We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip tot the West Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paternoster Cottages
Cape Town (Parow)
1 review
“Family trip tot the West Coast”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Paternoster is a quaint villiage with a atmosphere that quickly grows on one.
All the whitewashed houses with blue shatters creates a picturesque sight.
We would prefer a cottage on the beach front but settled for this one because of the friendly service on booking an overnight stay. Unfortunately we could not stay more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We have put a lot of effort into our new Central Reservations office and we are thrilled that your experience during the booking procedure was a pleasant one. If you prefer a sea front unit, we recommend to book the Seaside 1 or 2 units during your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Oppiedraai A - A very neat and spacious duplex - 3 bedrooms and 2 on suites. Not a sea view, but the build in braai made up for that. We had a lovely family bonding time. Friendly staff - thank you Ryno!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnelieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review on your recent stay at Oppidraai A. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in this cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Your compliment will be passed on to Ryno. Oppidraai A and B will be refurbished this July and we invite you to come and experience the new Oppidraai in September 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you are looking for an amazing get-away with your partner, or even if you want to go with friends or family, then when you go to Paternoster, this should be the place to stay! Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Seaside Cottage Unit 2 and we didn't want to leave!

It is walking distance to everything and there are 2 restaurants a stones throw away.

We highly recommend this as a perfect get away for a few days at a low cost, self catering location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelawry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our cottage, and giving us your feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased to read of your experience and invite you to visit us again in the beautiful Paternoster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Pasella for a long weekend. Its such a beautiful house and is adjoining Abalone house which hosts the guests of all the seaside cottages. The rooms are large and well appointed and there are three full bathrooms. Up to 8 people can stay there between the bedrooms and comfy couches. There's sufficient tea and coffee for a weekend and a cleaning pack is provided. We had breakfast on the patio which overlooks a pretty garden with a friendly cat. We had the huge house to ourselves with a luxury of space and felt safe being next door to Abalone. Its walking distance to Saffron so you can overindulge on delicious food and wine like we did without compromising on safety:) Don't be scared of the strong sea winds which cause a few rattles at night - especially after a few glasses :) Pasella doesn't have a full sea view but its within walking distance of the beach. We were very well looked after by the GM Vinod who is the epitome of service excellence. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandira_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are thrilled to read about your experience at Pasella. Thank you for making the time to comment on your experience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A weekend, which we had been looking forward to, was completely ruined by the disappointment we experienced on arrival at Kliphuisie, our s/c cottage. First impressions are always the best, but there was nothing about this cottage which made me feel I wanted to stay for an hour, let alone for 2 nights ( we only managed to suffer it for one night )
When we booked, the main picture on the web showed a most inviting stoep area. This turned out to be a slab of concrete with an old bench ( most uncomfortable ) and a table and chairs so unstable it was impossible to use - certainly a case of misrepresentation. The "garden" itself was just a dirt patch and had no grass whatsoever. The main living area and bedroom was almost acceptable but the kitchen area was dirty and uninviting - not helped by families of ants running around the sink and IN the fridge! Both the kitchen and bathroom are poorly equipped. The shower leaked down the shower wall.
I understand that this cottage is managed by Abalone House, a 5* boutique hotel in the village. How can an establishment such as this put it's name to such a poor self catering property?
Once home, I did write to management who, after much nagging, eventually replied thanking me for my feedback. They have advised me that the garden issue has been addressed and that they are "looking into the amenities" A pest control company has been called to attend to the ant problem. I did request a refund of one night's stay. This was not offered but we have been told by the GM that he will (quote) "accommodate my husband and myself for a complimentary one night stay at Abalone House" - should we wish to return. I have since found out that the owner of the property is Mr Johan Jansen van Vuuren of South of Africa. My mail to his company has been ignored. I cannot speak for the other Seaside cottages within the group, but please leave "Kliphuisie" well alone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your post. We value your feedback and take your comments seriously. The Kliphuisie experience may not be to everybody’s liking as this is a very unique unit that is part of our portfolio, and offers guests a traditional Paternoster experience, with the unit being situated in the heart of this fisherman’s village. During your stay, we tried to accommodate your request to move to a different unit, but unfortunately all our other units were occupied. We have taken note of all the points raised in your post and these have been actioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paternoster hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at Seaside Cottage A in November 2012, for a long weekend. I was a bit apprehensive about staying there, as there were not many photos posted of the inside, and I can be a bit picky!!

When we arrived I was TOTALLY blown away by this gorgeous little beach cottage, with spectacular views, a very well appointed kitchen and bedrooms. The outdoor area with braai and pool just put you into holiday mode immediately. Both queen bedrooms open out onto the pool, and one bedroom has a spectacular sea view. The cottages are not on the beach, but a short walk down. Plus there is a lovely huge fireplace indoors.

It seems that the managers / owners of the cottages have taken the reviews on Trip Advisor seriously, as they have done everything to amend what was wrong. The kitchen was spotless with new cutlery and crockery and even a little "cleaning pack" for your convenience. The house is fully alarmed and lockable for safety, and there is a fence built preventing anyone from peering in to the pool. We were impressed.

We had the most wonderful & relaxing stay, will definitely go back again and can highly reccomend cottage A!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam_treat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you have found the unit a delightful escape. We have put a lot of effort into the units to showcase our comittment to our guests and their needs. We will be launching a brand new website for all our properties, with an extensive gallery on the interiors and exteriors of all the units. We look forward to sharing these with you. Thank you for posting these lovely images. We can't wait to welcome you back to Paternoster Seaside Cottages. Happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I were at Seaside Cottage 2 over the weekend and it's really quite a nice place, however there are several things that management could have worked on to make it even better:

* They asked us to phone them when we go to Vredenburg so they could know when we were
coming. When we phoned twice no one answered
* Just as we pulled up to the guest house another person who was really quite rude phoned to
ask where we were, when I told him no one had answered the phone he stated that their phone
was turned off, even though the phone rang and it was a landline number
* There was fire wood and matches, but nothing to actually get the fire going
* The fireplace had no draft, so the entire house stank like smoke
* We were told not to sleep in one of the bedrooms as it leaked
* There was 6 coffee capsules available but only a small 150ml carton of milk
* There were no candles in case of a blackout as the previous comment stated that they arrived
during a black out
* One staff member at their Saffron restaurant was extremely rude

This place could really be so much nicer if there was just some attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaninka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor and for bringing these valid comments to our attention. The matter will be dealt with swiftly to ensure that this type of behaviour never happens again. Housekeeping has already been disciplined with regards to the lack of amenities, and we will certainly investigate your suggestions regarding the fireplace. Our apologies for the inconvenience that this has caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
0.7 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nieuview
Nieuview
#3 of 16 in Paternoster
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paternoster Hotel
Paternoster Hotel
#16 of 19 in Paternoster
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abalone House & Spa
Abalone House & Spa
#9 of 19 in Paternoster
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hoekie B&B
Hoekie B&B
#11 of 19 in Paternoster
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paternoster Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paternoster Cottages

Property: Paternoster Cottages
Address: Sonkwas Road | St Augustine Road, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paternoster Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, the small selection of Paternoster Cottages is a great choice for accommodation when visiting the beautiful West Coast town Paternoster. Each of the five units boast a convenient proximity to the beach, with Seaside Cottage 1 and 2 overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, and Kliphuisie and Oppidraai A and B being within walking distance of the neverending beaches. The facilities and services provided by the Paternoster Cottages ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The two Seaside Cottages each sleeps four guests and boasts a sea-facing infinity rim-flowing pool. The quaint Kliphuisie is a rustic one bedroom fisherman's cottage in the heart of the village and offers a cultural experience. Oppidraai A sleeps six guests while Oppidraai B sleeps four. Oppidraai B also offers delightful sea views. Each of the cottages also offer numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The cottages offer fantastic facilities, including quaint seaside garden, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. Whatever your reason for visiting, the five Paternoster Cottages are the perfect escape-to destinations for an exhilarating and exciting break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Paternoster Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing