We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for the back room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B
Ranked #9 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive for the back room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I expected to get a room that appears on the website when I booked but was given a back room with no view and rather small for the expensive rate I paid for the room - in fact we did not use the room. When you book make sure you confirm a front room or ask for a 50% discount for a back room - this would be more fair.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_B312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlenea831, Owner at Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I am sorry that you have chosen this platform to vent your frustration however I personally showed you to your bed and breakfast unit when you arrived - showed you the sea view balcony - and you did not indicate any displeasure . You did however have additional accommodation for the rest of your group in another part of the village and I suspect that may be the prime reason why you did not make use of my facility .The idea that you were given a back room is ludicrous - all our units with the description and photos are what you base your booking on - we do not have a hidden agenda and certainly cannot afford to displease our guests. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stilbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great B&B to overnight. Wished we had more time to stay over! Very friendly and helpful! Beautiful view of sunset from bedroom. Stunning little town to spend time with loved ones etc. Will definitely visit again. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanniev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlenea831, Owner at Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We are also sorry that you could not stay for longer ... however now you have a great excuse to visit us again someday.
Kind regards to your mom - Marlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to Paternoster on the west coast of South Africa about 2 hours drive from Cape Town to recover from the excitement of my daughter's brilliant wedding in Constantia. Paternoster is a small very quiet village where all the houses are whitepainted. It is a little twee I suppose as it sells itself a a fisherman's village but has been taken over by holidaymakers. Still you can watch the boats come in and the everlasting excitement of looking at the catch but the real joy of the place is how relaxing it feels.
We chose the self-catering or B&B Paters Haven which overlooks a wonderful beach of white sand and interesting rocks. Although not on the beach frontage itself the house is on the hillside and looks over the other houses to the beach with uninterrupted views. The self catering apartment was very well equipped and sensibly laid out, the two double rooms upstairs airy and light if not huge.We slept in the front room with a lovely balcony - the sound of the waves to sleep by and a spectacular balcony to sit on, watch the sunset while sipping a cooling cocktail or glass of wine. Michael and his wife made us very welcome and answered all our various queries.
This is definitely a place i would recommend for some peace and quiet and relaxation. And i forgot to say that the beds are wonderfully comfortable and the rates vey reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlenea831, Owner at Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
It was refreshing for me as owner to read your review about your stay with us . Thank you for going to the trouble -it is appreciated.
Your note reminded me of the heartiness you showed toward us during the short stay - it is always a pleasure to have guests who almost feel like family. I hope that we will see you again soon on your next visit to our country and especially to our region . Kind regards to you and your family .
Marlene and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
1.1 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
De Linden Boutique Guest House
De Linden Boutique Guest House
#6 of 19 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
SA West Coast & Beyond
SA West Coast & Beyond
#5 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B

Property: Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B
Address: 11 Kriedoring Street | Bekbaai, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paters Haven has two bed and breakfast units each sleeping two adults and a self catering unit which can sleep four adults. We are situated on the tranquil southern end of Paternoster village , have panoramic sea views and are 200m from the beach. Our crisp white linen , heated towel rails , comfortable beds and peaceful atmosphere are aimed to revive your spirit and allow you to relax in our simple surroundings. Come - pay us a visit soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing