We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know the cons...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anomabo Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anomabo
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Anomabo is always a gamble...
I've been going there for the past 8 years and It's a lovely place.
The beach is great, especially for bodyboarding The whole set-up of the rooms, the restaurant, and the general atmosphere keep you coming back.
However, one must bear in mind that most of the staff there are severely incompetent.
The breakfast is excellent....the rest of the food is very very average...and the service is very very VERY slow. I usually give the waiters my lunch order at 10:00, tip them, and tell them I want it ready by 1:00. Most of the times, I'll get it by 1:30 or 2:00. DARE to order when you sit down for lunch, and you're looking at a 3 hour wait EASY!!!
They always seem to mess up the bookings...even if you have paid before hand and had them confirm it by e-mail.
The fridges don't seem to cool so much. As a result, the drinks aren't very cold and the ice-cream is soup.
So why bother going? And why have I given it 4 stars?
Well......regardless of all the mess-ups that regularly make my blood pressure sky-rocket...I always end up having a good time...and find myself wanting to go back.

Room Tip: Go for the Beach-front Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimboGhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 87 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

For the price, this is a lovely hotel. The bungalows are clean and the showers run hot water at full force! AC, but no fans. However, the design of the bungalows made it that when I ran the AC when out for dinner, I could return and the room stayed cool all night without running the AC. You should know that there is sand everywhere - no paths for walking to the reception and the beach. The food was good, but the most expensive we had in Ghana. That being said, it was not expensive by Western standards. A taxi to the Cape Coast runs about 10 CDs, so it is convenient. The beach is good, but lots of waves and you have to wade out quite a way to get to deeper water. Up the beach from the hotel the beaches are dirty - but that is, sadly, not a surprise in Ghana.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a beautiful beach resort west of Accra. We had a bungalow. The morning on the beach was fabulous--few people except for fishermen and a handful of other tourists. The people were great. The breakfast was good. DId not have dinner--too tired.

Room Tip: Hard to see the room number for the bungalow at night. A flashlight/penlight would help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly7300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Really Great Venue
Really great staff
Really Great facilities
When I approached a manager in the parking bout a vehicle which had parked a number of vehicles in, he was not prepared to try to help us. Point bank refused to help us. We had to go around and try find the owner ourselves. One of the porters eventually helped us remove another vehicle to get out.
I believe the Managements service is well known.
So disappointing.

Room Tip: Be open minded. beachfront rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorianZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Where is the management?. I have been going to Anomabo beach resort since 1999, and to my disappointment it's going backwards instead to moving forward. Yes new rooms, tv, empty bar fridge, tea/coffee making service. These are only in the executive rooms which I had recently booked. But they were executivly dirty! The room smelled of mould, when I asked the room service to change our bed cover as it stunk he told me but they don't have another one, I asked him so you never clean these sheets?, I pulled it off and I was horrified to see the mould all on the bed cover.not oy that the floor was dirty, it seems it gets a slight sweep but no mopping. Bathroom tiles felt groose and felt dirty, food as usual not good, the shore has been eatn up so not much a shore line, dirty plastic bags and bottle and rubbish floats bye. They seem to make more rooms but no one is maintains them. I complain every time but this time I didn't as I see that management can't see the dirtyness and of course no compensation. The only reason we used to go is simply cause they have the upper hand that no one has done a resort like it so far.
If your going don't expect too much!.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susuAccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

When we first arrived, we were surprised with how nice the standard rooms looked.Then we discovered that the A/C did not work and that they were unable to fix it during our 4 day stay. Also, when it rained a leaking roof woke me up by dripping water on my face.

Food is so-so, and service during weekends is very slow and not very attentive. Saturday night dinner took 2 hours to prepare and we had to wait 50 minutes to even place an order. All four of us were in a bad mood after that.

A lot of things are constantly out of stock, which I am used to on lower standard places, but did not expect here.

The beach is decent, no service at all there but quite a nice setting. The water was full of rubbish and you had to go really far out to swim.

All in all: it looks nice, could be very good but we weren't really happy.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterevjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Perfect place on the beach. Clean, comfortable individual places to stay, one level, AC if you want, a very nice shower, beautiful beach, great food at the restaurant. We are still talking about the grouper with garlic sauce, months later. Definitely the place to go to relax away from the city. Felt like I was in a movie. My daughter absolutely loved it. Inexpensive. Power went out for a while, but that is not unusual for the area. Not far from Kakum National Park and Elmira Castle.

Room Tip: There are oceanfront rooms with porches literally right on the beach. We chose an AC cabin, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shnicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anomabo
12.5 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 9 in Cape Coast
34 reviews
15.5 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
13 mi away
Elmina Bay Resort
Elmina Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Elmina
243 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#5 of 9 in Cape Coast
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anomabo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anomabo Beach Resort

Address: Anomabo, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Western Region > Anomabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anomabo
Price Range: $93 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anomabo Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An African Village setting for a near perfect beach relaxation for the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Anomabo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anomabo Beach Hotel Anomabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing