We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed - poor service and salty chips”

Lancaster Brasserie
Ranked #13 of 31 Restaurants in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving the best of modern British cuisine, our chic new Lancaster Brasserie brings the essence of the city to the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere of Woodhall Spa village. Our head chef Steve Kind works with the best available local and seasonal produce to create really special meals. Steve and his team combine creativity and individuality to offer a very high standard of cuisine, including light lunches, afternoon teas, and delicious meals for special occasions or nights out with friends or family.
Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

We had a late lunch here yesterday. We were with my husband's mother, who is in her 80s and doesn't have a big appetite, so she always orders a child's portion to avoid food waste. When we asked for a small portion of scampi and chips we were told that this was not possible, and the waitress suggested my mother in law order from the children's menu. This is humiliating for someone over 80, and when we asked if scampi and chips was on the children's menu, it turned out it wasn't. I have never known a restaurant refuse to serve a small portion before, it is very bad customer service.
When the meals arrived my husband enjoyed his gnocchi dish, but both my mother in law's chips and my chips were served covered in salt. Neither of us eat chips with salt on them, and this ruined the meal for us. I had to scrape the salt off each chip. People with blood pressure problems beware! Please give people the choice whether they wish to put salt on their chips or not, like the vast majority of restaurants in the country. There is a reason why most places serve chips without salt on them! Not impressed with this place, we will not be returning.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 233 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2018

We hadn't booked so didn't think we would get in, but luckily we managed to find a free table in the bar area.
The choice of meats and vegetables were very very good, and tasted amazing! The place itself is really lovely and the staff all very friendly.
All 5 of our party thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and would recommend to all. Childrens meal included a free drink.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pink611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Dropped in to sample the lunch menu and we were not disappointed. Greeted warmly by friendly, polite and helpful staff. Good choice of Beers and Wine. Food was excellent, clearly the Lancaster Inn Brasserie uses quality suppliers. The Inn Burger was one of the best burgers I've had. Look forward to returning soon.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SueBD988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Family meal for 7, We called late on Saturday to book in for Sunday late lunch and they accommodated us easily. We arrived a little late and they were wonderful, they seated us quickly and with a big smile. The venue is lovely and the staff were fabulous. We had an accident with a drink, they cleared it quickly with no fuss and replaced the drink without being asked. We waited a little while to be taken through to collect our carvery but nothing to be concerned about. We were very politely escorted through to the carvery, between us we tried every meat on offer and none of us were disappointed! Every meat was succulent and even my very fussy father said it was the best carvery he has ever had. Highly recommended and will be visiting again on our next holiday to Tattershall.
Price wise I felt it was reasonable for a carvery and when you factor in the quality of the food well worth the money. Additionally the childrens meal included pudding and this was an added bonus and children thought it was great!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Have been here on a number of occasions for the carvery and would rate it as one of the best I've ever had. Cook is always very friendly and accommodating and the food is always perfect. Very reasonably priced and the deserts though a little more expensive are well worth it. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank declan12uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lancaster Brasserie also viewed

Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire
Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire
 
Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire
Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire
 
Kirkby on Bain, Woodhall Spa
 

Been to Lancaster Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing