dropped a cup but did at least pick up broken pieces. Two other customers sent their food back whilst we were there. When we paid they did apologise and didnt charge us for our drinks. Think that sums it up ...

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Sandiehc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

We stopped here because it said it was a producer/restaurant. Wanting to support the direct supply chain, and believing that the fish and shellfish would be super fresh, we decided to give it a try (without consulting Trip Advisor first - error...).
We ordered 12 medium oysters, and they were delicious. Fresh, tasty, went well with the Picpoul.
We then wanted sardines. Sardines were off (because of the weather. Round the port, we later saw another restaurant that was offering sardines...). So we chose the dorade. Two fish were served with a baked potato and side of some courgette/tomato/egg concoction. My fish was fine, the other had a distinctly odd after-taste. Off? The side was not too good and kept repeating on me throughout the afternoon. The baked potato was revolting. Difficult to do, but they managed it. It was the potato that was a bit off, too.
I would not return to this place except to eat oysters.
The service was ok.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2018

We were there for dinner as it is still low season, there were hardly anyone around. We ordered the house specialty which was a mixed grilled platter. The seafood was perfectly cooked and very fresh. It was delicious. We also had a dish of fried anchovies and they were perfectly cooked- crispy, tender and succulent. To finish it off we had creme catalan which was well cooked - creamy firm and not too sweet.

We will definately return to this restaurant

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison du Pecheur also viewed

 

Been to La Maison du Pecheur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing