We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel full of oldy worldy charm”
Review of Petwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Petwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have always wanted to stay at the petwood since visiting Woodhall as a child and on the August bank holiday weekend I realised my dream.
We hadn't booked a room for the Sunday night but the lovely lady on reception who's name I didn't get soon sorted us out and couldnt of been more helpful. She gave us a great room and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we will definately be back and stay for longer next time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Manager at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you had an opportunity to stay with us over the Bank Holiday and Reception looked after your needs.

If you do have an opportunity to come away again please ring Reservations as we do sometimes have Special Break Prices available, or great prices on upgrades to our Executive Rooms or Suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back again,

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Attended a function on Sunday in the conference suite for a 100 guest
tables of 10 food served with just 2 bowls of veg 1 potato each
we asked for more but by the time it arrived guest had finished meal without veg
very poor value.
Plus the area to the garden from the bar had not been cleaned & was littered with rubbish
what a disgrace !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Manager at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the lack of potatoes at the function you attended on Sunday.

The 3 course meal for £16.00 was a community rate offered to our client in order to raise money for the St Barnabas Charity. Having spoken to the client on Monday for feedback who was full of praise for the staff running the event and the standard of food supplied I am disappointed that you were not. The client did mention that more vegetables and potatoes were requested and these were delivered to the tables as quickly as possible.

Thank you for attending the St Barnabas Charity Event and for your feedback, we hope you have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First time there its very impressive and the staff were great and were only to pleased to show off the hotel and all the Dam Busters memorabilia.617 Squadron my Dad was also based in Woodhall Spa.We only stayed for lunch but great value, loved looking over the grounds.It is only 20 minuets drive from Lincon so not to far for lunch.Don't forget to have a look at Barnes Wallace,s "Bouncing Bomb" in the car park,plus the little gift shop

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Franklin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Manager at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Petwood for a Family Lunch and had an opportunity to walk around the Grounds and visit the 617 memorabilia in the Squadron Bar and around the Hotel.

Hopefully you will have a chance to stay for longer next time,

Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Well we decided to go to the petwood hotel for afternoon tea for my husbands birthday with a friend of ours. let me start by saying the grounds are beautiful and well worth a look but our dining experience was awful. We went to the bar to order our drinks asked for some menus and went to sit outside. We hadnt even sat in our seats before the waitress was by our side asking to take our order we obviously were not ready and she left for 3 minutes before coming back and standing over us until we made our choice. We ordered our meal which was nice enough then proceeded to order our desserts one of them with edible flowers and one with fresh berries neither of which turned up .The manager we spoke to was clueless about this and didn't know what they were , after speaking to the chef he said they had none left as they had been busy over the bank hol. we asked for a discount and was met with a clueless expession so we sent it back. Even the little country pubs let you know when they run out of items and expected better from such a beautiful place. very sad and even though we are local we would never go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melaniexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to learn of your disappointing dining experience, especially as you had come to celebrate the special occasion of your husband's birthday.

I am sorry that the keenness from one of our staff to deliver efficient service came across as more pressurising and not at all the leisurely and relaxed style of service you were expecting and that we aim to deliver.

Whilst I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your first course, I am disappointed that the dessert course flattened the experience. After a busy and successful weekend, regrettably our suppliers were not available on the Bank Holiday to take our order for more edible flowers which ordinarily would have been delivered next day. I am sorry that when you ordered your desserts the team did not inform you of the shortage of the edible flower garnish and that the Chef's substitution of fresh berries was not suitable. Although offered an alternative dessert, I am sorry that there was nothing else you wished to try from the menu before the manager deducted your dessert from the bill.

Thank you for choosing to visit the Petwood for your husband's birthday, however I am bitterly disappointed that the service so often complimented by our guests was not up to standard, for which I apologise.

If you wish to discuss your visit in more detail please do contact us on 01526 352411.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed with son's young family in order to visit the East Kirkby Museum & Lincoln. The history of the Hotel & all the pictures were very appropriate to our visit, the sitting rooms and bar were very pleasant.The two rooms we occupied were spacious & comfortable. They were hotter than desired probably due to being over the kitchen & having no Air con but having big windows open helped. The ensuites were clean and a good size but showers a bit difficult to turn on. They would benefit from updating.
The staff without exception were welcoming, friendly & helpful, & they were not fazed by the presence two rather active small boys.The food was imaginative & delicious,with plentiful choice, although sometimes perhaps had been kept warm too long.The grounds were large & delightful, with plenty of room for our small boys to run around and must be spectacular when the rhodedendrons are in flower. We all enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid being over kitchen, ask to overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wunchapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review following your visit with family. I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay finding the restaurant food delicious, the staff friendly and the gardens spacious making a good play area for the children.

I appreciate your comments that the standard rooms you occupied at the back of the hotel were warm in the summer weather. When we come to refurbish these rooms it is our plan to install air conditioning units to help control the room temperature. I am sorry that you did not get to experience the bedrooms with recently upgraded bathrooms, however I trust you will be pleased to know that the new bath and shower fittings are easier to operate. If you are planning a return visit, hopefully you will see the extent of our refurbishment and offer us some feedback on our progress.

Thank you again for your review.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for a second time. We are part of the AFMC NC WW2 re-enactment group. We were involved with the memorial parade on the sunday, and provided the 'dambusters brief' in the hotel Petwood Suite during the weekend. In the village one of our Navy members showed you how to disarm a parachute mine.
The hotel staff, as always were very kind, and attentive to alll those staying. The room we were allocated was a room with a view of the garden, which my partner loved.
I simply can't say enough about the treatment we received. From the moment we walked in, right up to the end of our stay, the welcome was warm, and friendly.

If you haven't been to this hotel then you must come, and see it for yourself. There is so much history here, and in the surrounding area.

Best regards Dave C and The Memsahib.

Room Tip: If you can get yourself a room overlooking the garden. All sorts of things can be observed from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay for the Woodhall Spa 1940s Festival. We are planning next year's for 19th and 20th July and hope we will see you again then.

Thank you also for your group's contribution to the weekend event. The briefings were extremely popular and very well received by 1940s Festival goers and hotel guests alike.

Your comments about the team are extremely kind and we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our second visit to the Petwood Hotel and we were joined by 5 other friends.

The hotel was used by the famous Dambuster Squadron during the second world was as their officers’ quarters so there are plenty of original features and memorabilia.

The hotel sits in an area surrounded by history and is a great starting off point for this and golf if this interests you.

The hotel is charming and the rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The bar and seating areas are exceptionally good and when the weather is fine, I would recommend the garden / terrace area.

There are special events within the hotel [We missed the Fawlty Towers experience but in the gardens there was a live performance of Twelfth Night].

The staff are always friendly and helpful and we were all impressed with their attitudes and interaction with the guests.

The breakfasts are fantastic with a great choice of food and great attention from the staff.
The restaurant is very good but I would book your evening meals as the restaurant can fill up on busy nights.

We all tried a variety of the menu items and nobody was disappointed with their choice, and the quality is excellent but again, the staff turn the meal into an event and most enjoyable. We were not rushed and the coffee / tea were served in the lounge.

The hotel and the grounds are worth exploring and really are full of history. Parking is very good which is a key factor.

Visit this hotel, it really is worth it, but take a look at their webpage to see all the facilities and special events. I only offer praise when it is deserved and this is one of these places, and to all the staff, Well Done.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the terrace / garden are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at The Petwood and were pleased with the quality of the food, comfort of the bedrooms and friendly and engaging nature of the team.

I thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.5 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
427 reviews
11.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
0.5 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
324 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petwood Hotel

Address: Stixwould Road, Woodhall Spa LN10 6QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range: $86 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1905 and once home to the 617 'Dambusters' Squadron, the Hotel is situated in Lincolnshire and surrounded by 30 acres of beautiful gardens. This former country house offers free wi-fi, free car parking, log fires in the drawing room, a beauty and wellbeing studio, restaurant, terrace bar, RAF memorabilia, conference and banqueting facilities, wedding facilities with a licence for civil ceremonies, billiards room and outdoor entertaining area. A tranquil setting for both business and leisure guests.Rooms at the Petwood Hotel feature bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. They also include TVs, radios, tea/coffee making facilities and some rooms have garden views. The Restaurant serves fine cuisine influenced by locally sourced produce. The hotel famous for it's RAF connection was used in World War II by the 617 Squadron, visit our Squadron Bar to view memorabilia and tributes to the Officers.Home of England Golf, the Woodhall Spa Golf Club is a 5 minute drive from the Petwood Hotel. Alternatively enjoy a stroll through our historic town, enjoy afternoon tea and lunch on the hotels terrace or pamper yourself with various beauty and massage treatments.The hotel is only a 2-minute stroll from Jubillee Park, which offers swimming and tennis or a 5-minute drive to Bainland Country Park offering bike hire, horse riding, microlight flying, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Petwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petwood Hall Lincoln
Petwood Hall Hotel Lincoln
Petwood Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing