We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Coast comfort...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farr Out Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“West Coast comfort...”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My sister and I were booked into Farr Out guesthouse in Paternoster as part of our packaged tour and couldn't have asked for a more stunning experience. Set in the stunning backdrop of the sleepy little fishing village of Paternoster this guest house is seriously clean, super comfortable and beautifully set out. The garden is a pure adventure with cute little surprises hidden round every corner, you absolutely must experience the wood fired hot tub...thank you so much Marion and Deon it truly was an experience

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello Brenda,
thanks for your fantastic review. So glad you experienced the Hot Tub after your tough hikes along the rough West Coast! Hope to welcome you back maybe next time in the Wigwam...All the best for 2014! Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    73
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
221
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paternoster, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised and happy about the choice that we made with Farr Out Guesthouse for our 3 day stay in Paternoster. Even though slightly out of the main town, you could still see the sea and Paternoster from our balcony. What was also more appealing to us, was the peace, safety, quiet and beautiful nature surrounds. Marion and Deon are wonderful hosts and make you feel right at home. The rooms are very neat and clean with beautiful attention to detail. All the comforts that a person might need are catered for...even a washcloth for make-up. The continental breakfasts are delicious and served in a lovely homely setting. Marion went above and beyond to accommodate our children as well and her patience and kindness towards them were much appreciated. We would highly recommend this guesthouse for somebody looking for something a bit different (not looking on your neighbours stoep), but even more special in Paternoster.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oyster room with a lovely balcony and view. Our kids stayed in Perlemoen with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hello U4!
thanks sooooo much for choosing Farr Out and your positive review. It was such a great pleasure to welcome you as guests and we would like to share sooooo much more with you. Hopefully next time in spring when all the flowers are out the Beach Buggy ride comes into action...Say hi to the kids! Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, all the best, Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was our favourite B&B on our 12-day Cape trip. Although it is situated away from the beach, you could see the sea from our room and the short drive to the sea side was only a small inconvenience. This was more than made up for by the lovely Marion and unique Deon! Lovely couple that were always happy to help and laid on a beautiful breakfast where we were surrounded by amazing birdlife.

I highly recommend Deon's beach buggy excursion which is superb value for money. He took us on an awesome trip where we saw seals and dolphins frollicking in the waves and endless stunning vistas of the beautiful seaside.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cyrenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello Claude, Tove, Troy and Savanna!
Word won't say enough to thank you for your response. It was an absolute pleasure having you as guests, so much fun to be with! We are sooooo happy that you could spot the dolphins after all! Lots more to discover, another reason to come back... All the best for you 4! Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The experience we shared at farr-out was absolutely amazing. The hosts really made you feel welcome and were there to answer any questions, even going out their way to advise of places to go to make the holiday more enjoyable. The friendly environment made by them made you want to stay longer. The food was always of excellent standards.

Our experience in Rising moon (the tent), suited us perfectly because it offered lots of privacy, the only thing we found missing was shade close to the tent.

We would go back!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wilma + Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hello Wilma and Carla. Thanks a mil for your kind words, it was lovely to have you here as guests! Always looking for something to do..nice...so that we can advice on all! Will try to think of something suitable for shade next to the Wigwam as trees won't grow at the West Coast, let us know if you do have an idea! Have a peaceful Christmas time and Happy New Year! Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Imagine a creatively designed B&B set on a hillside looking over the fynbos to the sea away from the hustle of this little tourist town but close enough that two minutes by car and you are in the Center of town, this is Farr Out. Knowledgeable and helpful hosts who go out of their way to see that you get the most out of your visit to this delightful part of the Western Cape. Clean, good breakfasts, comfortable inside and out, places to sit and enjoy the garden and the views away from the wind. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank burrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
You put it on the spot what we always try to say... Thanks so much for your positive review and hope to welcome you again in the future. Have a wonderful XMAS time and a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Marion and Deon are very friendly hosts. The hot tub is huge fun. Very peaceful place to spend a few days. We would certainly recommend this establishment to others. One of the few B&B's that cater for children.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Alan,
thanks so much for your kind review. Would be great if you could also experience the Beach Buggy trip on a next time...All the best Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Farr Out and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Highlights include: fantastic breakfasts, clean well furnished rooms with comfortable beds, watching colourful bird-life from the dining table, Marion's recommendations of where to eat in the village and of course the hot-tub.
Only point to mention that might be important for some; the B&B is a 2 minute drive / 10 minute walk from the village, but we actually liked this.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Oyster room - fantastic views over Paternoster
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireC20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Claire,
thanks so much for your very positive comment and also the fact to highlight the location as this is definitely very important to some guests who look truly for peace and tranquillity. Hope to see you sometime again. Best regards Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
1.2 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
0.8 mi away
Paternoster Hotel
Paternoster Hotel
#19 of 19 in Paternoster
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gilcrest Place BnB
Gilcrest Place BnB
#2 of 19 in Paternoster
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
99 reviews
1.2 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farr Out Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farr Out Guesthouse

Property: Farr Out Guesthouse
Address: 17 Seemeeu Crescent | Pelgrimsrust, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Farr Out Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The few minutes drive from Paternoster 'Center' to Farr Out is not what you would exactly call far. But when you arrive in this sandy bushveld wilderness, you do feel pleasingly remote. Crunching up the glinting shell pathway you can see across an indigenous garden and right out to sea. Catch the glimpse of the last manned lighthouse of South Africa situated in nearby Cape Columbine Nature Reserve or listen to the foghorn and cuddle up.Go on; be extravagant, enjoy your vacation! Four luxury rooms PLUS our new Wigwam Rising Moon will make your stay comfortable and unforgettable in our guesthouse. Your hosts speak English, German and Afrikaans.The perfect 'off the beaten track' breakaway. About 2 hours from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Farr Out Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing