We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously Nostalgic:)”
Review of Noisy Oyster

Noisy Oyster
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Paternoster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Deliciously Nostalgic:)”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Love it!
Thumbs up for:
Atmosphere
Delicious food
Bring your own wine, there is no corkage.
Service is great, super passionate about what they do:)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RozanneWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    233
    35
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A busy birthday table of 8 adults and 2 children was handled with charm and efficiency by our friendly waitress. Without exception, everyone really enjoyed their food and the wines chosen really complemented the meals. Everyone chose either fresh fish or mussels - and enjoyed their dishes very much. Noisy Oyster's quirky outdoor garden is quite magical. This is the third time we have eaten there - and they really can take pride in their absolute consistency and quality - the sardine starter is my current favourite. The fat little fillets of sardine are lightly floured and deep fried and served with a slick of delicious sauce and a salsa of some kind with a real chili kick. The kooky accessories all added to the amazing vibe of the place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBarbieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical & Memorable”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We celebrated a 40th birthday extended lunch with 35 friends on a sublime Paternoster Saturday afternoon in this magical venue. Debbie and her amazing crew ensured that outstanding food, service, great wine, music, love and laughter flowed to make this an unforgettable day!
We could not recommend the Noisy Oyster more highly. This is an essential part of the Paternoster experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good vibe but very average food.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nosy Oyster is a great little hang out but the food is never quite good enough.The best restaurant to enjoy a long lunch with a group of friends and very nice staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glad to be back”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our third visit to this fabulous little restaurant in a great location in the lovely fishing village of Paternoster. The food is great and the staff very attentive. We stopped for a quick bite after travelling during the night from the UK. Both my husband and myself ordered starters however the portions were very generous. Food is excellent and extremely tasty. My husband opted for mussels with homemade bread while I ordered the calamari. As we were both wilting after our long journey we were easily talked into desserts. My husband ordered the lime cheesecake and I had a fantastic chocolate and almond cake. Both very indulgent but hey very enjoyable !!
This restaurant is worth visiting even if you have to drive the 2hr drive from Capetown as you will not be disappointed. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noisy Oyster also viewed

Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 

Been to Noisy Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing