We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beach Dining”

Gaaitjie Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Paternoster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We bring you a unique dining experience.. Explore the Paternoster beach and nestled amongst the rocks, you will find a simple white-washed fisherman's cottage. This 70 year old building, known as 'Gaaitjie' has a warm, nostalgic atmosphere, true to its heritage. This unique atmosphere of tradition and comfort has inspired an eclectic menu featuring local produce, fused with contemporary and Asian influences. Our food is unpretentious and made with love, using sustainable fresh local produce as far as possible. Our décor is modest and comfortable and our unique location promises spectacular views to compliment a memorable dining experience.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Beach Dining”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Small casual beach Restuarant with a tiny menu which is only decided upon during the day. Food was outstanding and reasonably priced. Seafood was fresh from the morning's catch! There was interaction with the chef / owner. Service was excellent. Small local wine list but no need to bring your own.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    193
    78
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Great Hospitality”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great Food and Great Hospitality - our second time at Gaaitjie. A lovely fire to keep the winter chill out and bottles of good red wine. What a wonderful little gem of the west coast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning setting and Magnificent Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food at this quaint restaurant was simply delicious ! The staff were friendly and the service outstanding - Well done to the Team ! I hope to return soon !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SONJA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different and delicious meal”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Despite cold wintery weather and not being able to enjoy the special outdoor setting right next to the ocean, we loved our lunch indoors at Gaaitjie!

Attentive friendly service, delicious meal with a difference and delicious welcome homebaked little loaf bread, and incredible curried green bean taster. This is traditional west coast food with a modern twist.

Everything was delicious, particularly loved the fish Bobotjie - definitely a reason to visit again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbyJow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expected more...”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The restaurant has a very nice location. However, in the evening you cant see much, as the veranda is closed with a thick plastic. It took forever to be served and to get our food! I guess the restaurants have more seats than what they can cater for. Our starters were very good, but my main, salmon, not as good.
Plus, the restaurant plays a trick that you have to order a minimum of courses per person.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaaitjie Restaurant also viewed

Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 

Been to Gaaitjie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing