We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Farr Out Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a really nice time there with an almost family atmosphere. We got really good information about restaurants and where to go on with our trip.

We only could recommend Farr Out when coming to Paternoster!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annu_K2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks so much staying with us. And sooooo much more to discover and experience hopefully another time...Till then, all the best. Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    72
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
220
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We loved our stay at Farr Out. Deon is a fantastic cook, the breakfast was delicious. Marion is the perfect hostess and pays so much attention to detail, there are so many little touches that make your stay super special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LouiseH-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Louise,
it was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Surely you enjoyed the setup of the wedding and chilling afterwards at Farr Out. Hopefully next time Deon can show you also his skills of riding the Beach Buggy...All the best, Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Awesome place, the Rising Moon beautiful well set out! The Wooden Fire Tub is the best ever! Very nice owner Marion & Deon stunning hospitality! The Best Birthday ever celebrated. Will go back for sure! Thanks again for everything and making our stay the best!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
What a pleasure to have you guys here for such a special birthday. Wonderful to hear that you made the most out of it and enjoyed it on top of it. Hope you won't wait till the next "round" birthday" to visit again, there is still the Beach Buggy ride to experience...Best regards Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My 9 yo daughter and 11 yo son and I had a fabulous stay with Marian and Deon. Excellent hospitality, lovely breakfasts and great facilities.

We did the hottub and Braai one evening which was a great success. Also went on the Dune buggy ride which combined thrills with history and nature.

Thanks - my kids can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Manager at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Can't wait to meet the rest of the family Michael!!! Your kids are really a jewel, be proud of them, it was special for us to have them around as they were interested in anything and everything!
Thanks so much for your review on TripAdvisor, always helps other future guests to make a decision.
till hopefully soon, best regards
Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

When arriving at Farr Out we received such a warm welcome and got lots of wonderful advice from Marion to take a lovely day trip that included a visit to the lighthouse. It was really special and worth visiting, the views were incredible and we even saw a small deer. Marion also told us about an extra special padstal/restaurant Mondvol!

We stayed in the tepee-tent "Wigwam Rising Moon" and really enjoyed the whole experience and the luxury of the tent. It is so beautifully done up and cosy inside. Allot of love and care went into making the whole experience wonderful! There is a bench outside, were you can enjoy your morning coffee or enjoy the stars and animal sounds at night .

We had a wonderful short visit and wished that we could have stayed longer. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ansie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Manager at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Ansie and Alvin,
thanks soooo much for a fantastic review. So happy that you enjoyed it and actually chose to upgrade to the Wigwam as this is truly a special experience. Also good news that you still managed to go to Mondvol Padstal in Trekooskraal as they really have a mouthwatering menu...
Hope to see you some time back in the future. All the best
Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

althought we only spent two nights there (for the very first time) we felt like friends. The house and the rooms as well are very nice decorated. Marion (speaks German) and Deon are really good hosts and gives good advice what to do or where to eat. Good place for a stay to visit Lambert's Bay, or West Coast NP especially while "Flower Season". Save parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Google Translation
Hallo Inge,
vielen Dank für lieben Worte über Farr Out. Es gibt noch sooooo viel zu entdecken, sicherlich werdet Ihr irgendwann noch einmal wiederkommen. Wir freuen uns auf Euch und natürlich die Abenteuer im Beach Buggy. Liebe Grüße, Marion und Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed only two nights at Farr Out (out of three in paternoster) and must say we had plenty to do. Just relaxing in the garden with the birds & fish is a definite MUST and if you like a sauna experience, the Northern-style hot-tub is maybe even better!!! The buggy ride with Deon was very nice and surpisingly comfy-our kid loved it. Marion kindly gave us very good advice on when and where to see the best flowers during our stay. The breakfast was plentyfull and and well presented. Great room with very good view and comfortable bed.
Thanks Marion, Deon and the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Roberto,
it was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your family. It's always a nice for us to see a very active and interested guest, this makes us always happy! We like sharing our love to the West Coast but we do see a need in improving our Italian haha...Hope to welcoming you again in future! Best regards
Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
1.2 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
De Linden Boutique Guest House
De Linden Boutique Guest House
#6 of 19 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farr Out Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farr Out Guesthouse

Property: Farr Out Guesthouse
Address: 17 Seemeeu Crescent | Pelgrimsrust, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Farr Out Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The few minutes drive from Paternoster 'Center' to Farr Out is not what you would exactly call far. But when you arrive in this sandy bushveld wilderness, you do feel pleasingly remote. Crunching up the glinting shell pathway you can see across an indigenous garden and right out to sea. Catch the glimpse of the last manned lighthouse of South Africa situated in nearby Cape Columbine Nature Reserve or listen to the foghorn and cuddle up.Go on; be extravagant, enjoy your vacation! Four luxury rooms PLUS our new Wigwam Rising Moon will make your stay comfortable and unforgettable in our guesthouse. Your hosts speak English, German and Afrikaans.The perfect 'off the beaten track' breakaway. About 2 hours from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Farr Out Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing