We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel But !!”
Review of Petwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Petwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went to the Petwood Hotel on 29th June for a birthday celebration.Its a lovely hotel steeped in history with the RAF.The grounds are lovely,the only downside was the cost to have high tea,for the cost you didnt get enough.Value for money is key in todays financial climate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pegasus1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that you feel our afternoon tea did not offer good value. We are always keen to take on feedback and so, if I may, I will contact you directly to discuss this in more detail and where you think improvements could be made.

With thanks and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at the Petwood Hotel in Woodhall Spa for a 3 night break 17th-19th June and had a fantastic time . Excellent food , Helpful and friendly staff , Wonderful location with Beautiful grounds . If you are interested in the R.A.F , Bomber Command and the Dambusters then you will be in for a treat but this is not a requirement as it is great hotel for all .

Room Tip: We stayed in ground floor room with garden view which was lovely but can't comment on other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducati996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again to Bomber County and The Petwood Hotel.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Found the Petwood by chance. We needed nice hotel adjacent to Woodhall Spa Golf club. It's just round the corner. Old style but good standard of decor with warm friendly staff. We had all in rate which included an evening meal and breakfast. Good point we could have anything off menu. Specials we had to pay small extra charge which was reasonable. Several pictures which give it a good historic feel. One point the 617 Dambusters squadron used hotel as officers Mess.

Room Tip: Ask for view over the Terrace and grounds at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent golf break. I am extremely pleased to see that everything was to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your stay at The Petwood. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A golf trip in this most English of spa-towns and a superb base at The Petwood. The hotel reeks history and there are many pictures and other memorabilia to remind you that this was the Officers' Mess for 617 Squadron, the Dambusters.

Rooms are spacious and have all you need : the grounds looked stunning in the June sunshine and the public areas are comfortable.

We had one, outstanding dinner for our first night and I can honestly say that the quality of food and the level of service for 9 people was up to Gleneagles standards, hitherto the best hotel food I have eaten in the UK. Though the breakfast was buffet-style, that too was very good, with hot dishes being constantly replaced with fresh ones.

With one exception, all the staff were wonderful ( the barman in question should really ask himself if the hospitality industry is his bag ) and there were smiles all round.

Good value too - we booked via Woodhall Spa Golf Club, though the fact that there was both a Bugatti rally and a Vespa outing illustrates that you don't have to be a golfer.

A fine experience, Petwood - well done !

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank SeanIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review which delighted us all. The team and I are all thrilled to hear that you and your party enjoyed your stay at The Petwood and thank you particularly for your kind comments about the standard of the food served in our Dining Room.

Thanks to your direct feedback to the hotel on departure regarding service from one member of the team, I am pleased to inform you this issue has been addressed with prompt attention. With that case aside, I am very pleased that on the whole you found the service of our team to be of a high standard.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you again to The Petwood.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We tried to book the hotel for a Saturday night stay but it was fully booked (2 weddings and functions going on) so had to choose another hotel.
However, I was determined to come here and booked our evening meal as a surprise for the other half. We had a choice of the bar or the dining room so opted for the dining room when asked for a preference. First class service from all the staff from start to finish, faultless and so friendly too. We can say it was one of the best meals we have had in a very long time.
Afterwards we went to the lounge bar for a drink, after looking at a lot of the 617 Squadron pictures and history. The wood panelled walls remind of an era long gone in many places but suits this hotel perfectly. No modern nonsense here - brilliant!
We will definitely stay here in the future, that is certain and would recommend this hotel unreservedly. One of the best places we have been. Full stop.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit for dinner and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future to stay.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is beautiful full of history that you have to take in and the grounds and gardens are just splendid this time of year,staff very friendly and breakfast was yummy, the menu we found habit pricey for what we wanted so we ventured out for dinner, room was very spacious and although there where 2 weddings going on we never heard a thing during the night, only problem was the hot water and shower at most it was tepid and the actual shower itself couldn't hold its post ion so kept spraying the tap and not me ,and there where a few staines on the carpet in the bedroom all in all we would come back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Petwood. I am delighted to see that you found the hotel beautiful, our staff friendly and the breakfast delicious. When planning your next visit, you might like to know that our special offers often include dinner which presents the whole package at a more attractive rate than booking the components separately. Our Reservations team will be happy to give you more details at the time of your enquiry.

Thanks to you kindly completed a guest feedback survey, I am also pleased to report that our maintenance team was able to promptly address the shower and water issues you mentioned.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is the most beautiful hotel, the atmosphere is amazing, even if you are not into the RAF side of Woodhall Spa this is a must stay hotel, you will keep coming back, we booked again whilst we were there.

Room Tip: try not to get a room in the newer part of the hotel as some of them are near the kitchen and wheeli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed another stay at The Petwood and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.5 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
430 reviews
11.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
11.2 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,117 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petwood Hotel

Address: Stixwould Road, Woodhall Spa LN10 6QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range: $91 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1905 and once home to the 617 'Dambusters' Squadron, the Hotel is situated in Lincolnshire and surrounded by 30 acres of beautiful gardens. This former country house offers free wi-fi, free car parking, log fires in the drawing room, a beauty and wellbeing studio, restaurant, terrace bar, RAF memorabilia, conference and banqueting facilities, wedding facilities with a licence for civil ceremonies, billiards room and outdoor entertaining area. A tranquil setting for both business and leisure guests.Rooms at the Petwood Hotel feature bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. They also include TVs, radios, tea/coffee making facilities and some rooms have garden views. The Restaurant serves fine cuisine influenced by locally sourced produce. The hotel famous for it's RAF connection was used in World War II by the 617 Squadron, visit our Squadron Bar to view memorabilia and tributes to the Officers.Home of England Golf, the Woodhall Spa Golf Club is a 5 minute drive from the Petwood Hotel. Alternatively enjoy a stroll through our historic town, enjoy afternoon tea and lunch on the hotels terrace or pamper yourself with various beauty and massage treatments.The hotel is only a 2-minute stroll from Jubillee Park, which offers swimming and tennis or a 5-minute drive to Bainland Country Park offering bike hire, horse riding, microlight flying, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Petwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petwood Hall Lincoln
Petwood Hall Hotel Lincoln
Petwood Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing