We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended.”
Review of Dower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dower House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent last Saturday night in a room in the Lodge (30 secs walk from the main building) which was both beautifully appointed and immaculately clean; the perfect place for a peaceful nights slumber.

Pre-dinner drink by one of the log fires, good food in the restaurant all served by friendly, pleasant and attentive staff. Post dinner Malt by the fire and zzzzzz.

Splendid.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Properlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 420 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had our wedding at the Dower House recently, and it was fantastic. A big thank you to all the staff,, including Ann for organizing the Wedding. The Dower House is a hidden gem,, all the wedding guests said how good the Dower House had been and many will be visiting again. Nice touches like home made Short Bread in the rooms and fresh coffee in the rooms. If thinking of planning a wedding, this is the place to go. A big thank you to all. Fantastic,,,,,,,

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, welcoming, warm. We had a spacious and well furnished room in the main building, huge bed, given fresh milk for tea and nice homemade biscuits. We ate at the hotel in the evening and the food was good, arrived in good time with excellent service. Sat in the lounge with the log fire to finish off our wine. Breakfast was fine - and had chance for a walk around part of the town. Would certainly re-visit. Booked through Laterooms including breakfast it was an excellent deal

Room Tip: Had a spacious room in the main building only one point there was one step down into the bathroom, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed in the lodge. Really comfortable rooms, lovely intimate bar and really nice lounges. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, although don't expect to be able to watch the footy on TV - there is no Sky!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank MarkAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went to the Dower House restaurant for our anniversary in August. We never really think to go as it is on our doorstep, We tend to go further afield. I am so pleased that we tried the Dower this year. The food was superb, service excellent and helpful and friendly staff. It is not cheap, but then you get what you pay for. For a special occasion it is nice to treat yourselves, I would recommend the Dower to anyone. Well done and thankyou.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gail6861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Dower House is located in the village of Woodhall Spa, a small English village which is also home to the English Golf Union. The General Managers, Liz & Simon Eve provide an exceptional property for value and comfort. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms outstanding. Nothing like the "drenching" showers after golf and sightseeing. Simon personally oversees the bar providing top notch service and conversation. The food and service in the dining room are both excellent. The Lodge is a "built to suit" addition to the original house and all the details of comfortable beds, sitting areas, a desk, adequate closet space and lots of windows have been addressed as well as an elevator to the upper floor. There is space in the Lodge for business meetings which could be combined with golf at the famous course and local sightseeing in Lincolnshire.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor of the Lodge have nice views out of the garden and through the trees t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clubsecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were so impressed by this place. Beautiful, spacious room in the new Lodge building, quiet and peaceful with no road or generator noise (which has spoilt many a previous hotel). Warm, friendly, relaxed service and an exceptional dinner. They even brought to our attention an offer they had on entitling us to a free meal. All the staff seemed genuinely interested in us and our wellbeing. We were really sorry to leave and will be back like a shot should we end up in Lincs again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InfrequentTravelBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.4 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
984 reviews
0.3 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
410 reviews
11.6 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
319 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
12.0 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dower House Hotel

Address: Manor Estate, Woodhall Spa LN10 6PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range: $123 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dower House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect central village location, situated overlooking the Golf Course with the club house just two minutes walk. Recently completed extensive £1.5m refurbishment and the addition of "The Lodge", the Designer has retained all the original features of this beautiful Country House Hotel, including wonderful open fires in the Lounge & Bar. Seasons Restaurant offers a Full A La Carte Menu using locally sourced produce, with a selection of lighter meals that can be taken in Harrys Bar. Rooms have double aspect or bay windows with Twin or Super King Beds, en-suites with bath and power shower over- Suites have separate bath and "walk in" showers or book Room 16 for the freestanding double ended claw foot bath that you can really relax in. Even the complimentary in room "Butlers Trays" contain a jar of Shortbread which is freshly baked daily. Well positioned for visits to the Kinema in the Woods (2 mins), Memorial Flight (RAF Conningsby), local Antique centres, Lincolnshire Wolds, and historic Lincoln Cathedral. Hotel Car service to and from Airports & Newark, Grantham, Lincoln railway stations(charge applies). For Business, The Orangery, Oak Room and Garden Room provide the perfect solution for meetings / conferences or private Dining and the 24 hour reception allows for late arrivals or early starts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dower House Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing