We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
228
76
21
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
76
21
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la gallina wine tasting working vineyard rolling vineyards charming hotel beautiful setting luxury hotel swimming pool couple of days reception area fantastic location great dinner incredible food small things take advantage wonderful wedding special events
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 334 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

In the middle of the winefields you find this magnificent SPA place. In everything from excellently decorated rooms, fantastic restaurant with great italian cuisine as well as decoration of the hotel, the place is best-in-class. I would go back any time.

Room tip: The Breakfast is of absoluetely excellent quality, however, choice is not huge if you are really hungry.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived from Genoa meandering down country lanes memorized with the rolling hills, bare wintry forests and vineyards. The resort isn't as tucked away as I had expected but, even so, it did feel like a country estate. From the moment we arrived we felt at home, even with our small dog in tow. Our junior suite was a corner room with gorgeous views that consisted of a bedroom, small entry living room area with balcony and a large bath with jacuzzi tub. The color scheme is muted and all I wanted to do was melt into the surroundings but instead we ventured downstairs to the cellars for a tour and wine tasting. The cellars are not to be missed! Our guide was informative and we chatted about the history of the family, the vineyard and the wines. Our lazy afternoon turned into evening and we strolled across to their restaurant, La Gallina, for a lovely meal. The room was dimly lit and filled with candles. You're surrounded by glass walls so being enveloped in the night's darkness adds to the romantic feel. The risotto was outstanding; but the pork belly with a sprinkling of candied vegetables missed the mark. All in all the meal was very good though and the service impeccable, with a knowledgable wine steward who offered perfect suggestions to pair with our meal.

The bed was so comfortable we almost didn't make it to breakfast. I could just envision eating outdoors, but with the wintry weather breakfast was served in La Gallina. During the day the restaurant interior still shines as it felt bright and airy with country touches, a completely different mood from the evening meal. The breakfast buffet featured local cheeses, cold meats, breads, jams chestnuts, honey, fruits and yogurts..truly delicious! The waiter brought us several rounds of cappuccinos so we sat and enjoyed the views after breakfast.

After breakfast came massages. There is one small massage room adjacent to a well used hallway so we could hear guests coming and going, not the most relaxing feeling. The massage table is that, a padded flat table, which made it difficult to turn your head from side to side as there was no way to lie face down. Still, the masseur was charming, and gave a relaxing massage, yet nothing special. This is the one thing I will skip on our next stay!

We fell in love with Villa Sparina and are looking forward to our return in the warmer months to enjoy the grounds, the pool, outdoor meals and evening cocktails. The hotel feels intimate so for couples its a lovely retreat, but I can imagine how memories can be made here....with the friendly staff, beautiful grounds and impressive wine cellars it would be the perfect setting for a wedding, anniversary or any special occasion.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location is truly beautiful. The rooms are comfortable yet rather small. There's no elevator in the left wing. The staff is extremely kind although a bit vague in certain aspects.
That's why I do not rate it excellent.
The Restaurant La Gallina alone is worth the trip: a stylish ex hayloft, elegantly decorated serving excellent food. The view of the nearby hills is gorgeous.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Overall verdict: We've now been at this hotel several times. We keep coming back as it represents both a unique opportunity to truly get to know the Gavi region and its flavors, and to really have a feeling for the real italian lifestyle and values. Everything here is genuine: the food (best selection of ingredients - always locally sourced); the people (the most authentic and genuine hospitality one can get); the premises (built and run with respect for the original environment). The owners make every effort to keep improving theirs guests experience.
The position of this resort makes for an idyllic vacation. You will want to come back for more
Premises: the resort is really well kept; rooms are extremely clean and well appointed, and even the less expensive ones offer space to move around and comfort; the ground is manicured and improved continuously with seasonal vegetation; the pool is not very far and the walk through the vineyards to reach it, makes it for another unique experience (on the way there you might be distracted and decide to stop by the small wodded area which offers secluded wood platforms overlooking the valley and furnished with cushions where you can doze off while caressed by the gentle wind). Also not to be missed are drinks before dinner in the garden situated near the restaurant overlooking the valley. Did I mention to book a tour of the old cellar?
Restaurant: a unique gastronomical experience with a menu constantly modified accordingly to the season; The chef is not shy about proposing dishes from the local tradition (we personally are tired of fusion cuisine and modern reinterpretations; when we come to places such as this one, we want to eat accordingly to the local taste). The service offered at the tables is impeccable and flawless
Position: Nestled on the hills of the Gavi region, this resort is close to larger cities like Milan and Genova, but we would not miss a trip to the small villages nearby to discover their history and traditions.
Staff: it seemed to us that only the most professional personnel is hired by the owners (mediocrity is not an option when it comes to service offered at this resort). From the moment you make the reservation to the time you check out you get the best service and attention one can imagine.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caglbllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely hotel, and welcoming staff. Good breakfast. Hotel restaurant for evening meal was great, and house Gavi highly recommended. BUT for a hotel of this standard a big drawback is that despite boasting air-conditioning, the air-conditioning system was totally inadequate, and the rooms were uncomfortably hot to sleep in. I managed to get a ventilator fan which made all the difference. If the hotel wants 5 stars, then it must sort this out. Also for 5 stars I would expect a few small, inexpensive touches for example a bottle of water for guests in the room, a makeup/shaving mirror in the bathroom, and brighter lighting in the bedroom. The swimming pools is a long way from the hotel, and the gym equipment is minimal.

Room tip: Ask for room with a view of vineyards, and not blocked by the restaurant building.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews