We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gavi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Introduced by tasting the wines of Villa Sparina at home, we planned to have part of our holidays at their resort. It met all expectations we had. As their Gavi di Gavi white wine is very well, the location is even better. The resort is placed on a hill, surrounded by vineyards. The garden invites to relax. Descending the hill, the swimming pool area is protected against the wind, quiet with the exceptation of the sound of grazing sheaps.
Every space is decorated in refined Italian style. The restaurant, situated in the dry sanding, provides excellent dishes.
Barolo can be visited, after an hour driving.
We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 299 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

In the middle of the winefields you find this magnificent SPA place. In everything from excellently decorated rooms, fantastic restaurant with great italian cuisine as well as decoration of the hotel, the place is best-in-class. I would go back any time.

Room Tip: The Breakfast is of absoluetely excellent quality, however, choice is not huge if you are really hun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived from Genoa meandering down country lanes memorized with the rolling hills, bare wintry forests and vineyards. The resort isn't as tucked away as I had expected but, even so, it did feel like a country estate. From the moment we arrived we felt at home, even with our small dog in tow. Our junior suite was a corner room with gorgeous views that consisted of a bedroom, small entry living room area with balcony and a large bath with jacuzzi tub. The color scheme is muted and all I wanted to do was melt into the surroundings but instead we ventured downstairs to the cellars for a tour and wine tasting. The cellars are not to be missed! Our guide was informative and we chatted about the history of the family, the vineyard and the wines. Our lazy afternoon turned into evening and we strolled across to their restaurant, La Gallina, for a lovely meal. The room was dimly lit and filled with candles. You're surrounded by glass walls so being enveloped in the night's darkness adds to the romantic feel. The risotto was outstanding; but the pork belly with a sprinkling of candied vegetables missed the mark. All in all the meal was very good though and the service impeccable, with a knowledgable wine steward who offered perfect suggestions to pair with our meal.

The bed was so comfortable we almost didn't make it to breakfast. I could just envision eating outdoors, but with the wintry weather breakfast was served in La Gallina. During the day the restaurant interior still shines as it felt bright and airy with country touches, a completely different mood from the evening meal. The breakfast buffet featured local cheeses, cold meats, breads, jams chestnuts, honey, fruits and yogurts..truly delicious! The waiter brought us several rounds of cappuccinos so we sat and enjoyed the views after breakfast.

After breakfast came massages. There is one small massage room adjacent to a well used hallway so we could hear guests coming and going, not the most relaxing feeling. The massage table is that, a padded flat table, which made it difficult to turn your head from side to side as there was no way to lie face down. Still, the masseur was charming, and gave a relaxing massage, yet nothing special. This is the one thing I will skip on our next stay!

We fell in love with Villa Sparina and are looking forward to our return in the warmer months to enjoy the grounds, the pool, outdoor meals and evening cocktails. The hotel feels intimate so for couples its a lovely retreat, but I can imagine how memories can be made here....with the friendly staff, beautiful grounds and impressive wine cellars it would be the perfect setting for a wedding, anniversary or any special occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location is truly beautiful. The rooms are comfortable yet rather small. There's no elevator in the left wing. The staff is extremely kind although a bit vague in certain aspects.
That's why I do not rate it excellent.
The Restaurant La Gallina alone is worth the trip: a stylish ex hayloft, elegantly decorated serving excellent food. The view of the nearby hills is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Overall verdict: We've now been at this hotel several times. We keep coming back as it represents both a unique opportunity to truly get to know the Gavi region and its flavors, and to really have a feeling for the real italian lifestyle and values. Everything here is genuine: the food (best selection of ingredients - always locally sourced); the people (the most authentic and genuine hospitality one can get); the premises (built and run with respect for the original environment). The owners make every effort to keep improving theirs guests experience.
The position of this resort makes for an idyllic vacation. You will want to come back for more
Premises: the resort is really well kept; rooms are extremely clean and well appointed, and even the less expensive ones offer space to move around and comfort; the ground is manicured and improved continuously with seasonal vegetation; the pool is not very far and the walk through the vineyards to reach it, makes it for another unique experience (on the way there you might be distracted and decide to stop by the small wodded area which offers secluded wood platforms overlooking the valley and furnished with cushions where you can doze off while caressed by the gentle wind). Also not to be missed are drinks before dinner in the garden situated near the restaurant overlooking the valley. Did I mention to book a tour of the old cellar?
Restaurant: a unique gastronomical experience with a menu constantly modified accordingly to the season; The chef is not shy about proposing dishes from the local tradition (we personally are tired of fusion cuisine and modern reinterpretations; when we come to places such as this one, we want to eat accordingly to the local taste). The service offered at the tables is impeccable and flawless
Position: Nestled on the hills of the Gavi region, this resort is close to larger cities like Milan and Genova, but we would not miss a trip to the small villages nearby to discover their history and traditions.
Staff: it seemed to us that only the most professional personnel is hired by the owners (mediocrity is not an option when it comes to service offered at this resort). From the moment you make the reservation to the time you check out you get the best service and attention one can imagine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caglbllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely hotel, and welcoming staff. Good breakfast. Hotel restaurant for evening meal was great, and house Gavi highly recommended. BUT for a hotel of this standard a big drawback is that despite boasting air-conditioning, the air-conditioning system was totally inadequate, and the rooms were uncomfortably hot to sleep in. I managed to get a ventilator fan which made all the difference. If the hotel wants 5 stars, then it must sort this out. Also for 5 stars I would expect a few small, inexpensive touches for example a bottle of water for guests in the room, a makeup/shaving mirror in the bathroom, and brighter lighting in the bedroom. The swimming pools is a long way from the hotel, and the gym equipment is minimal.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of vineyards, and not blocked by the restaurant building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is just faboulus. We were on a week bicycling in Piemonte and this was the second stop. It could not have been better. Good service, friendly staff, very nice rooms, lovely restaurant with a view that was breath taking.
Would come againg

Room Tip: Just enjoy the place and ask for a tour in the wine cellar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanneVetaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gavi
1.8 mi away
Hotel Al Castello
Hotel Al Castello
#1 of 2 in Gavi
338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Bollina
Hotel Villa La Bollina
#1 of 2 in Serravalle Scrivia
213 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Pomela
Villa Pomela
#1 of 4 in Novi Ligure
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Serravalle Golf Hotel
Serravalle Golf Hotel
#2 of 2 in Serravalle Scrivia
137 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Alessandria
Hotel Diamante Alessandria
#1 of 14 in Alessandria
716 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rocca Civalieri
Rocca Civalieri
#1 of 1 in Quattordio
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort

Address: Via Monterotondo 56 | Villa Sparina, 15066 Gavi, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Gavi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gavi
Price Range: $196 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4 star hotel is developed from the restoration of its original structure of the old farm house dating back to the 17th century. It was once used as home for the farmers that worked in the fields of the estate. L’Ostelliere is located on the Monterotondo hill of Gavi in a predominant position and faces a spectacular amphitheatre of vineyards and woods and it reflects the territory for its simplicity, with the utilization of authentic materials. Everything contributes to make a very unique and unforgettable experience: refined environments, a quiet, peaceful and elegant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo L'Ostelliere Villa Sparina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo l`Ostelliere Hotel Gavi
Albergo l Ostelliere Gavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing