We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHARMING AND WORTH THE DETOUR.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gavi
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“CHARMING AND WORTH THE DETOUR.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

From the moment we arrived we loved the hotel-view,service and outdoor space. The employees were very knowledgeable about the area. We went exploring by bike on their reommended rides. We ate in their fabulous restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susannyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    57
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
111
3
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed at Albergo L'Ostelliere for more than 2 weeks during the summer. I cannot describe how wonderful everything was. From the attention of the Hotel's employees, to the wine made on site, to the incredible restaurant, La Gallina", the Concierges, Sommelier, Maître d'Hôtel and others. The pool was just beautiful. The villa owners, the Moccagattas, went out of their way to make us feel at home and special.

We are going back this May and cannot wait to be pampered again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

I took my other half here for his birthday and what a wonderful place it was. We went at the end of May and the weather was perfect.

They have a lovely restaurant set in an old wine barn that looks out on the rolling vineyards and the wine cellars are directly underneath. This is actually a working vineyard and they organise wonderful wine tasting, the perfect way to spend an idyllic afternoon in Piedmont.

The room’s are perfect, cool, clam and well decorated. All the staff proud of the hotel and it show’s, they are knowledgeable, helpful and have fantastic local knowledge.

In fact we had such a wonderful stay here that when it came time to move on we drove to our next stop realised it was not a patch on here so phoned up and re-booked ourselves in. Yes, it spoils you for other places in the area……

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

A friend suggested a stopover at this hotel on a tour of Piedmont and we followed his advice. Wish we hadn't!

The pros first:
The setting is beautiful. Receptionists are nice and friendly, room and bathroom immaculate and view over the hills really beautiful.
Cons:
.The inside left us a bit cold, it’s crowded with knick knacks, paintings of chickens everywhere (we thought due to the Restaurant called galina?).
Room was really disappointing at 170 euros per night we were expecting something better, it was gloomy (the predominant inside colors are red and grey) VERY small and the bed as hard as stone and pillows filled with real pebbles! An extreme experience so to speak which left us with a bad backache the following morning !
Yes, there are amenities in the not so big bathroom but that alone isn’t enough, I’d say it’s the cherry on the cake, not the cake!

Dinner was good but overpriced and breakfast -included in price - was only cold buffet, we had to pay extra for hot (8 euros each for scrambled eggs!) .

All in all neither worth the price nor a stay, the place is in a nice setting but nothing worth seeing in the area, apart from Novi Ligure really worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Arrive in the middle of a hilly landscape between the vineyards, a beautiful hotel on top of a hill with stunning views, the ideal romantic getaway. Sipping glasses of fine local wine on the terrace during sundown is unforgettable. We were offered an upgrade to the suite for our honeymoon by very helpful and professional staff. The food in the restaurant is absolutely delicious. 5 minute stroll through a vineyard to get to the swimming pool is very charming.
Top quality hotel which is reflected in the price tag as, but it is definately worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

Fantasically welcoming relaxed hotel. The front desk were incredibly helpful, they upgraded our room to a larger one which would be large enough for our cot. When our son lost his toy, they gave him a replacement child's comic to make him feel better.
The decor is expensive and modern but also rustic - it looks great amongst the rolling vineyards.
Our only improvements would be the non-smiling restaurant staff and the huge distance to the pool - great for us to walk through dust path vineyards for 400 metres, but not for a three year old - definitely not push chair territory either!
Gavi itself is run down - the hotel is quite a way from the nearest town.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainInManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed 5 nights at l'Ostelliere de Monterotondo Gavi at end of July2009 and we were very impressed with the place. Staff was very nice and helpfull. We had a very clean and large room where, even with the aircon turned off, you would not feel too much the heatwave (above 30°C) that we had during most of our stay there. Surroundings were really lovely, with vineyards and hills around the hotel. The pool was good but its location required somehow 10' walking from the main building. Breakfast was nice and the restaurant proposed interesting and unique menus. Parking at the basement was excellent and we were so glad to always find our car in decent temperature before doing some trips to the neighbouring cities and villages. Very good location and easy access to the highways and close to several places of interest (e.g. Novi Ligure, Serravalle, Genova, Allessandria). A place to recommend!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gavi
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Bollina
Hotel Villa La Bollina
#1 of 2 in Serravalle Scrivia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Al Castello
Hotel Al Castello
#1 of 2 in Gavi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Pomela
Villa Pomela
#1 of 4 in Novi Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Serravalle Golf Hotel
Serravalle Golf Hotel
#2 of 2 in Serravalle Scrivia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante
Hotel Diamante
#1 of 14 in Alessandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rocca Civalieri
Rocca Civalieri
#1 of 1 in Quattordio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort

Property: Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort
Address: Via Monterotondo 56 | Villa Sparina, 15066 Gavi, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Gavi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gavi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4 star hotel is developed from the restoration of its original structure of the old farm house dating back to the 17th century. It was once used as home for the farmers that worked in the fields of the estate. L’Ostelliere is located on the Monterotondo hill of Gavi in a predominant position and faces a spectacular amphitheatre of vineyards and woods and it reflects the territory for its simplicity, with the utilization of authentic materials. Everything contributes to make a very unique and unforgettable experience: refined environments, a quiet, peaceful and elegant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo l`Ostelliere Hotel Gavi
Albergo l Ostelliere Gavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing