We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Return trip to this special Paternoster...”
other travelers have booked this property
Ceol na Mara - absolutely right on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ceol na Mara - absolutely right on the beach
Ceoleen Ceol na Mara
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Ceol na Mara - absolutely right on the beach
Ceoleen
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara - view from the balcony
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
Ceol na Mara
On your back door!!
Ceol na Mara - view from the balcony
Ceoleen
Ceoleen
Ceoleen
Ceoleen - view from balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fly_Away...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return trip to this special Paternoster beachfront paradise”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Having spent a splendid few days at Ceol Na Mara with my parents visiting SA from England in April last year (review below), we returned with friends for a wedding in town, this time taking Ceoleen as well as the main house - the smaller 1-bed apartment at the back.

There were 6 adults and the joint space was perfect with everyone having their own bedroom & bathroom - all coming together for breakfast in the main house kitchen after a run on the beach, catching some afternoon sun on the terrace and for sundowners at the balcony bar adjoining the top bedroom, overlooking the beach at sunset.

Our friends loved the place too and were sad to leave after only 3 nights there this time - we'd love to have stayed all week. Hope to be back again soon, thanks again for having us Chris & Michele!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeL74
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay in a beachfront property.”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked both Ceol na Mara and Ceoleen for 3 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 12. The homes were both comfortable with everything we needed for our stay, good beds and showers. The views are spectacular and the beach endless and spotless. Highly recommend. So lovely to walk everywhere, no car needed once you get there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenleRo...
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Ocean Front Gem in Paternoster!”
Reviewed December 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 6 wonderful days in Paternoster at the end of November 2017. There were only 4 of us, but we rented Ceol na Mara and Ceoleen as we needed 3 separate bedrooms and the main house only had 2 bedrooms. Right on the beach, no steps to beach (for elderly parent) the garden was whimsical, fireplace for the cold evenings, great BBQ facilities with the most amazing beach view. House was basic, but had everything we needed to cook our own meals. Beds were comfortable. They have a huge table in the garden, where we had plenty of cups of coffee and tea to enjoy the view. I was a little put off on arrival to discover that the upstairs loft was open to the downstairs living space, somehow, I missed that when looking at the house on-line, but it ended up not being a problem, we had our upstairs retreat with an amazing outside deck and the most beautiful view from the bed. I have to say I did a lot of research and looked at tons of places, before I decided to rent Ceol na Mara and Ceoleen and after staying there for 6 nights, I realized I picked the best possible gem for us in Paternoster. We had the most amazing long walks on the beach, it is an adorable town, nice restaurants, they keep the beach clean. Will highly recommend Ceol na Mara and Ceoleen!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolf V
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only on the West coust”
Reviewed November 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Spend four days which was way to short. The house is right on the beach which is a plus with second living area at the back.
Two bedrooms in the front part of the house with bathrooms however you had no privacy due to the open plan.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30walterh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fair Value”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a lovely stay. Everything worked and was clean. Thank goodness for the wood burning stove as it was a very cold weekend. Good beachfront position to appreciate the view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fly_Away...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dream Paternoster beach home-from-home, right on the ocean”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a magical place to stay! With my parents visiting us from England, I wanted to find a spot that would truly showcase Paternoster's beauty whilst making them feel at home. Ceol Na Mara was all that and more.

Nestled right on Mosselbank beach, with stunning sunset views, the house itself is homely, generously spaced yet cosy in feel and beautifully appointed - with natural wood, double-height ceilings and a mezzanine second bedroom level overlooking the ocean.

Both comfortable bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms, allowing everyone plenty their own independent space - coming together in the evening for sundowners and a wood braai on the large terrace or huddled around the fireplace for a movie on squishy sofas. The kitchen had everything we needed for dining at home and is really well kitted out for cooking and entertaining.

We cannot WAIT to return. Hopefully next time taking the smaller connecting apartment Ceoleen with some friends. This spot really is paradise on the beach. Thanks Chris & Michele.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Hi Lucie
Thanks for your wonderful review. Seems like you love Paternoster and Ceol na Mara for the same reasons as us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Chris and Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nielsandr...
Coesfeld, Germany
2 reviews
“Lovley Beach house”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in Ceol na Mara with the whole family and we felt home from the first second. Right on the beach, perfect for the kids and for long walks. There is enough space for everyone and you can see the ocean from the top floor shower. The ancient TV has been replaced and everything promised was tip top. We can only recommend it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2017
Thank you for your review - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Chris and Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing