We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Armenian hotel”
Review of Hotel Lalaner

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sisian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lalaner
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sisian
Ljubljana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average Armenian hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a twin room just next to the reception. Room was ok for a night or two but it could be improved. Specially the bathroom was in need of repair - the shower leaked and afther taking the shower the water stayed in the basin. There was also a slight smell from the drain as in most Armenian hotels.

However the satff was really hospitable, there was also ok free wi-fi. And brekfast was also ok - quite simple but sufficient. The only thing that really bothered us was the barking dog in the back-yard. He barked all the time - in the middle of the night, when you looked through the window... I'd really recommend to hotel to move his position.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domen_SI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located in Sisian however really needs a complete makeover. Reception is on the first floor and although 'help' was offered we had to carry luggage up two flights of stairs as there is no lift. Work is currently being undertaken on the fabric of the building however the rooms and the bathrooms are well past their best. Our friends were fortunate to have the room with the Jacuzzi in the corner and although it is a talking point its not very practical. The rest of that room is nothing special and we we informed the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor.
We were first shown to a very dated room down a corridor from the first floor reception. This room was dated and brown, it had no curtains, the furniture looked grubby and the bathroom dirty with a sink unit chipped and cracked. We asked for an alternative and were given a larger double next to reception (across the corridor from the Jacuzzi room). All rooms close to the reception suffer from a degree of noise and at 5:15 in the morning we were woken by people talking and someone leaving early.We had no outside noise as Sisian itself is not very lively and apart from the 5:15 noise slept well.
The room we had had a large bed and a sofa with other furniture but everything was extremely dated and did not look especially clean. It was however far better than the first room we were shown. Sheets/pillows were however OK. The bathroom although slightly better than our first room was grubby (maybe more to do with its age and the brown shower fixtures than dirt ) however it was not inviting. Neither of us felt comfortable using the shower as the tray was cracked, it looked dirty and the water did not drain properly. Although we both have stayed in worse places in our travels this was by far the least appealing of the 5 or 6 hotels we used during our journey around Armenia. Breakfast was 'sparse' just bread, jam and eggs with tea/coffee. The dinning room is huge which suggests the hotel may be busy in the season. We ate out in another hotel a little further along the main street.
We used the hotel as a brief stopping point.on our way to Lake Seven so for this purpose it was fine however unless it undertakes a makeover fairly soon I cannot see it becoming a firm favorite for tourists. Sisian although located by a river and close to a number of sights was also not particularly appealing.

Room Tip: You need to have look before choosing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The furniture of the room was rather oldfashioned and the walls and ceiling needed some work but our stay was nice, mainly because everything was very clean and the staff was friendly. Unfortunately nobody spoke English whic was difficult but they did there very best to communicate with you. We had a very big room with kind of livingroom and "terrasroom" .
The shower was clean and had soe "jacuzzi: things but they did not work. Breakfast was fine, nothing spectacular and not a big choise but good enough. I realy have to mention the spectacular embroidery on the sheets; this is really armenian and lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaffraanReizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Shared a twin bedroom with my sister, the beds were uncomfortable, the walls seemed to be half painted, and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. The staff however seemed very friendly especially the lady at breakfast in the restaurant who was very efficient. My dad's room even had a jacuzzi in which was very strange!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmilyAnna1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sisian hotels

Saonara, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A nice hotel, facing the Town hall and the city center square.
The rooms are quiet and clean with a modern bathroom and even a small living room, the carpets were showing some age related decay.
Your stay will be quite comfortable, the staff is friendly and courteous, even if only some speak english. The restaurant is really very good, as the breakfast.
There are some atm nearby.
A good hotel overall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaoloStefani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

This is actually a nice hotel. Very clean, has all the amenities. Bathroom was modern. Beds were comfortable. TV (no English stations). Hotel staff was very friendly. The food was very good in the restaurant. The service a little slow because there was only one waitress (she was very friendly).

I was not happy with the lack of AC in the rooms or restaurant. At 5200 foot elevation one might expect the area to be cool. It is cooler than the rest of the country in summer but it was warm and very humid. Opening a window would help but the mosquitoes made that chose a bad one. We did have one fan but it was not adequate for three people.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hot, humid rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DrMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sisian hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Basen
Hotel Basen
#1 of 5 in Sisian
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Resort MJA
Resort MJA
#4 of 5 in Sisian
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azoyan Holiday Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lalaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lalaner

Property: Hotel Lalaner
Address: Sisian St., House 29, Sisian, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Syunik Province > Sisian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sisian
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing