We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky/ Stylish - The perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abalone House & Spa
Ranked #8 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quirky/ Stylish - The perfect getaway”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived at Abalone House on a cold / blustery / rainy day in June. A relatively short drive from Cape Town this is definitely one of Paternosters major attractions for us from hereon in. Excellent front of house staff make you feel at home from the moment you walk in the door. We had two of the first floor rooms with easy access to a deck overlooking the ocean where you can sit in a jacuzzi whilst sipping on sundowners - simply beautiful. The rooms were huge with over sized super comfy beds, and all of the luxurious finishes one would expect from a five star establishment of this calibre. Underfloor heating / air con and heated towel rails being just some of the finer details. Turndowns are a nice touch as is the home made fudge left at your bedside !! We ate from their winter menu on our first night - Penne Carbonara. The portions were huge and the food was beyond excellent. Their on site facilities are as reiterated earlier quirky givin you lots of things to look at / enjoy. There is a well stocked bar with a really nice seating area next to a roaring log fire. A library provides an eclectic choice of reading matter for inclement weather purposes / or for relaxing next to the pool with a good book in summer. The staff are all lovely people, generous with their smiles and clearly enjoying their workplace. We will definitely be back and I will be reccomending it to our guests as a must do whilst in Cape Town !!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have access to some stunning views with private balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleySzabo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our property in Paternoster. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Abalone House and look forward to welcoming you back when our new Spa opens in Spring and the new Reuben's opens in Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    38
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
155
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strand, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Dear Riaan

Trust my mail finds you well.

Please accept our utmost gratitude towards your hospitality this passed weekend. The guest house is one of the most beautiful we have ever seen, not to mention your help and friendliness, which was an absolute pleasure.

Our apologies for you having to drive around looking for us after we missed our luncheon appointment, but again, we would like to say thank you very much.

Looking forward to another magnificent weekend at the guest house in the near future :-)

Warm Regards

Angela

Room Tip: Rooms on the roof have an outstanding view, but rooms downstairs are quiet, relaxing and out of this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Angela
thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled to read your experience. Your letter will be passed on to Riaan, who I am sure will be delighted. We take great pride in our staff and are extremely proud to read of Riaan's assistance to you and he will receive our certificate of excellence for the service he provided. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I celebrated my 40th by going to Abalone House for 2 nights with my mom, sister and sister in law. We had the best time ever, awesome room, stunning food, friendly and helpful staff and just all in all a lovely 2 nights away. The attention to detail at Abalone House is just incredible, well done to you all. You will definitely be seeing us again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on Abalone House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us and hope to welcome you back again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good Day to you,
I really did not want to write this but after getting a sms today that the rate for April is R495pp per night i felt i needed to. My husband and i stayed at Abalone House from the 24th Dec to 26th leaving on the morning of the 27th. We paid over R11000 for a stay including food. The service was not good. No coffee in the room only tea. I went out the first morning and Deon the chef was fantastic and made coffee for us. I was told later that they had run out of the coffee pods!!! The bed in room 1 where we spent our first night was bigger the the mattrass so there were big gaps on each side and we never had bath robes. Just as well i took my own.The food was good but there were a lot of glitches with the service and one of the waiters told us on our first night there that it was for first day. On Xmas Eve when the hotel was very busy and she had no experience. Plus she was working in the bar and really didnt even know how to pour the wine. However she was very willing to learn and if she is still there we wish her well.It was very hot there and the aircon was never put on in the dining room. Suppose more people can take the heat.They always seemed to run out of stuff. We asked for ice and they were waiting for more. My husband wanted some ham for our last breakfast and we were told that it was finished. I asked for some lemon tea and was told it was finished. Surely they must realize that they should have catered better.I think the housekeeper must have been off over that period and the staff are just not trained to cope when it is busy.Everyone was very pleasant and helpful and tried to make our stay comfortable, but i feel why must one have to complain so much to get good service.We were so impressed when we saw the advert and that is why we went there. So needless to say we were disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 693anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your post. We wish to clarify that the SMS you are referring to advertised the special rate for two of our hotels. R850pppn at Abalone House and R495pppn at Shangri-La. Both establishments belong to the hotel group "South of Africa".

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. We appreciate your feedback and the matters raised will be investigated to establish why you have received this level of service. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience that this has caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

After a holiday of a few disappointments with regards to accommodation, it was truely a welcome experience and such a relief to finally hang our hats at an establishment that was worth every penny paid.
We hadn't made any prior bookings and were welcomed so warmly when we enquired about a room for two for a couple of days.
And to make our day, they not only had accomodation but, in my opinion, gave us the best room they had available.
A guesthouse filled with objects of interest, beautifully decorated.

Bravo to Abalone House!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view of the ocean and cinnamon french toast :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MejMoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and are delighted to read that we were a good ending to your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. PS: we also love the cinnamon french toast :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This past weekend I took my girlfriend on a surprise trip to paternoster on the west coast. Abalone house, runs the self-catering seaside cottages, where we stayed. We stayed for one night only which was a huge mistake, not because of the level of the accommodation but because we should have stayed for longer. To say that this place is a slice of heaven on earth is an understatement.

The rooms were well appointed, everything was neatly laid out and clean. These cottages have private pools which were clean and functioning (been to establishments where the pools were green from lack of maintenance). The views from the lapa/out door area of the ocean were amazing to say the least.

Usually in self-catered accommodation one finds the kitchen utensils and equipment overused and a little abused, however everything was maintained properly and had been properly sorted and stacked making things easy to locate. There was a bag of wood and firelighters left for us to start a fire, and wood set out in the fire place ready to use.

Attention to detail in the cottage was great with well appointed furnishings and comfortable couches and outdoor deck chairs for the pool area. The bedrooms were styled well and beds and linen were comfortable and neat. Abalone house general manager did well to show us around the cottage upon our arrival and made us feel comfortable.

The shower in the bathroom was the only minor issue we had as it seems that the shower head was pointed close to the wall and could not be moved. But this was no major issue and didnt hinder our great experience.

Overall a fantastic getaway for anyone seeking some r&r. My advice is to stay for as long as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest, we are thrilled to read of your experience. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Seaside Cottage. This property is owned and managed by South of Africa, to which Abalone House also belongs. We are delighted to hear that your only regret was that you could have stayed longer. We would recommend a fast return, and with winter around the corner, Paternoster is the perfect destination for that quick escape that is not too far from Cape Town. Thank you also for pointing out the shower head's position. This will be reported to the relevant department for inspection. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

As a treat we spent one night in Abalone. The decor in this Guest house is very interesting The room we stayed in was quite small with possibly too much furniture (room 11 , I believe). who needs 2 armchairs in the middle of the room when there is not a flat surface to place a suitcase? The restaurant was a bit of a let down. We expected more than an incomplete menu, dead flies on the floor and a wine that was sold as a certain vintage and was actually something quite different. For my starter I ordered blue cheese and Walnut Salad which was served without the walnuts when I sent it back the waitress brought it back with some almonds and had to admit that had run out of walnuts, Note...only one or two of the rooms have a sea view...be clear about what you are getting. There is much better on offer in Paternoster.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OSioda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your valuable input in rectifying service as we aim to provide excellence all round. Room 11 is one of our favorite rooms and with your advice we can only endeavor to provide our next guests with the comfort of luxury.

Our menu is under construction and adding new comfort items is our next step.

We look forward in welcoming you back to Abalone House in order to provide excellent service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
1.0 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paternoster Manor Guest House
Paternoster Manor Guest House
#7 of 19 in Paternoster
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oystercatcher's Haven at Paternoster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone House & Spa

Property: Abalone House & Spa
Address: 3 Kriedoring Street, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Abalone House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalone House & Spa offers five star luxuries with serious seaside appeal. The boutique hotel is an eclectic visual tapestry of texture and authentic colours of Africa cocooned within a central poolside courtyard. Disappear into this world of genuine South African hospitality and be indulged. A 90-minute drive from Cape Town, Abalone House offers city-weary dwellers and discerning travellers an unashamedly sumptuous beachside escape, where extravagance and guest comforts take precedence. Feast at the bistro-style Reuben's at Abalone House, celebrity chef Reuben Riffel's West Coast offering that elevates this Paternoster destination to a new level of luxury escapism. The Healing Earth Spa offers ancient African traditions of healing and energy where pampering and rejuvenation await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abalone House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone House Hotel Paternoster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing