We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Chalets(Velddrif)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$99
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Mykonos(Langebaan)
$156
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windtown Lagoon Hotel(Langebaan)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Farmhouse Hotel(Langebaan)(Great Value!)
$77
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paternoster Hotel(Paternoster)
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveler rating
511
45
14
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
45
14
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roomcape towncar washoutdoor showernespresso machinethis lovely hotelattention to detailcooked to perfectionbeautiful locationbreakfast and dinnerlittle touchesnature reserveoutside patiostar experienceworld classseafoodtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 572 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a lovely stay, having been welcomed by the owner upon arrival. All the staff were friendly and keen to ensure that we enjoyed every aspect of our visit. The hotel was full, but we never felt for a moment that we were overlooked in the rush of attending to all the other guests. The chef, Lovemore, is a treasure- the food was absolutely first class, without being over the top. Pure simple, good quality, fresh ingredients, given the best treatment and served up to us with a smile! Well done to all the staff!

Room Tip: Ocean View
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Epicurean47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Brilliant location but not 5 star. We stayed in the Presedential suite but bath room smelled of fresh paint on day of arrival. Outside door in Bedroom closed very difficult. Simba the Zimbabwe staff member was outstanding. Asked for fresh milk but 1st got sour milk then long life milk. Went to pay my bill and office looked like a mess. Overall I think owner and staff lack in 5 star experience . Place really have so much potential. Definately the best site in Paternoster

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VDWALTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandloperOcean, Owner at Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and complimenting our location. We are happy to hear you could enjoy the secluded and private area in which our hotel is situated. Thank you for mentioning Simba. We forwarded your compliment to him and he is indeed a star.

We apologise for the paint smell in your bathroom. We are often in a position that due to the rooms being occupied, the only time we have to attend to issues coming up during a guest’s stay is the short period between them leaving and the next guests arriving. Our maintenance team did some paint touch ups in the bathroom and we are sorry that there was still a paint smell on your arrival. When we checked you in we pinpointed to your husband that the bedroom door opens not easily and he assured us that this is not a problem at all. We were unable to get the door specialists from Cape Town in the short period between checkout and check-ins.

We apologise for the sour milk which is totally unacceptable and we are busy following up with our supplier. We chose for our Presidential Suite one of the top Nespresso machines with a frother. Nespresso specified that only long life milk should be used for the frother as fresh milk will not produce satisfying results.

Our office was indeed upside down when you came in to settle your bill. We hosted many and unexpected guests who were evacuated from the fires in Cederberg. We regret very much that you could not enjoy your stay and that it wasn’t a five star experience for you. All of us could sense that you were not happy and we did not succeed to identify what was wrong. We tried to cheer you up with complimentary champagne and crayfish pasta but this was unsuccessful.

We are also sorry that we missed your departure. You announced to leave early in the morning around 6 am and we were ready with a lovely breakfast for you at that time. When we found out that you left much earlier we were truly disappointed that we could not farewell you.

Warm wishes

Simone & Deon
Owners
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

New establishment- some of teething problems

This boutique hotel offered an array of pro's & con's:
Pro's:
1. Very tasteful decor
2. Beautiful location on the beach (ensure you get a beach facing room however)
3. Good breakfast
4. Big comfortable bed
5. Large courtyard with small plunge pool in our first room (Anthea)
6. Nespresso coffee machine in the rooms

Con's
1. We were given the smallest of their courtyard rooms - very small space, in my view not what would be expected of for 5 stars (a very large bed takes up most of the room)
2. The owner didn't seem competent in dealing with complaints- he first tried to avoid us & then when we addressed it with him after breakfast, he went to great lengths to explain his other pressing problems with his self catering units. He also explained that we had been placed in their smallest room & that the courtyard compensated for it. We explained that the rainy weather did not permit us to use the courtyard. Upon our insistence he suggested that he try put us in a larger room.
We asked him to call & let us know if he had succeeded in arranging this.
He failed to do this for the duration of the day & only after we returned to the hotel later and followed up in the early evening did he inform us that we could change rooms to a slightly bigger room. He suggested that we take a look and if we liked it, we could move.
He however had failed to arrange that the room be cleaned and prepared for us. We had to wait until after dinner before the room was ready - this was VERY inconvenient.
3. Website states telephone & DVD player in all rooms- neither of our rooms had either. Each time we required anything we had to use our mobile phones.
4. Shower was unfinished - no shelf to place soap or shampoo- one had to place these items on the floor of the shower- not accepted 5 star practice
5. Nespresso machine in our second room was broken
6. Constantly have to chase and follow up: we reported our coffee machine broken to three different people. It was only attended to after lunch. Another example is when we called to follow up on the laundry handed in the previous day. We were told they would call us back however they didn't call, we had to go to reception and follow up only to discover that it was still not ready.
7. Our second room was bigger and far more comfortable. It has a window that has no curtain and despite the fact that it is painted white, it lets the light in early in the morning and you are unable to sleep late.
8. This establishment is marketed as a 5 star establishment however, despite the beautiful location and smart decor, the service doesn't live up to what is expected of a 5 star establishment. Staff struck me as having little previous experience in a 5 star environment and lacked the skills to perform at a high level.
Overall I was most disappointed.

Room Tip: Only chose a sea facing room otherwise very small
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purplebirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrandloperOcean, Owner at Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guests.
Firstly we would like to thank you for the positive points expressed about Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel. It is really a shame that despite these, you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We tried our utmost to change your room when you expressed that it did not meet your expectation. It was however very unwise from you to book an entry level room in peak season, requesting an upgrade on arrival. It was impossible for us to meet your request as we were fully booked. Your comment about me trying to avoid you is a total wrongful interpretation. We are a private, owner managed establishment and are enjoying very much to meet our guests in person. The feedback we receive from our guests is crucial and extremely important for us. To avoid problems or unsatisfied guests is definitely neither our style nor in our interest.

I take strong exception to your insinuation that I am incompetent. I find this inappropriate and checked your other reviews. These show a tendency to get personal when things do not go your way. I refer to your reviews headed: ”chef/owner narcisissitic” and then another heading “Manager tried to overcharge us, police were called”. In our hotel we also had the unpleasant experience of you shouting at our staff and upsetting other guests with inappropriate demands. You arrived for example heavily late for our crayfish dinner night and complained that you are not happy with the last table being available in our Ocean Lounge. Even when you stormed out ordering your meal to be served in your room, we accommodated you despite this being challenging for our team with a fully booked Ocean Lounge and our policy not to serve dinners in rooms. Another example was when your laundry was ready the same day, but due to the room change not delivered, you did not approach us, but instead waited for 24 hours to pass and then to complain immediately that you won't pay for this service. As a gesture of goodwill, we accepted this. We are however not prepared to accept your negative comments about our team. They are dedicated and we receive amazing feedback about their friendliness, warmth and passion. It leaves us puzzled how you could experience them in such a negative way.

We are graded as five star from the Tourism Grading council of South Africa which's competence you also seem to question. Our Courtyard rooms have an average size of 30 sqm (your first room is indeed our smallest of 27 sqm) but our concept of combining inside and outside living adds to the space experience with water features and private courtyards. We cannot be made responsible for unpleasant weather conditions which did not allow you to use the courtyard.

The many failures you list from a lack of information to not cleaning your new room in time are very unfair. We tried to keep you posted but you were out and unreachable and we are in awe that you are unable to appreciate that we had to go some extra miles in offering you an alternative accommodation due to a fully booked Hotel. As this was an unexpected cleaning and as our Housekeeping would under no means compromise on our cleaning standards, we had to count on a little patience from you which you call an inconvenience. It's very confusing to read that even the new room was perceived as problematic for you as you had a thorough look before you accepted to move.

Our interior concept is based on organic materials and textures and a natural look and we keep electronics as limited as possible. A DVD player can be delivered anytime from one of our Butlers as was the case with you. Our showers are not unfinished and we made a note of your comment of adding a shelf which we found a constructive criticism . Our bathrooms were also approved by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and were even mentioned as extra luxury considering that we have handmade stone baths and vanities. Our Housekeeping team checks all Nespresso machines before a new guest enters the room. We could not identify any problems with the machine but Nespresso informed us that the power pump of the machine is broken due to harsh handling. We apologise for this but could not deliver another machine to your room earlier as your “Do Not Disturb” sign was out.

Regards
Deon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked a last minute night here on the 7th January and as soon as we arrived and saw this amazing hotel, decided to book another! Our courtyard room was so comfortable and had a view of the beach from the table outside. The staff were so friendly - Tapiwa and Freddy couldn't do enough for us and Deon and Simone the owners were always on hand to answer questions, recommend restaurants, etc. The crayfish dinner that night was delicious - perfectly presented - and in the most gorgeous setting (the restaurant is light and airy and the sea can be heard and seen in the distance). The second day we were upgraded to a wonderful suite - no sea view - but quite exquisite in its attention to detail. Another really comfortable night in the most enormous bed and we were on our way again - very reluctantly I have to say! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay quite perfect - we look forward to seeing you again next time we are in South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our wonderful 4 night stay was not long enough ! We were greeted by Simone and Deon who made sure our stay was perfect . Simba , Tipwa and all the staff were superb , always smiling and nothing was too much trouble . Our Ocean Suite was right on the sandy dunes and the view was amazing . Truly a wonderful place to relax and can't wait to return !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews