We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Dower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dower House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

An excellent overnight stay while on a recent business trip. Friendly welcome followed by an extremely comfortable room in the main house with bags of space, a huge bathroom and everything one would want for an overnight stay or longer. Good breakfast, fresh food well cooked. The whole place was a treat. Must come back with my wife some time so we can explore the area properly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prisoner-of-war
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 427 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ok so things didn't start off too well. We'd booked a superior double and was offered a less than superior twin. Our dissatisfaction was met with a swift response and we were offered a suite instead with a large double bed. Suite was great, lots of space, great bathroom, lounge area and even a filter coffee maker. Slight niggle here though was the filters provided were entirely the wrong size and for a completely different type of coffee maker. Also the homemade shortbread biscuits looked as though they'd be left by several previous guests - rather unappetising. Suite generally was very nice but lacked finishing touches like some art on the walls - it was all just a bit bland. Rooms were situated in The Lodge, a short walk from the main hotel. To be honest it felt like an old folks home, dated decor, smell of plug in air fresheners and heat turned up too high.
So into the hotel the next morning for breakfast. Very, very poor choice for £150 a night - full English but only just! Fruit, but it was a choice of tinned grapefruit or prunes! Yoghurts, and a few pastries. Toast came but no offer of any more, same with tea and coffee. Staff were pleasant enough but noticeably scarce and unattentive. Dining area was large but dreary. Everyone was spaced out around the place and there was no atmosphere. A little background music would have helped.
And so to checkout. No enquiry about whether we enjoyed our stay, seems like they were almost afraid of the answer. Just a case of hand over your card, key in the number and on your way.
This hotel needs to take a serious look at what the competition is doing for £150 a night and up its game. Wish the B&B that we'd wanted to go to hadn't been fully booked. Easy to see why 'Dour' House wasn't.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have stopped here a few times and it is fantastic. The hotel is in a quiet location but only a short walk from the town which has some nice shops and restaurants. You won't need these as the food in the hotel is brilliant, good menu and the food is to die for. The hotel is immaculate, good size rooms with everything you need. Staff are very helpful and it a place with character. Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms I stopped in were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimTUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here on November 10th for a birthday party and enjoyed every minute. The staff are warm and welcoming without any pretention, the food was excellent and the accommodation extremely comfortable. What more could you ask for?

We stayed in the Lodge and despite being adjacent to the main entrance were not disturbed once. The Lodge has it's own sitting area where you can relax before dinner before a stroll across the lawn to the main hotel.

I met one of the owners who told me they had spent thousands of pounds on ensuring that some new chimneys matched the original chimneys exactly, and this attention to detail and desire to make things perfect are reflected throughout the hotel and staff.

Overall a lovely place to stay, and excellently placed if you are interested in golf.

Make a booking - you'll love it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JInch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife an I have just spent a night at a really great hotel for a romantic break. Everything about the hotel is individual and well thought through. The rooms are beautifully decorated, a good size to be comfortable to spend time in, fitted with the latest accessories such as TV and lighting and with good views. The staff can't do enough to help, the public areas have lots of nooks to sit in and read. There is a great, fiendly bar and lots more open space available. The food is absolutely fabulous with both old favorites and interesting new cuisine. Amazingly the prices are really reasonable. We recommend it to anyone wanting to spend a few days in a special place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim_johnson_lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband & I decided to try this venue for a Sunday lunch and we were very pleased. The menu was varied and the service second to none. The staff could not have been more helpful. We were so impressed we have booked the family in for Christmas Dinner !

Room Tip: We did not stay so can't comment here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veganwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent last Saturday night in a room in the Lodge (30 secs walk from the main building) which was both beautifully appointed and immaculately clean; the perfect place for a peaceful nights slumber.

Pre-dinner drink by one of the log fires, good food in the restaurant all served by friendly, pleasant and attentive staff. Post dinner Malt by the fire and zzzzzz.

Splendid.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Properlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.4 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
419 reviews
12 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
324 reviews
17.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
22.7 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dower House Hotel

Address: Manor Estate, Woodhall Spa LN10 6PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range: $124 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dower House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect central village location, situated overlooking the Golf Course with the club house just two minutes walk. Recently completed extensive £1.5m refurbishment and the addition of "The Lodge", the Designer has retained all the original features of this beautiful Country House Hotel, including wonderful open fires in the Lounge & Bar. Seasons Restaurant offers a Full A La Carte Menu using locally sourced produce, with a selection of lighter meals that can be taken in Harrys Bar. Rooms have double aspect or bay windows with Twin or Super King Beds, en-suites with bath and power shower over- Suites have separate bath and "walk in" showers or book Room 16 for the freestanding double ended claw foot bath that you can really relax in. Even the complimentary in room "Butlers Trays" contain a jar of Shortbread which is freshly baked daily. Well positioned for visits to the Kinema in the Woods (2 mins), Memorial Flight (RAF Conningsby), local Antique centres, Lincolnshire Wolds, and historic Lincoln Cathedral. Hotel Car service to and from Airports & Newark, Grantham, Lincoln railway stations(charge applies). For Business, The Orangery, Oak Room and Garden Room provide the perfect solution for meetings / conferences or private Dining and the 24 hour reception allows for late arrivals or early starts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dower House Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing