We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You’re going to love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paternoster
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“You’re going to love it!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a beautiful venue in the most beautiful little fishing village, Paternoster. We stayed there for 2 nights and immediately regretted not staying longer. The food was great the staff and owners were very attentive, without being too intrusive. Definitely recommended… and definitely will go back…

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have different things to offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8mmSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    41
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
343
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Service was exteremly efficent ( I have never been to a hotel where the room has been throughly cleaned BEFORE I returned from breakfast) and any requests for help or advice were dealt with quickly in a friendly helpful manner. Special mention must be made of staff members Tapiwie and Simba who helped to make our stay so special The food was particularly good and we particularly enjoyed our afternoon teas. We were given a personel welcome by the owners. Our chic, beach facing court yard room made me feel like a Hollywood star! Paternoster is a beautiful location and this must be the best place to stay. However, this area is prone to winds so come prepared-even a 5 star establishment cannot control the weather.

Room Tip: Choose beach facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliduy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a lovely stay, having been welcomed by the owner upon arrival. All the staff were friendly and keen to ensure that we enjoyed every aspect of our visit. The hotel was full, but we never felt for a moment that we were overlooked in the rush of attending to all the other guests. The chef, Lovemore, is a treasure- the food was absolutely first class, without being over the top. Pure simple, good quality, fresh ingredients, given the best treatment and served up to us with a smile! Well done to all the staff!

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epicurean47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Brilliant location but not 5 star. We stayed in the Presedential suite but bath room smelled of fresh paint on day of arrival. Outside door in Bedroom closed very difficult. Simba the Zimbabwe staff member was outstanding. Asked for fresh milk but 1st got sour milk then long life milk. Went to pay my bill and office looked like a mess. Overall I think owner and staff lack in 5 star experience . Place really have so much potential. Definately the best site in Paternoster

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VDWALTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandloperOcean, Owner at Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and complimenting our location. We are happy to hear you could enjoy the secluded and private area in which our hotel is situated. Thank you for mentioning Simba. We forwarded your compliment to him and he is indeed a star.

We apologise for the paint smell in your bathroom. We are often in a position that due to the rooms being occupied, the only time we have to attend to issues coming up during a guest’s stay is the short period between them leaving and the next guests arriving. Our maintenance team did some paint touch ups in the bathroom and we are sorry that there was still a paint smell on your arrival. When we checked you in we pinpointed to your husband that the bedroom door opens not easily and he assured us that this is not a problem at all. We were unable to get the door specialists from Cape Town in the short period between checkout and check-ins.

We apologise for the sour milk which is totally unacceptable and we are busy following up with our supplier. We chose for our Presidential Suite one of the top Nespresso machines with a frother. Nespresso specified that only long life milk should be used for the frother as fresh milk will not produce satisfying results.

Our office was indeed upside down when you came in to settle your bill. We hosted many and unexpected guests who were evacuated from the fires in Cederberg. We regret very much that you could not enjoy your stay and that it wasn’t a five star experience for you. All of us could sense that you were not happy and we did not succeed to identify what was wrong. We tried to cheer you up with complimentary champagne and crayfish pasta but this was unsuccessful.

We are also sorry that we missed your departure. You announced to leave early in the morning around 6 am and we were ready with a lovely breakfast for you at that time. When we found out that you left much earlier we were truly disappointed that we could not farewell you.

Warm wishes

Simone & Deon
Owners
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

New establishment- some of teething problems

This boutique hotel offered an array of pro's & con's:
Pro's:
1. Very tasteful decor
2. Beautiful location on the beach (ensure you get a beach facing room however)
3. Good breakfast
4. Big comfortable bed
5. Large courtyard with small plunge pool in our first room (Anthea)
6. Nespresso coffee machine in the rooms

Con's
1. We were given the smallest of their courtyard rooms - very small space, in my view not what would be expected of for 5 stars (a very large bed takes up most of the room)
2. The owner didn't seem competent in dealing with complaints- he first tried to avoid us & then when we addressed it with him after breakfast, he went to great lengths to explain his other pressing problems with his self catering units. He also explained that we had been placed in their smallest room & that the courtyard compensated for it. We explained that the rainy weather did not permit us to use the courtyard. Upon our insistence he suggested that he try put us in a larger room.
We asked him to call & let us know if he had succeeded in arranging this.
He failed to do this for the duration of the day & only after we returned to the hotel later and followed up in the early evening did he inform us that we could change rooms to a slightly bigger room. He suggested that we take a look and if we liked it, we could move.
He however had failed to arrange that the room be cleaned and prepared for us. We had to wait until after dinner before the room was ready - this was VERY inconvenient.
3. Website states telephone & DVD player in all rooms- neither of our rooms had either. Each time we required anything we had to use our mobile phones.
4. Shower was unfinished - no shelf to place soap or shampoo- one had to place these items on the floor of the shower- not accepted 5 star practice
5. Nespresso machine in our second room was broken
6. Constantly have to chase and follow up: we reported our coffee machine broken to three different people. It was only attended to after lunch. Another example is when we called to follow up on the laundry handed in the previous day. We were told they would call us back however they didn't call, we had to go to reception and follow up only to discover that it was still not ready.
7. Our second room was bigger and far more comfortable. It has a window that has no curtain and despite the fact that it is painted white, it lets the light in early in the morning and you are unable to sleep late.
8. This establishment is marketed as a 5 star establishment however, despite the beautiful location and smart decor, the service doesn't live up to what is expected of a 5 star establishment. Staff struck me as having little previous experience in a 5 star environment and lacked the skills to perform at a high level.
Overall I was most disappointed.

Room Tip: Only chose a sea facing room otherwise very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purplebirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandloperOcean, Owner at Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guests.
Firstly we would like to thank you for the positive points expressed about Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel. It is really a shame that despite these, you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We tried our utmost to change your room when you expressed that it did not meet your expectation. It was however very unwise from you to book an entry level room in peak season, requesting an upgrade on arrival. It was impossible for us to meet your request as we were fully booked. Your comment about me trying to avoid you is a total wrongful interpretation. We are a private, owner managed establishment and are enjoying very much to meet our guests in person. The feedback we receive from our guests is crucial and extremely important for us. To avoid problems or unsatisfied guests is definitely neither our style nor in our interest.

I take strong exception to your insinuation that I am incompetent. I find this inappropriate and checked your other reviews. These show a tendency to get personal when things do not go your way. I refer to your reviews headed: ”chef/owner narcisissitic” and then another heading “Manager tried to overcharge us, police were called”. In our hotel we also had the unpleasant experience of you shouting at our staff and upsetting other guests with inappropriate demands. You arrived for example heavily late for our crayfish dinner night and complained that you are not happy with the last table being available in our Ocean Lounge. Even when you stormed out ordering your meal to be served in your room, we accommodated you despite this being challenging for our team with a fully booked Ocean Lounge and our policy not to serve dinners in rooms. Another example was when your laundry was ready the same day, but due to the room change not delivered, you did not approach us, but instead waited for 24 hours to pass and then to complain immediately that you won't pay for this service. As a gesture of goodwill, we accepted this. We are however not prepared to accept your negative comments about our team. They are dedicated and we receive amazing feedback about their friendliness, warmth and passion. It leaves us puzzled how you could experience them in such a negative way.

We are graded as five star from the Tourism Grading council of South Africa which's competence you also seem to question. Our Courtyard rooms have an average size of 30 sqm (your first room is indeed our smallest of 27 sqm) but our concept of combining inside and outside living adds to the space experience with water features and private courtyards. We cannot be made responsible for unpleasant weather conditions which did not allow you to use the courtyard.

The many failures you list from a lack of information to not cleaning your new room in time are very unfair. We tried to keep you posted but you were out and unreachable and we are in awe that you are unable to appreciate that we had to go some extra miles in offering you an alternative accommodation due to a fully booked Hotel. As this was an unexpected cleaning and as our Housekeeping would under no means compromise on our cleaning standards, we had to count on a little patience from you which you call an inconvenience. It's very confusing to read that even the new room was perceived as problematic for you as you had a thorough look before you accepted to move.

Our interior concept is based on organic materials and textures and a natural look and we keep electronics as limited as possible. A DVD player can be delivered anytime from one of our Butlers as was the case with you. Our showers are not unfinished and we made a note of your comment of adding a shelf which we found a constructive criticism . Our bathrooms were also approved by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and were even mentioned as extra luxury considering that we have handmade stone baths and vanities. Our Housekeeping team checks all Nespresso machines before a new guest enters the room. We could not identify any problems with the machine but Nespresso informed us that the power pump of the machine is broken due to harsh handling. We apologise for this but could not deliver another machine to your room earlier as your “Do Not Disturb” sign was out.

Regards
Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked a last minute night here on the 7th January and as soon as we arrived and saw this amazing hotel, decided to book another! Our courtyard room was so comfortable and had a view of the beach from the table outside. The staff were so friendly - Tapiwa and Freddy couldn't do enough for us and Deon and Simone the owners were always on hand to answer questions, recommend restaurants, etc. The crayfish dinner that night was delicious - perfectly presented - and in the most gorgeous setting (the restaurant is light and airy and the sea can be heard and seen in the distance). The second day we were upgraded to a wonderful suite - no sea view - but quite exquisite in its attention to detail. Another really comfortable night in the most enormous bed and we were on our way again - very reluctantly I have to say! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay quite perfect - we look forward to seeing you again next time we are in South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our wonderful 4 night stay was not long enough ! We were greeted by Simone and Deon who made sure our stay was perfect . Simba , Tipwa and all the staff were superb , always smiling and nothing was too much trouble . Our Ocean Suite was right on the sandy dunes and the view was amazing . Truly a wonderful place to relax and can't wait to return !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
0.1 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
1.0 mi away
Abalone House & Spa
Abalone House & Spa
#8 of 19 in Paternoster
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paternoster Cottages
Paternoster Cottages
#13 of 16 in Paternoster
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Property: Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
Address: Patterson Slot | Cape West Coast, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa (Formerly Strandloper Ocean Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an unspoiled ocean getaway, it doesn’t get better than the exclusive new Strandloper Ocean. Hidden away on the shores of the unspoiled fishing village of Paternoster, only 90 minutes from Cape Town, this is a coastal destination with immeasurable charm.The 16 exquisite rooms and suites are a fusion of beach style and contemporary luxury; with organic lines, hues and textures and an overall feeling of simplicity. Each has its own terrace or courtyard, some with small splash pools, and wide doors that open out onto breathtaking views of sky, sand, sea and space.Take the time to simply be, or if you are feeling more adventurous, set off on an endless beach walk in search of whales and dolphins, hop onto a bicycle for a leisurely ride or take to the waves on a kayak.Paternoster is a seafood and lobster Mecca, a gourmet destination for travelers in search of the ultimate meal. Inspired cuisine with a local and organic slant is created daily at the Ocean Lounge, which also serves up breathtaking views of the surroundings.A romantic venue for couples, honeymooners or anyone looking for some special me-time, the Strandloper Ocean offers the best of West Coast hospitality and fuss-free luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing