We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paternoster Cottages
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and enjoyable”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The cottages are very sweet, good views,excellent beds,and very clean. But they are in need of quite a few repairs. Doors didn't lock, handles broke off, and shutters almost unable to close.The food at Abalone House Hotel was EXCELLENT, and the staff charming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and would like to invite you to e-mail us to discuss the matter in detail. Please contact experience@southofafrica.co.za. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. We will also share your comments about your meals at Reuben's at Abalone House with the team who will be thrilled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The cottage itself is absolutely beautifully decorated and restored and well equipped. However the location is disastrous being mid the lowest possible cultural and behavioural setting, the township. Night long drinking and ramping and raving, fighting and screaming every night is not what I would choose to endure and pay for it. No sorry, this cannot be offered to a paying customer without warning and choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Wynand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Wynand, we would like to refer to your post on Abalone House’s TripAdvisor page titled “Unsurpassed Hospitality”. Your original reservation for Kliphuisie through Hotels.com was a discounted long stay reservation. Your approached manager Leigh after your first night at Kliphuisie, stating that you felt uncomfortable staying at Kliphuisie, where after she immediately set about finding an alternate solution for you. We relocated and upgraded you to the Oppidraai unit, which is located elsewhere in Paternoster at no additional charge. After your 2 night stay in Oppidraai, we upgraded you again for your final night where you enjoyed the luxury and comfort of the 5 star Abalone House. We advertise Kliphuisie as a profound cultural experience. Guests are informed of Kliphuisie’s location in the fisherman’s village of Paternoster. We are extremely proud of our local community and their colourful lives form part of our South African heritage. Kliphuisie is very popular not only because of it being a historic restored fisherman’s cottage, but we have repeat guests that return especially for the cultural experience and traditions of the friendly village folk. Their daily lives and routines are a sacred custom that we wish preserved for all future generations. We are delighted that you found our cottage very charming, and indeed a gem. Our apologies that you did not approve of its location and neighbours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paternoster hotels

Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place has so much potential, but has clearly been neglected. Dirty rooms, partly stocked kitchen (cutlery etc), broken geyser and a indoor braai area (which looks lovely on pictures) that fills the air with black smoke. Really expected more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LichenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review of Oppidraai. We are investigating your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca[E Town
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

For me it was a let down, the wind blew the doors rattled, the locals were literally running a shebeen at your doorstep, we felt unsafe, I had great expectations but it did not work for me I took my family to celebrate my birthday but felt unsafe

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. Paternoster is a fishing village and we are extremely proud of our local community. We understand that this might not be to everybody's taste, hence our marketing of the Kliphuisie unit stating clearly that this is a cultural experience living amongst the locals in a restored fisherman's cottage. We can assure you that there certainly are no shebeens in the area. Our apologies that your expectations were not met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Seaside Cottage 1 for our last part of our honeymoon. It was exactly what we were looking for; a place to unwind and do absolutely nothing. The good: The place has two braai areas, one inside by the lounge and one outside by the pool. Its 150 meters down to the beach and 5 minutes walk to Noisy Oyster and Voorstrand. Both excellent and cosy restaurants. If its any faults; it is the cold pool, it could have been a bit warmer since its not heated. Nevertheless we had a perfect stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Setekleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review of our Seaside cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the pool. We look forward to welcoming you back to our cosy cottage in fabulous Paternoster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ermelo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in Kliphuisie over the festive season and we had a lovely stay. Definitely recommended! We had a bit of trouble with the blocked drain but they sorted it out in no time. Real value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear guest, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kliphuisie. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the drain, and we thank you for informing us of the problem whilst staying with us allowing us the opportunity to rectify this. We look forward to seeing you back in Paternoster again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a find, very quiet and peaceful on this Wild West coast resort of South Africa - if you want to unwind and relax this is the perfect place to do it - we will be back when we come back to Africa next year and will speed more time in Paternostor

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for your review of our property and look forward to seeing you back in Paternoster on your next adventure to Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
0.8 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nieuview
Nieuview
#2 of 16 in Paternoster
168 reviews
0.8 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paternoster Hotel
Paternoster Hotel
#19 of 19 in Paternoster
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paternoster Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paternoster Cottages

Property: Paternoster Cottages
Address: Sonkwas Road | St Augustine Road, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paternoster Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, the small selection of Paternoster Cottages is a great choice for accommodation when visiting the beautiful West Coast town Paternoster. Each of the five units boast a convenient proximity to the beach, with Seaside Cottage 1 and 2 overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, and Kliphuisie and Oppidraai A and B being within walking distance of the neverending beaches. The facilities and services provided by the Paternoster Cottages ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The two Seaside Cottages each sleeps four guests and boasts a sea-facing infinity rim-flowing pool. The quaint Kliphuisie is a rustic one bedroom fisherman's cottage in the heart of the village and offers a cultural experience. Oppidraai A sleeps six guests while Oppidraai B sleeps four. Oppidraai B also offers delightful sea views. Each of the cottages also offer numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The cottages offer fantastic facilities, including quaint seaside garden, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. Whatever your reason for visiting, the five Paternoster Cottages are the perfect escape-to destinations for an exhilarating and exciting break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paternoster Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing