We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abalone House & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The room and the restaurant and especially the service provided by Vinod made this a wonderful stay indeed. Vinod ensured that we were well taken care of from the moment we arrived until the moment we left and he went well above and beyond the call of duty in many ways during our stay.
The location is great with easy access to a lovely beach and the rooms were well-appointed, sizeable and comfortable.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1 and there was no view at all as the windows face the parking lot and are smoked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Abalone House. Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. Due to the fact that there are only a few rooms with sea views, we have made sure that every creature comfort is in the room to make your stay even more indulgent! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 269 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Having booked the hotel and read the reviews prior to our visit we had no worries about it. BUT, it far exceeded our expectations. the first impression was outstanding. we understand that not everyone appreciates 'the collector's art', we did, it added a warmth and human touch to the ambience. Vinodh was a delightful host, sincere and eager to please in what appeared a most relaxed mode.....but we all know that good management comes at the expense of personal striving. He lent his tablet to my husband so that he might keep up with his UK football team and amongst all his pressures managed to show an interest in EVERTON
No complaints......the staff were a little slow at times.......but non the less, charming and agreeable.

I would suggest better lighting over a make up mirror or one that can be taken out on to the little courtyard.

and yes, the same old music is playing at breakfast time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We value your feedback and take note of the points raised to make your stay even more convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our second visit to Paternoster and our second stay in Abalone. We knew there had been some management changes so we were a little apprehensive before our arrival. We were warmly greeted by Vinod, the new General Manager. Throughout our three days Vinod demonstrated that he is a man on a mission, leading by example. A mission to develop his staff to provide the best of service and experience. His staff are on board and, whilst learning, are making great strides. Despite being without an executive chef the breakfast experience was very good, the Eggs Benedict in particular. Fresh fruit juice and a selection of fresh breads. On our third and final night we ate at Abalone's Saffron restaurant. We had asked earlier in the day if they could put crayfish on the menu. "No problem" said Vinod. We had a great meal and a bottle of very reasonably priced shiraz to wash it down. A small modification to the old adage "quality (and service) is remembered long after price is forgotten!" We are booked in for next year, looking forward to meeting Vinod and his team again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rosaleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you Rosaleen for your lovely post on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and your dinner at Saffron. Due to an unforseen emergency we found ourselves without an executive chef over the busiest part of the year and a junior chef had to step in for him to look after the restaurant under difficult circumstances. We are however delighted that your experience was pleasant and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We looked this one up on TA and gave it our first view. While sitting in the car and discussing what to do, going inside or try another one first, Vinodh came out and greeted us very heartly so we followed inside and saw all the rooms the had. We decided for '11, a very nice room with a big bathroom and a very big rubberduck between the tubs (sometimes a hotel just choose you)
Than it happened: I wanted to make myself a coffee but the machine didn't work the right way (or I was to stupid) so I put on a bathrobe and went downstairs to Vinodh. BIG mistake, from now on I was the man in the gown. They joked about me all our stay – sometimes your are the pigion, sometimes the statue, that was my statue moment :)
We had dinner at the saffron twice, both times with an excellent prepared Crayfish and different appetizers. mouthwatering food, Deon, the chef is awesome.
Breakfast also was very delicious, we called it a day the first morning and hat some sparkeling with the hot breakfast.
Thank you all for the remarkable stay, Kevin, Deon, all the Ladys but especially Vinodh. I seldom have met a person with such a good heart and friendlyness and allways in a mood for a joke or two.
We loughed a lot.

Dirk&Marion

Room Tip: #8 looks like the best room, faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you kindly for your post on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you chose to stay at Abalone House. Thank you for your kind words and compliments. Vinodh is a realy star and we are proud of his attentive and cheerful disposition and for making our guests feel right at home. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I first visited Paternoster in the early 1980s and it was a tiny fisherman's village with hardly any tourist facilities bar the curious hotel (which still is absolutely worth a visit since it has retained that wonderful balance of tackiness and charm, which still speaks of the authenticity of this tiny town). The bar is unchanged, tiny, and filled with donated panties and bras suspended from a ceiling. Things have changed but Paternoster remains a secret place to chill-out, get-out, get-away-from-it-all and it has retained its charm from some 30 years ago. The crayfish season had just opened and the town was filled with local fishermen carrying live crayfish in plastic shopping bags selling them for bizarrely cheap prices, same as 30 years ago - if you stay in self-catering eat your heart out. In some ways, despite its modest developments, the village has retained its authenticity within an hour and bit drive from Cape Town.

It came as complete surprise to stay over at Abalone House in Paternoster which offers superb comfort and indulgent luxuries embedded within the ambiance of a small village. It reminded me of the really wonderful Moroccan Riads in Marrakech. It’s a really fine and intimate space. Amenities and service was superb, and personal. The inner courtyard great for a stiff bloody mary in the morning, and Champagne later, next to the pool and library, and wind-free. Spacious rooms where you never need to trip over a suitcase to get around. We stayed in a rooftop room which had its own deck, which was private if you wanted to strip down for the sun. And there were communal spaces (including a jacuzzi I think we didnt use) on that level with great views.
Quiet, serene and just sufficiently noisy on the decor side for interesting and unexpected visual spice.

The wine list is particularly extensive, and particularly impressive, worth a detour a la the Michelin guides, and one of the best I have seen in the Cape. Our food (high tea, dinner and breakfast) was first-class and really beautifully presented. Don’t know where the chef sources micro salad bits and herbs in that semi-desert space. The food was uncontaminated by fashion trends. Yea! And my partner ordered the sin of a well-done fillet which the chef delivered as a still juicy, but (for me) over-cooked steak. Partner thought it was great.

To nit-pick: the piped music didn’t work for me, esp during dinner. The room coffee machine was playing up, but was remedied with room service delivering coffee instead, (and promptly). And the beautiful orchid room (breakfast space) had a few silk flowers which I find freaky, amidst the real thing, but that's personal, and probably placed within the delightfully camp approach. And I think an establishment of this nature can do better than a bedtime room drop which consists of a coloured cut-out piece of paper with a coloured feather. But the handmade chocolate that came with it made up rather nicely. These are really petty comments.

All-in-all, as the Michelin guides go, Abalone House is certainly worth a detour. if you are visiting Cape Town, make some time to experience some original authenticity of place, in a tiny town, and spoil yourself at Abalone.

Thank you Kevin and Deon (chef).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattJNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Abalone House. Thank you for your comments on the room drops - we can proudly announce that we will be decorating rooms with a new unique room drop that will be authentic and true to our surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back to Abalone House, Paternoster - the jewel of the West Coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a yearend function and the service , staff and food was excellent. Special thanks to Kevin for all the effort he put in and the friendly ess and helpfullness of Vinodh. The rooms are also fantastic. Overall a wunderful stay. Jan and Christie

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janloubser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you Jan and Christie for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your Year End Function was a success and that you enjoyed your time with us. Abalone House is the perfect getaway venue for all kinds of celebrations, and we take great pride in making every event a memorable occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My sister stayed at Abalone House in December 2011. She raved so much that when the first opportunity came to stay there - albeit it nearly a year later - I grabbed it.
My friend and I went for just two nights. Had never visited Paternoster before and what a lovely little pretty unspoilt fishing village it is, with two fab galleries, a few little shops, some great restaurants and little else.
Abalone House was a treat. Pretty camp in decor, with large Tretchikoffs (prints?) all over, the staff was friendly and the food EXCEPTIONAL! Deon, formerly a lecturer from a hotel school in Cape Town, is the new chef and the memory of the crayfish - in lime, coriander and ginger and a little butter - will linger forever.
Breakfasts too, were great and although the high tea - included in the accomodation price - did not include sandwiches, it was delicious too, with the most stunning homemade iced teas.
I hope to be back. And will certainly prioritise it for when I want a restful, relaxing break with outstanding food. And good alcohol too. Still trying to locate a store with the great brandy we had in the bar at Abalone House.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read of your experience at Abalone House and are hoping to welcome you back soon. Thank you for singing Chef Deon's praises - we are thrilled to have him on board and to hear such rave reviews in his first month with us is the cherry on top!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paternoster
1.0 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
22.1 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#3 of 6 in Langebaan
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oystercatcher’s Haven
The Oystercatcher’s Haven
#5 of 19 in Paternoster
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone House & Spa

Address: 3 Kriedoring Street, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range: $139 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Abalone House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalone House & Spa offers five star luxuries with serious seaside appeal. The boutique hotel is an eclectic visual tapestry of texture and authentic colours of Africa cocooned within a central poolside courtyard. Disappear into this world of genuine South African hospitality and be indulged. A 90-minute drive from Cape Town, Abalone House offers city-weary dwellers and discerning travellers an unashamedly sumptuous beachside escape, where extravagance and guest comforts take precedence. Feast at the bistro-style Reuben's at Abalone House, celebrity chef Reuben Riffel's West Coast offering that elevates this Paternoster destination to a new level of luxury escapism. The Healing Earth Spa offers ancient African traditions of healing and energy where pampering and rejuvenation await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abalone House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone House Hotel Paternoster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing