We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs attention to certain detail.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abalone House & Spa
Ranked #8 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
JHB, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Needs attention to certain detail.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been to the Abalone House in Feb 2013 and liked it so much that we came back. However we found there was a lack to the finer details this time around. No soap in the bathroom (only liquid soap) and a few request had to be repeated before execution. The new restaurant (Reubens) - a bit disappointing for what we expected. The spa was very amateurish and the therapist definitely needs to be properly trained. The massage was an oily body rub and the therapist had no idea about therapeutic massage. Staff friendly and trying but not good enough for a five star place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0veCr0atia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guests
Thank you for your review. We have been in contact with you both telephonically and by e-mail to get a better understanding as to your expectations of the new Reuben's Restaurant, and we have been informed that the expectation had been created from your experience at the Franschhoek branch. Reuben's at Abalone House has a unique West Coast theme, hence the difference between the two restaurants. We do however welcome all feedback and comments.
Your experience at the spa has been addressed and further training has been implemented.
You housekeeping complaint has also been addressed and rectified.
We thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we apologize for the inconveniences during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    38
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
155
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a feast for the senses! Smelling and hearing the sea at day (and night) - tasting the delicacies at Reuben's and feeling the warmth and friendliness of Leigh and all staff! And then of course seeing and ejoying the natural beauty of Paternoster. - We just returned from a weekend at Abalone House and had it all: relaxing beach walk, exquisite dinner and breakfast (we missed the high tea because we got stuck at the local Art Gallery), beautifully decorated rooms and much more.The West Coast has so much to offer and especially for Capetonians looking for an extraordinary getaway Abalone House is THE place to go.We are looking forward to going back and I am looking forward to taking guests there. Thank you Leigh & team for making our stay special!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingweiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to review your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back at the new Abalone House soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our third return proved to be even better. This boutique hotel with extraordinary décor now boasts a Ruebens type restaurant. Attention to detail is evident wherever you look or turn. The Paternoster magic is captured to perfection here. We love it and will return without question.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daleen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are delighted to read of your experience at Abalone House and that you approve of our new Reuben's Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth time in the nearby future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Thank you to Abalone House Boutique Guesthouse for the best weekend ever! Special thanks to Leigh Longden and all her staff, you went above and beyond to make our stay memorable!
Top marks for the new restaurant, won't find any better any where is SA
Abalone House Boutique Guesthouse comes with the highest recommendation from us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jaco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Jaco
Thank you for your lovely post on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you had a most enjoyable stay at Abalone House and that our new Reuben's Restaurant carries your stamp of approval. Thank you for your compliments. We look forward to welcome you back to our jewel on the West Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the moment our tour arrived we were treated as close friends by both management and staff at this very special home from home
Every one of Abalone's staff served us with the utmost care and friendliness
Our room was really comfortable and most tastefully furnished
The decor and furnishings in all areas: reception,lounge and dining areas,courtyard was of the very highest standard - clearly one of a kind
We were spoiled with excellent food and service at every meal
Thank you Lee for caring for us so very very well - a truly memorable holiday experience for 26 Askari Safari 'tourists'

Room Tip: All the rooms are really good - if you doubt your mobility - mention that you would prefer not to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Abalone House. Your compliments have been passed on to Leigh the General Manager, as well as the owners, who wish to thank you for writing about your experience on Trip Advisor. All our guests are our VIPs and we are thrilled that your time in Paternoster was a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you at Abalone House in the nearby future with the opening of Reuben's at Abalone House and the Healing Earth Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband & I celebrated our wedding anniversary @ the Abalone House in Paternoster. We were welcomed by incredibly friendly staff. The guest house is perfectly located within walking distance to the beach and has magnificent views of the ocean. Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed very comfortable. All our meals were most enjoyable. I highly recommend the Abalone House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you Tracy for your lovely review on Abalone House. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your message will be shared with the staff at Abalone who I'm sure will be thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next anniversary when our new Healing Earth Spa and Reuben's Restaurant will be open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived at Abalone House on a cold / blustery / rainy day in June. A relatively short drive from Cape Town this is definitely one of Paternosters major attractions for us from hereon in. Excellent front of house staff make you feel at home from the moment you walk in the door. We had two of the first floor rooms with easy access to a deck overlooking the ocean where you can sit in a jacuzzi whilst sipping on sundowners - simply beautiful. The rooms were huge with over sized super comfy beds, and all of the luxurious finishes one would expect from a five star establishment of this calibre. Underfloor heating / air con and heated towel rails being just some of the finer details. Turndowns are a nice touch as is the home made fudge left at your bedside !! We ate from their winter menu on our first night - Penne Carbonara. The portions were huge and the food was beyond excellent. Their on site facilities are as reiterated earlier quirky givin you lots of things to look at / enjoy. There is a well stocked bar with a really nice seating area next to a roaring log fire. A library provides an eclectic choice of reading matter for inclement weather purposes / or for relaxing next to the pool with a good book in summer. The staff are all lovely people, generous with their smiles and clearly enjoying their workplace. We will definitely be back and I will be reccomending it to our guests as a must do whilst in Cape Town !!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have access to some stunning views with private balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleySzabo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our property in Paternoster. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Abalone House and look forward to welcoming you back when our new Spa opens in Spring and the new Reuben's opens in Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
1.0 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paternoster Manor Guest House
Paternoster Manor Guest House
#7 of 19 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
0.2 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone House & Spa

Property: Abalone House & Spa
Address: 3 Kriedoring Street, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Abalone House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalone House & Spa offers five star luxuries with serious seaside appeal. The boutique hotel is an eclectic visual tapestry of texture and authentic colours of Africa cocooned within a central poolside courtyard. Disappear into this world of genuine South African hospitality and be indulged. A 90-minute drive from Cape Town, Abalone House offers city-weary dwellers and discerning travellers an unashamedly sumptuous beachside escape, where extravagance and guest comforts take precedence. Feast at the bistro-style Reuben's at Abalone House, celebrity chef Reuben Riffel's West Coast offering that elevates this Paternoster destination to a new level of luxury escapism. The Healing Earth Spa offers ancient African traditions of healing and energy where pampering and rejuvenation await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abalone House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone House Hotel Paternoster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing