We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abalone House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Club Mykonos(Langebaan)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Calypso Villas(Langebaan)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
211
46
14
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
46
14
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabalonereuben's restaurantthe general managerunderfloor heatingruebenattention to detailcape townspa treatmentsromantic getawaychampagne on arrivalsmall hotelboutique hotelbeautiful hotelexcellent restaurantwonderful weekendsea viewguest house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 289 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The reason we chose Abalone House for this special birthday weekend was because it was the only 5 star establishment. We have stayed in other accommodation in Paternoster before which was not 5 star but was certainly better as well as delivering on what was advertised. This establishment does their trip advisior award no justice. The restaurant setting is stunning but totally let down by the quality of the cuisine. This remained abismal throughout our stay. While every restaurant offered the freshest fish caught locally that day, Abalones catch of the day was surprisingly, hake. This was not only their best menu offering but easily trumped by the many unpretensious establishments surrounding us. At breakfast "chef" serves you her version of your order regardless of your repeated requests. Though there were some small thoughtful offerings recieved during our stay, expected of a 5 star establishment but by and large Abalone totally missed the mark on all the major areas. Service, effective communication and the comfort of their guests are not up to standard. The only people who seem to be happy with Abalone's service is the day manager and his staff and they prefer to defensive.

There are no amenities like shower caps, cotton wool or earbuds in the bathroom, when phoning to reception to request a shower cap the phone went unanswered. A feather pillow, although available, took 5 requests to be delivered to the room. As far as privacy is concerned, you can hear everything your neighbors do and I mean everything, We were overcharged by 12 tots on the bill.

The owners who live out of town clearly need to spend more time at their "5" star establishment.



at their "5" star establishment.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MarvBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We have been in contact to apologize for the service during your stay and have invited you back for a complimentary 2 night stay to have the proper Abalone House experience as it was intended. Your valid points have been rectified in our efforts to provide the highest level of service expected from a 5 star establishment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We loved our stay here in luxurious rooms and with fantastic food, and very friendly staff.
The chef left at the end of september so worth checking more recent reviews on the food, but we hope tomgo back to this lovely hotel.
The high teas were to die for, and comfortable beds with the sound of the sea, amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danberney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you kindly for your lovely feedback on our establishment. We are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience. We will pass your compliments on to the team who will be thrilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Sadly we didn't stay at Abalone House but we were most fortunate that we were unable to get a booking at another restaurant and so landed up by default eating at Saffron Restaurant at Abalone House last Sunday evening ......a cold, wet and miserable one. The restaurant was warm, cosy, colourful, inviting and intriguing. The food surpassed all our expectations. Right from the moment that I phoned to book I could tell that we were in for a treat. Lindsay took our booking efficiently and kindly and put my mind to rest that there were ample options for a non red meat eater on their menu. Although there were only 2 other diners the room still felt comfortable as all six tables were elegantly set and lit by lovely mini crystal chandeliers. Lindsay and the other staff who served us were attentive without being intrusive. As a welcoming treat the chef sent to our table the most delicious amuse bouche consisting of potato gnocchi with blue cheese and walnuts........the gnocchi was literally as light as a feather and melt in the mouth. Now our taste buds had been tantalised! The rest of the meal consisted of starters of salmon trout on a risotto as well as steak tartare which had been beautifully chopped (rather than minced!) and flavoured with herbs and garnished with crispy deep fried capers. Our main dishes were pan seared hake on a bed of soft polenta and yellow tail with baby potatoes and roasted tomatoes .
All of this was washed down with two glasses of local wine at an affordable price. All in all a most pleasing and delicious evening which flew by too quickly and all too soon we were back out in the cold wet night heading for our beds. Before we left Lindsay kindly introduced us to the head chef, her husband, Darren Stewart, who was most charming. We discovered that this lovely couple will be leaving the establishment at the end of this month (September)so head out to Paternoster as soon as you can in order to enjoy an evening at this lovely restaurant. It's ideal for a chilly, wet, Cape winter evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Saffron Restaurant at Abalone House. We hope that when you next visit Paternoster, that you make a night of it to further indulge in our marvels! Your compliments will be shared with the team who I'm sure will be delighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spent a night at this wonderful B&B recently and can highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates the finer things in life! We were met by Lindsey who was exceptionally friendly, helpful and informative.
The decor is a contrast of cool beach house outside, and cosy, but elegant interior.
Our bedroom was a beautiful, large room with balcony - unfortunately no sea view - and the most luxurious white cotton linen. Loved the underfloor heating and heated towel rails in the bathroom.
Free wi-fi was a nice touch, as well as great coffee/espresso "pod" machine.
Dinner at Saffron, the Abalone House restaurant was absolutely superb, as was the breakfast.
Go - you'll love!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for your lovely words - we appreciate your feedback and will pass your message on to Lindsay and the team. We are sure they will be delighted to read your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Abalone House has an amazing and unusual atmosphere for a seaside hide away. It's cosy and embracing with a fabulous chef and a fireside bar. The staff are wonderful at creating the most hospitable atmosphere.
A great place to relax and chill-out, take walks on the beach and explore the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful post about our establishment. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews