We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Petwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We travelled over from Australia and used the hotel as a base from which to visit family in the surrounding counties. We were allocated a fantastic room complete with 4-poster bed and great views over the gardens. We really enjoyed being immersed in the history of the place and were spoiled rotten by the staff, who were all most courteous and helpful. The food was excellent and delivered with fantastic service. It was nice to stay somewhere with character rather than a more modern but sterile establishment. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are already planning a return for next year.

Room Tip: If you want a room with great views and real character, ask for 'Oak"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnRivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your review which delighted the team. I am so pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay and felt that the service from the staff, quality of the food and independent setting of the hotel was worthy of comment.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Petwood next year.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was convenient to stay here after a private function that was held in the hotel. The initial impression when entering the room for the first time was not good. The carpet was dirty and there were crumbs, presumably from a previous occupants snack. The room (203) overlooked the car park ensuring you benefitted from car noise until quite late and starting again early the next morning. On the plus side, the tea and coffee making facility in the room was very good as was the excellent power shower. The food at the private function was average but the breakfast buffet was good.
This hotel does some things better than others but the rooms would benefit from a deep clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am so sorry to read of your disappointment on checking in to your room and the disturbance you experienced from other guests leaving the hotel after a function. I thank you for your comments which I have shared with the Housekeeping team for attention.

I am encouraged to read, however, that you were pleased with the in-room amenities and breakfast on the morning of departure. Should you visit the area again please do consider The Petwood and let us know how we have improved since your first visit.

With thanks and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Whilst I have never stayed in this hotel it was my pleasure to have lunch there with my cousins earlier this year. Being interested in aviation I was quite awestruck to be able to wander through the areas showing photos etc of the famous Dam busters. We had a delicious lunch and felt quite grand in the elegant surrounds of the dining room. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deefadog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for visiting The Petwood and subsequently sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor users. I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and would recommend to others.

When next in the UK I do hope that you will come to Woodhall Spa again.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and our two friends stayed at this hotel last week whilst on a golfing break at Woodhall Spa. On arrival we were all struck by the splendour of the hotel and the overall setting. The staff were all very friendly and obliging, although some of the younger staff waiting at table were a little naive. Virtually all the carpets had seen better days and our bedroom was particularly bad. There were no feather pillows just foam ones which doesn't give one a good night's sleep in warm weather. Decoration was very tired. The History of the Dam Busters in the Officer's Mess was truly brilliant and probably worth the stay on it's own. One tip: If you happen to have a room, as we did, overlooking the terrace you have wonderful views of the gardens. The bad news is that if a golf party are staying they sometimes frequent the terrace below your window and, with the drink, can be very loud until 2.00am as happened on the Thursday night before we left.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emjay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and kind comments about the hotel's setting, history and gardens. I am pleased that largely you found our team friendly and obliging, however I would like to discuss with you in more detail how we can address the other matters with training. Similarly, I would like to explore the idea of a 'pillow menu' and how we can incorporate your comments into our refurbishment plans, a rolling programme of which starts in a couple of weeks with fitting new bedroom carpets.

Thank you for raising the comment about fellow guests enjoying the terrace later in the evening at louder volumes than are preferable. I will review our existing practices and see how we can better manage the noise levels from groups on summer evenings.

I look forward to welcoming you again and receiving your comments on our progress with implementing your feedback.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds and steeped in history. However room 222 is adjacent to the extractor fan for the kitchen and once turned off at 2100 very quiet until 0400 when some droning noise begins making it impossible to sleep peacefully.
Carpet in room very dirty.
On being moved to a different room on 2nd night we were delighted until we noticed the state of the carpet in this lovely 4 poster bedroom. Surely the attention to detail in this establishment should be second to none. I was disappointed to say the least. Everything else about the hotel is great and they let themselves down on detail!

Room Tip: Garden view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetM_1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review in addition to the feedback already kindly given to the hotel through a guest feedback survey.

Whilst I am very pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay I am sorry that you were disappointed with the condition of carpets. I trust, however, you will be pleased to know that we have new carpets scheduled to be fitted for a number of rooms over the coming weeks.

I do hope that you will consider a return visit so that we can hear your feedback on our progress.

With thanks and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My friend and I had afternoon tea at the Petwood to celebrate her birthday. The afternoon tea was lovely and the staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. When we were there we picked up a brochure for the Beauty Room. (didn't know the hotel had one until then). You have to book, but I booked a Crystal Wand Facial and my friend had a Reiki treatment. She said hers was great and I can honestly say that the facial was one of the best treatments I've ever had. It was absolute heaven. Lisa is really friendly, but very professional. It really is a hidden gem within the hotel.
The Petwood is a lovely hotel. It's got so much charm. I would recommend it to any one.
We've both booked again to have another treatment. Now we know it's there it would be rude not to.

Room Tip: We didn't stay over, but if you have time, book a treatment with Lisa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justlikestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing your visit for afternoon tea and beauty treatments. It is wonderful to hear you discovered the delights of the Petwood Beauty Studio and are keen to return.

Treatments are available to both guests and visitors. All are welcome but appointments must be made in advance with Lisa. Contact details and a list of beauty treatments and holistic therapies are available on the website or by calling Reception for more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed for for a few days to attend a conference. This hotel is situated on beautiful grounds that one could look at and explore all day. In the hotel all of the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.

My room was excellent. There was a raised platform with windows showing the beautiful grounds. A lovely desk and a closet that could easily fit a week's worth of clothes. The bathroom had the normal fair and accessories that you would expect.

There are two bars with a good selection of beer and wine. The Dam Busters bar outlines the amazing history of the grounds and what happened there during WW II (ask about the tree branch above the bar).

I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay and relax or hold a conference.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with a view of the grounds. I was in the Wisteria room and thought it was amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of The Petwood Hotel with other TripAdvisor users. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our team friendly and helpful. during your visit to the UK.

Since your stay we have refurbished the bathroom in Wisteria. I am sorry that you missed out on this by a matter of days but hope a return visit may be in the pipeline so that you can tell us what you think.

Thank you again for your recommendation.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.5 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
425 reviews
11.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
0.5 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
321 reviews
11.2 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petwood Hotel

Address: Stixwould Road, Woodhall Spa LN10 6QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range: $92 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1905 and once home to the 617 'Dambusters' Squadron, the Hotel is situated in Lincolnshire and surrounded by 30 acres of beautiful gardens. This former country house offers free wi-fi, free car parking, log fires in the drawing room, a beauty and wellbeing studio, restaurant, terrace bar, RAF memorabilia, conference and banqueting facilities, wedding facilities with a licence for civil ceremonies, billiards room and outdoor entertaining area. A tranquil setting for both business and leisure guests.Rooms at the Petwood Hotel feature bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. They also include TVs, radios, tea/coffee making facilities and some rooms have garden views. The Restaurant serves fine cuisine influenced by locally sourced produce. The hotel famous for it's RAF connection was used in World War II by the 617 Squadron, visit our Squadron Bar to view memorabilia and tributes to the Officers.Home of England Golf, the Woodhall Spa Golf Club is a 5 minute drive from the Petwood Hotel. Alternatively enjoy a stroll through our historic town, enjoy afternoon tea and lunch on the hotels terrace or pamper yourself with various beauty and massage treatments.The hotel is only a 2-minute stroll from Jubillee Park, which offers swimming and tennis or a 5-minute drive to Bainland Country Park offering bike hire, horse riding, microlight flying, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petwood Hall Lincoln
Petwood Hall Hotel Lincoln
Petwood Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing