We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a delightful town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ristorante Albergo La Casa di Gianna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gerace
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a delightful town”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Gerace is one of my favorite towns in Italy, and this is the best hotel in town, just off the main piazza. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable, and the restaurant is quite good. The best thing about it is the location. Gerace is a safe, serene town -- molto tranquillo, as the locals would say -- with lots of charm and a very interesting history. The people are especially friendly here, and I made several new friends during a short stay. I want to go back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobConklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
21
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
124 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

There are great views and the staff is very pleasant. One big issue is the lack of internet connectivity which needs to be addressed. As well, the rooms could be updated with flat screen TV's for instance and perhaps DVD players. There really is not much to do in Gerace at night, so a few more modern amenities would make this into a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The hotel is everything it says it is, from the moment you arrive you feel in luxury, tucked away in a side street off of the main Piazza it is charming, cool and you feel that someone has spent time decorating this hotel with style.

The hotel is superb but and there is a but, it is set within the picturesque town of Gerace which sounds wonderful until you go and buy a drinks or buy an ice cream when it becomes a question of how much money they can extract from you i.e.the same drink at the same bar at the same table at a similar time, three evenings with three prices ranging from 3 to 4.75 euros.

As I have said the hotel is wonderful but because of the other issues outside of the hotel I will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laser8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this fairy tale village, which Flying Owl exhorts those willing to get out from under the Tuscan sun and explore the rest of Italy to visit. Whilst not undiscovered, especially by Northern Europeans, Gerace in late March was very quiet and pure magic. The undisturbed architectural fabric of this place is a wonder, and it has been spared the theme park feel of places like Cortona. Genteel dilapidation is the order of the day. Every meal we had, from the local wine bar to the restaurant at Casa di Gianna (with its selection of the best Calabrian wines) was delicious. The hotel itself is extremely charming, well cared for and well staffed. Simon was quite helpful and speaks excellent English. Be aware that English is not as widely spoken as in the north so haul out your phrasebook, roll your Rs and smile broadly. The locals are extremely friendly. We did not have time to delve into the lush, surrounding countryside or to see if there are any secret havens from the concrete sprawl along the shoreline, but I strongly suspect there are more travel treasures to uncover in this area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Beautiful rooms, full of character, in an old house right in the centre of Gerace. Perfectly located for a romantic stroll to the city wall with amazing views to the Med. Pleasant service and very clean rooms. We didn't try the restaurant as it was a little beyond our budget. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riah16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Hood, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I don't know what the reviewer from 2005 was complaining about, but he/she must have stayed in a different hotel than we did.

On our trip earlier this month, we needed a place from which to stage a drive to the Sicily ferry at Villa San Giovanni, and the Guide Michelin showed Gerace as one of the better geographical locations from which to originate.

La casa di gianna, also recommended by the Guide, turned out to be a magical rest stop. At La casa, we were treated royally, especially by one of the staff, Signore Domenico Luciano. Domenico knew everything about every place. His recommendations were spot on.

In addition, the food was fantastic, the room was spacious, even the narrowness of the cobble-stoned streets and the shortage of parking spots proved manageable, with Domenico's help.

Perched atop a steep ridgeline in Calabria, from where the scenery is gorgeous and there are 2 entirely different routes to the Straits of Messina, La casa di gianna was straight out of a wonderful dream.

And to the disappointed reviewer from 2005: Go back to Gerace. Stay at La casa again. Ask for Domenico and request the Junior Suite. You won't be disappointed this time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

A lovely hotel with superb fittings, in a wonderful setting in the beautiful town of Gerace. Rooms are well equipped, the staff are friendly, although most have very limited English and no German - we had to help a very pleasant German couple order tea for breakfast! The restaurant and pizzeria at the sister hotel is very reasonable with excellent food, and the views from its terrace are breathtaking, especially at night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichCarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerace
8.1 mi away
Parco dei Principi Hotel
Parco dei Principi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roccella Ionica
241 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#1 of 2 in Siderno
296 reviews
9.2 mi away
Club Hotel Kennedy
Club Hotel Kennedy
#1 of 3 in Roccella Ionica
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Afrodite
Hotel Villa Afrodite
#1 of 1 in Bovalino Marina
95 reviews
18.6 mi away
Il Partenone Resort Hotel
21.9 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#1 of 4 in Gambarie
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ristorante Albergo La Casa di Gianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ristorante Albergo La Casa di Gianna

Property: Ristorante Albergo La Casa di Gianna
Address: Via Paolo Frasca, 4, 89040 Gerace, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Gerace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gerace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ristorante Albergo La Casa di Gianna 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deeply connected with the surrealistic atmosphere of Gerace, you'll find the hotel-restaurant "La Casa di Gianna", an ancient gentilitial house, which still keeps the charm of a private house where the guests are welcomed warmly how normaly is used just for friends. The elegance, the sobriety of style and the functional rooms make "La Casa di Gianna" a reference point to enjoy beautiful moments of peace, in an oasis of past times. "La Galleria" and the "Saletta Federica", ideal places to take a drink, to listen music or to read a book near the fireplace will make you feel as at your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Ristorante Albergo La Casa di Gianna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing