We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Lincolnsihre”
Review of Dower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dower House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Trip to Lincolnsihre”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

All fine, nice clean rooms, helpful staff. Found ambiance of dining room a bit odd but otherwise a really good stay. Food very good. Management extremely helpful. Plenty of hot water and nice bathrooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    61
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
83
157
4
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was the best deal on Laterooms for hotels in the area and we were overjoyed when they kindly upgraded our room (free of charge) upon arrival. It was so indulgent, i even rang down to reception to make sure there hadn't been a mistake. The lodge building is about 2 years old and there are about 6 room on each of the 3 floors. The decor throughout is still very "new" & clean. All of the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We spent one evening in the hotel with our friends and it was as if we were entertaining in our own living room (although with a lot more grandeur). The team made us all very welcome indeed. This is where we are going to stay for all future visits to Woodhall Spa. A very big thank you to everyone at the Dower House. PS: Pop along the lane for a brisk walk and take in the Kinema in the Woods.

Room Tip: We booked 2 rooms (Standard & Superior) but were upgraded to Superior (2nd flr) & Suite (1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We found this hotel on laterooms.com and booked as part of my wife’s surprise birthday break. It is set in wooded grounds, surrounded by trees, hedges and a nearby golf course. Beautifully restored Victorian décor in the main building and this elegance continues to the lodge (which is where our room was situated). The lodge is a small walk through the garden from the main building, or you can park next to it with the spaces provided. Our room was a standard double, but it was unbelievably large. From the main entrance you can walk to the bedroom (which has a desk, TV and huge double bed) or into the spacious bathroom. My wife was over the moon and commented on how it was one of the most clean and wonderful hotels she has ever stayed in (and she goes away on business quite a lot).

We didn’t dine in the restaurant that evening, but we did enjoy a full breakfast the following morning. There was a vegetarian option too, along with the usual juices, cereals, toast, etc. The sausages were locally sourced and were beautiful. There were also locally made biscuits in the room, which were very nice indeed.

We found the staff to be polite, informative and courteous.

We will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are as good as the more expensive larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We recently got married at the Dower House in Woodhall Spa at the end of October and we could not have asked for a better location.
The hotel was perfect in everyway for our small 30 people wedding ceremony, reception and evening party.

We arranged our wedding with Ann Dobbs at the Dower House and she took everything in her stride. The Dower House was perfect for us, Ann and the staff at the hotel tailor made everything we asked for, we were treated like this was the biggest wedding of the year at the hotel and we had all of the staff's time and attention, nothing was too much trouble for anyone at the hotel. At no point did we feel like this was "just another wedding" at the Dower House, we honestly felt amazing!

The food during our wedding was out of this world! All home cooked onsite and nothing was processed...all 3 courses of our wedding guests plates were empty.

Both myself and my new Wife, would like to thank everyone at the hotel for everything they did. From the house keeping staff, who keep the rooms impeccably clean and tidy. I as the groom, stayed in room 7 on the night before the wedding and had a great nights sleep in preparation for the big day. (Please make sure you try the home made shortbread in the rooms, it is amazing!)

We stayed in the Hotchkins suite on the wedding day and this room is unbelievable and has to be seen! Huge double bed, large bath room with bath and a brilliant rain style shower head.

The reception staff who greeted us to warmly on our exit and helped with any request quickly and without fuss were superb, to the bar and waiter staff on our wedding day, we can only say thank you for everything, we had an unforgettable day & evening party.

Thoroughly recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My daughter was married here on the 24th October 2013. We couldn't have asked for a more excellent venue. Ann Dobbs organisation for the planning and execution of the event was without question faultless. All the staff throughout were professional, friendly, helpful and above all happy, the two barman were dancing at times which made everyone feel great. The Food was excellent in every way. The rooms were again, without fault and some guests not staying were disappointed that they hadn't booked rooms. We would strongly recommend anyone considering a wedding venue to look at what the Dower House has to offer. Having said all that the Dower House would be an excellent Hotel whilst staying in the area. Thoroughly thouroughly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: From the reports of our guests they were all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A great find – an attractive hotel in a lovely setting, offering a high quality experience at a very realistic price. We stayed just one night, but would have loved to stay for more. All the staff we encountered were friendly, polite and helpful. Our double-aspect room in the annexe was absolutely beautiful, furnished to a high quality, and with a very well-fitted bathroom. The bar in the main hotel is nicely appointed and friendly. The breakfast was of a very high standard, offering copious choice. We would definitely stay again. This gives the impression of being a highly professional operation, combining high standards, friendliness and style – all at very reasonable prices. So it can be done. Plenty of other places could learn a lot from the Dower House.

Room Tip: The new rooms in the lodge are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelersLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My second stay in several years and still the best in the area (believe me I have tried them all).
Large clean and comfortable room, warm friendly staff, good beer and great food. Proper English breakfast. Free WiFi, modern TV's, quite despite the golfers. Shame they are so well booked up in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.4 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
936 reviews
0.3 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
391 reviews
11.6 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
313 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dower House Hotel

Property: Dower House Hotel
Address: Manor Estate, Woodhall Spa LN10 6PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dower House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect central village location, situated overlooking the Golf Course with the club house just two minutes walk. Recently completed extensive £1.5m refurbishment and the addition of "The Lodge", the Designer has retained all the original features of this beautiful Country House Hotel, including wonderful open fires in the Lounge & Bar. Seasons Restaurant offers a Full A La Carte Menu using locally sourced produce, with a selection of lighter meals that can be taken in Harrys Bar. Rooms have double aspect or bay windows with Twin or Super King Beds, en-suites with bath and power shower over- Suites have separate bath and "walk in" showers or book Room 16 for the freestanding double ended claw foot bath that you can really relax in. Even the complimentary in room "Butlers Trays" contain a jar of Shortbread which is freshly baked daily. Well positioned for visits to the Kinema in the Woods (2 mins), Memorial Flight (RAF Conningsby), local Antique centres, Lincolnshire Wolds, and historic Lincoln Cathedral. Hotel Car service to and from Airports & Newark, Grantham, Lincoln railway stations(charge applies). For Business, The Orangery, Oak Room and Garden Room provide the perfect solution for meetings / conferences or private Dining and the 24 hour reception allows for late arrivals or early starts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dower House Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing