We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant speak for the accomodation but booking process a headache!”
Review of Nieuview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nieuview
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cant speak for the accomodation but booking process a headache!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I cannot pass comment on the accomodation as I have not been there but to be honest am not sure I'd want to considering the experience I had during the booking process.
I called to arrange a booking directly with the lodge and was told that there was availability for our desired dates. After confirming with the lodge I was waiting for their invoice to pay the required 50% deposit, after a day of waiting there was no correspondence and I received an sms at 6pm stating that the original booking (I was not aware there was one) had now paid and there was no availability. I queried this by saying that surely if the original booking had been cancelled and the room made available and we had confirmation our booking should stand in place of the prior booking - another 3 hours passed and at 9pm I received an sms stating simply "no, it is not available". There was no real apology for the miscommunication or offer of assistance to suggest alternatives...

Very rude and very dissapointing!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuview, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We are so sorry that the booking couldn't go through. We can really understand your disappointment for not getting place in Nieuview. As we've explained to you, one of our partner sites got a booking and the payment came through. Due to being a weekend, there was no availability in any other beach front cottages.
We would really like you to come and stay in Nieuview. We offer you a 10% discount on accommodation in Nieuview during May, June and July. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    40
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
123
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Amazing location, amazing views, simply stunning interior finish. Seeing is believing. I absolutely loved this place. Stayed for two nights in January 2012 and as soon as we walked in I wish we had booked for a longer stay. It was so comfortable and well thought out. Large open plan lounge, dining room and kitchen with open hearth braai. Patio doors onto the sea front with chairs to sit out overlooking the ocean. There is a downstairs wet room and a small double bedroom on the ground floor. Upstairs to a bedroom which stretches the length of the cottage. A roll top bath, and modern wash basin in the bedroom, and a small toilet cubicle. Patio door with ballusrade leading directly out to views over the ocean. There are two lots of wardrobes and plenty of deep drawer space. Everything is top quality, from the cutlery and kitchen equipment to the towels, and beach towels and furniture. I almost didn't want to write a review of Nieuview as I'd love to keep it a secret it's so special. We just have to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsgottabehot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks a lot for your reviews! The staff strive towards excellece in service delivery! We are very happy that you had excellent experiences during your stay at Nieuview! It will be great to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just spent the weekend in Paternoster in one of these amazing cottages. The decor, amenities and service was world class but it is the location of the cottages that is so outstanding. A magical experience spent with lovely family. We are from Canada but we will definitely be back as we left a little piece of ourselves here. thanks so much

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumalogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks a lot for your review! At Nieuview we are working towards excellence to ensure a marvellousvtime for our guests.! It will be great to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We both love Paternoster and have visited many times. This was a first time stay at Nieuview, which holds the last plot in Paternoster, so has the most amazing views of the beach stretching away into the distance. The layout of the accommodation and the finish to the interior is outstanding. A+. The only slightly tricky decision of an evening is to choose a direction to face with a glass of something fine. My advice would be - keep moving your chair and attempt to soak it all up at once.
Cannot wait to book again.

Room Tip: Maybe No 2 of the 3 rooms available might just pip the other 2 just for the huge window to the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks a lot for your review! Nieuview's setting and design compliments each other to ensure fantastic views. Combined with the enterior and personal attendance of the staff, we strive to make any stay with us a memorable one! .It will be great to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

my partner and I visited Nieuview December 2010 and immediately decided that we had to re-visit. We stayed there for two nights again in December 2011 and we will be back in Dec 2012. It is a romantice hideaway with all the 5* luxuries and seclusion that comes with the charm of Paternoster. Friendly service. The best position in Paternoster. It is almost a pity to share this gem.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks a lot for your review! We are so glad that you've had a romantic time in Nieuview. Nieuview is definetely one of the most romantic places in Paternoster? I would say ' Romance on the beach!'. It will be great to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khan.anisha@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at Nieuview during December 2011 - Amongst the better self-catering cottages we stayed in. Daily fully-serviced. Most amazing seaviews, and waking up to waves crashing on the seashore was bliss. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Cottage 1 is a 4-sleeper - has the biggest bedroom and only cottage with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabulosity73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks a lot for your review! We are so glad that you've a wonderful time in Paternoster. We strive in providing quality accommodation together with unlimited sea views and excellent services to our guests! Please come and visti us again. It will be great to see you again. '
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife and I have recently stayed ant Nieuview for a short breakaway. What an incredible experience! The facilities and staff were World Class with the most amazing views imaginable. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GErasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for staying in Nieuview. We are very glad that you enjoyed it and would like to accommodate you again. We will ensure that we keep up with the outstanding service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
0.1 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paternoster Cottages
Paternoster Cottages
#12 of 16 in Paternoster
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paternoster Manor Guest House
Paternoster Manor Guest House
#6 of 19 in Paternoster
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nieuview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nieuview

Property: Nieuview
Address: 1 Langstrandslot Langstrand, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nieuview 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on South Africa's wild West Coast, in the authentic fishing village of Paternoster, these exquisite cottages are located right on the beach. Imagine gazing at the sea while bathing in your extra big bath tub. At Nieuview you can marvel at uninterrupted ocean views from the comfort of your lounge, dining table or even bed. Each of the cottages is fully serviced and flooded with natural light. Soak up the sun on the patio or take a romantic stroll along the beach. Maritime touches and warm colours complement every room's welcoming atmosphere. If you are looking to combine relaxation and fun, the attentive staff is happy to organize various outdoor activities for you. Try your hand at fishing or explore the area on horse back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nieuview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing