We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tracey & Daniel - Unforgettable Experience*” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tracey & Daniel - Unforgettable Experience*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is an exquiste Boutique Guest House, which has been lovingly, tastefully and artfully decorated with every consideration, towards a home away from home. We stayed in the Red Suite which was beautifully decorated to say the least, in shades of red, with a seperate relaxing lounging area which was perfect for our 4 day stay. We loved the privacy of the private entrance to the beach from our suite. A scrumptious breakfast was served daily with the most magnificent views overlooking the ocean and the level of service by all staff was outstanding! We felt completely at home, with Gavin and Deon, ensuring all our needs were taken care of, including pre arranging dinner reservations at the finest restuarants in Paternoster.On our last evening Gavin and Deon prepared a five star dinner which included fresh crayfish to eat to your hearts content. This is definately the finest place to stay at when in Paternoster. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have full sea view. However the Red Suite is spacious with seperate lounging area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin-Dunes, Owner at Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Tracy & Daniel
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We really appreciate your feedback and really look forward to spoiling you on your next visit to Paternoster. Regards,
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    48
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
266
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent the Easter long weekend at Paternoster Dunes. Even before we arrived the service was Impressive. Our hosts made sure we were booked into first class restaurants every night and pre-arranged our spa treatments so we wouldn't miss out. The room was fantastic - well appointed with everything one would need or want along with a charming terrace which opened onto the beach front - what more could you ask for. The staff were professional, personable and unobtrusive - just what we wanted. Gavin's breakfasts are legendary and we were spoiled to a delectable cooked breakfast every morning in addition to all the usual trimmings. The house itself is beautifully put together and we had a peaceful and relaxing stay. We will definitely be back. Two thumbs up from us!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendricks-Henley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin-Dunes, Owner at Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
To the Hendricks - Henley duo. Thank you very much for the rave review. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and we are glad we could live up to your high standards. We look forward to seeing you again for another visit. Until then.... Warm regards, Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have just spent two wonderful nights at this idilic location. It's situation is magnificent - right on the beach and only ten minutes walk from the centre.
Made to feel really welcome, beautiful room and excellent breakfasts!
Only sorry that I had to move on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin-Dunes, Owner at Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Richard. Thank you for taking the time to review our guest house. You are a seasoned traveler so we appreciate your experienced and positive feedback and glad we can give our guests all round satisfaction. SIncerely, Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well as one drives into this magnificent white cottaged village you take a deep breath and know how lucky you are to be here. More than that the surprise at the Dunes is unsupassable!!
Magnificent service, bautifully appointed rooms and superb breakfasts Give it a try!!

Room Tip: Ask for the red room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin-Dunes, Owner at Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you Merle for your great review. I am glad our breakfasts meet with your approval as we try to keep it interesting and not give the "run of the mill" fare.
We hope you make it back to SA from Portugal soon and look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Bequia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

While on a trip up the West Coast to Paternoster in late November we were very fortunate to arrive during crayfish season (lobster) with crayfish abounding and vendors everywhere. This seaside village is absolutely charming, with wonderful sights and sounds. We were even more blessed to find a little gem of a guesthouse called Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House. This description is very apt as it is beautiful situated right on the sand amongst the dunes, with beautiful panoramic views. I loved the lounge and dining space with all the original art and the wonderful views for miles. Breakfast was delicious and relaxed and our host Gavin was most helpful. You can even book a lovely massage on the premises to add to your experience. Don’t miss an opportunity to sneak in a long weekend or a few days and experience sights and sounds you wont see many other places with a couple of lovely gift shops and art galleries thrown in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin-Dunes, Owner at Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you all for the great reviews we have received these past few months. We are really trying hard to give you the best experience of Paternoster and Paternoster Dunes when you visit us and seem to be succeeding in our goal with your positive reviews! We are still very busy though and the hot weather is playing along nicely - at times - so we are keeping our noses to the grindstone and look forward to more visitors.
Your sincerely,
Gavin, Deon, Yasmeenah, Keathlen, Sidney, Pamela, Faith & Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We enjoyed the welcome and hospitality, amazing views, super breakfasts, sheltered pool, arty furnishings and general good vibes. They had booked restaurants for us in advance which was much needed at the peak of the holiday season. Overall great fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful petit hotel in stunning setting, lovely beaches, unfortunately with too cold ocean water. But hotel is grandly making up for the small cold water inconvenience. Will make a detour and come again! Great place!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Boeykens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
1.0 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abalone House & Spa
Abalone House & Spa
#8 of 19 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilcrest Place BnB
Gilcrest Place BnB
#2 of 19 in Paternoster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House

Property: Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
Address: 18 Sonkwas street | Bekbaai, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach in Paternoster, South Africa. Stunning views of the ocean from your rooms which are beautifully decorated with quality finishes and all amenities. Enjoy a wonderful breakfast with the ocean as your canvas. Make Paternoster Dunes Guest House a must on your next trip to the West Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House Hotel Paternoster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing