We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightfully Caring Team”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paternoster Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paternoster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paternoster Lodge
Ranked #19 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Delightfully Caring Team”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The location is very good, overlooking the beach; the room was as we like it - spacious, minimalist, light and airy; the home made curries were magnificent - beef and chicken prepared fresh every morning; but at Paternoster Lodge, what really stands out is the deep, sincere care that the people who work here display in the way they serve their clients. Exceptional service ethic was never far away during our 90 day meander around Southern Africa and at Paternoster Lodge we found a level that was almost the equal of what we experienced at the Hotel Lusaka, in Lusaka Zambia (see my Tripadvisor review). Well done to the lovely hostess and her loyal team.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FulmerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I visit a different venue each month and this time it was to be at the Paternoster Lodge. Really nothing special. The food choice was limited and the "oven baked snoek" with apricot and soet patat was disappointing (especially after what we paid ) The first evening my wife had what she described as "the best Sole that I have ever tasted" she ordered the same the next evening and it was inedible. She left all of it. ( to their credit ,the cost of the sole was removed from our bill. The room décor is basic and not at all impressive. The view promised was uninterrupted sea view. I am afraid room 5 looked straight into a building.
There was one redeeming factor and that was the staff. Amelia is a warm and caring person who really goes the extra mile and this seems to rub off on all the staff.
If you want a sea view -- take any other room except no 5.
We will definitely not be going back.

Room Tip: choose any room except no. 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Paternoster Lodge from Christmas day onwards for a few days. The Lodge is situated one street from the sea on the beachfront. The room are spacious with white linen, fridge and a TV. The bathroom had a shower and a bath. What was nice it had a heater in the bathroom, nice luxury to have if it is cold. We had a bit of sea view. We arrived late on Christmas day and we did not have lunch at the Lodge. When I inquired about whether they will be opened for dinner she said unfortunately not. But she said we must not worry they will serve a cold platter to all the quests for dinner complementary. What a nice surprise when we got a knock on the door with a big plate of cold meats, salads and vegetables etc. We had a cold bottle of wine in the fridge and we had Christmas dinner on our patio in front of our room, watching the sun set. What a nice suggestion from them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Arriving in rainfall and howling winds, we were greeted by the friendly staff, and settled into our lovely room. Spacious and tastefully decorated with a huge bed, the room was perfect. A large bathroom provided all we needed and we found nothing wanting in the accommodation. The restaurant attached the lodge was adequate, providing a reasonable meal, but nothing special, but it was very sparsely decorated and cavernous. Overall, a pleasant experience in a lovely town.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Markbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Well done to everyone at Paternoster Lodge, you made our time with you such a great experience we will definately be back. The staff were so accommodating and went out of their way to make sure our needs were met all with big smiles.
The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and the bathrooms were also big with a corner bath and shower.
The view from the lodge is fabulous and its a short work down to the beach.
We had breakfast and lunch there which was very good and well priced. The fish was delicious.
I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySABallito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This week end we stayed at Paternoster Lodge. The Lodge was absolutely wonderful outstanding views and a really good breakfast. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and big and each room has a little table and chairs outside where you can sit and just take in the view. As a travel agent I am lucky enought to travel a lot but I was amazed at how accomodating the staff were and nothing was too much trouble. The village of Paternoster has such charm that we shall definitely be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights in heaven ! Paternoster is an easy drive fromCape Town! White washed houses ,stunning beaches,wonderful walks great local restaurants
The staff at Paternoster Dunes went out of their way to make our stay perfect and couldn't do enough for us
Delicious breakfast which varied every morning, use of the entire wonderful place

Room Tip: We loved our upstairs room . It was private , well appointed with fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
0.7 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
SA West Coast & Beyond
SA West Coast & Beyond
#5 of 16 in Paternoster
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B
0.3 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paternoster Cottages
Paternoster Cottages
#13 of 16 in Paternoster
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paternoster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paternoster Lodge

Property: Paternoster Lodge
Address: 64 St Augustine Road, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paternoster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing