We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel a little shabby in places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Massillan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uchaux
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel a little shabby in places”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The grounds and the chateau general areas are very pretty. However our bedrroom was in need of an update.- looked a bit shabby The bathroom was fabulous except for the dripping toilet and the plug socket that pulled out of the wall with the plug on the hairdryer!!
The staff on reception were extremely helpful and recommended good restaurants and an excellent wine tour.
Breakfast was really nice - beautifully presented and eggs cooked to order perfectly.
Only one other moan- when ordering predinner drinks we were told they had no vodka and they still didnt have any the next night.
We still had a great time and would recommend highly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sightseeer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    43
    19
    22
    7
See reviews for
36
161
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed here at Chateau de Massillan with girlfriends and we were made so welcome by attentive and professional staff. Hotel beautifully decorated and really comfortable. Enjoyed the food so much ate in at hotel 3 of the 4 nights we were there. Explored local villages and vineyards and cycled around the area close to hotel. Gardens and pool lovely. Thoroghly recommend it for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good - not very large but nicely furnished. two fo the rooms have a terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The grounds and chateau itself are worth at least 3 stars. The very responsive, attentive staff are worth another 2. Sadly, the rooms - considering what you pay - take away one and the restaurant is a neutral.

We stayed there for an anniversary. Nestled away in a wooded dale, next to a pond, the hotel is perfect for a relax-and-do-nothing holiday and if I were planning a wedding for one of my children it would be near the top of my list. I would caution, however, that if you are looking for a hotel with activities and amenities - a spa, tennis court, even a gym - you won't find it here.

The grandeur of the property hits you as soon as you get out of the car and stroll over the bridge. The original fairy tale of beauty and the beast was set in Avignon and one can see where illustrators through the years have drawn their inspiration.

I can't say enough about the staff. They went to extreme lengths to satisfy our every whim. They reserved a top class restaurant in Avignon for us and did everything we asked them.

But the room was just shy of cheesy. The carpets and beds were more suitable to a Novotel and the bathroom - considering how expensive the room was - was just about functional.

The food at the hotel restaurant was fine. Again, i can't compliment the service enough. The food was hearty, the portions respectable, but in a province of outstanding cuisine, it didn't jump out at me.

I would say its a beautiful hotel, graciously staffed. It would take only a little investment to bring the furnishings in the rooms to a level of quality one would expect from a hotel this expensive.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tvikingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

When looking for a place for 4 friends to get away and catch up - we choose chateau de Massillan.
We were not disappointed - from the moment we arrived to the moment we left - we loved every minute. It is beautifully decorated and the grounds are immaculate. We went off during the day to explore the vineyards and back in the afternoon to sit by the lovely pool in the walled garden and sipped rose and chatted away until the sun went down. Peter and his wife run a special place with excellent staff - special thanks to matt and david and as Matt says if you dont visit chateau neuf de pape - it is like visiting Paris and not seeing the Eiffel Tower! The food was excellent so we ate in every night. The chateau also has bikes that you can go off on a bike ride through the local vineyard or have a picnic by their little lake - very romantic. You don't go there for the night life (there isn't any) ... Just go there and Be ...
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I highly recommend this place. Altogether, we had a truly wonderful stay.

Building: very charming castle that looks a bit medieval in a good way. You immediately feel that you've arrived at a charming French countryside castle, with lovely round towers and herbs growing in front of the main entrance. It's quite a small and intimate castle. The courtyard is lovely, as is the pool area. The interior has been carefully refurbished in a way that preserves original structures at the same time as you can easily tell that the place has been taken care of by someone who knows a thing or two about interior decoration. They have carefully managed to refurbish in a charming way that respects the history of the building - none of that "contemporary but is starting to feel very 2007" decoration that many boutique hotels suffer from.

Service: very friendly staff who are approachable and helpful. This includes service at the dining table which is professional but laid back enough to make you feel at home. Just how I like it.

Dining: excellent. Much more so than we expected. The level of ambition in the kitchen is clearly very high, and they deliver. The level of cooking is perfect for foodies - very well made and tasty without the bells and whistles of Michelin-style cooking (which is getting a bit old). You get set menus but you can also choose a' la carte. The menus are very good value for money as well. Of the three nights we spent at Massillan, we actually had dinner at the castle all three nights - we've never done that before, which probably says something. The wine list is extensive; some wines are available by the glass and they are very good wines.

Breakfast: While the selection isn't huge, I much prefer quality over quantity, and that's what you get. From the artisan sheep yoghurt to the delicate croissants and the made-to-order omelette with garden herbs, we were very pleased. The only thing missing is freshly squeezed orange juice. Other than that, all good.

You can't go wrong with Massillan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

On our annual Culture Trip we stayed for 3 nights in the castle and used it as a base to check out the region and its vineries. It was a shame, because we didn't have that much time to spend at the castle and its stunning garden.

We had twice dinner at the hotel and the food was nicely presented and tasted great. Last minute changes were handled as daily routine.

The rooms were all very nice and unique

We can really recommend this hotel and its restaurant. Peter, the owner, was great and helped us even, when we spontaniously organized a cocktail in the castle court with local rosé sparkling wine. Even we have been a group of more than 20, all worked well and we could park our "small" bus close by.

Room Tip: All are great... They are all different - unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erlenbach_zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our four night stay at Chateau de Massillan was to celebrate our upcoming anniversary. My initial experience booking the room, as well as the beautiful images and description on the website and Mr. and Mrs. Smith guide gave us high hopes of what to expect - and we weren't disappointed... in any way whatsoever.
The route through the small towns and villages was easy on a well indicated route and seeing the hotel for the first time was breathtaking. The grounds and gardens are a wonderful balance of careful maintenance and wild Provencal beauty.
We were greeted by the owner, Peter who took time to inform, advise and generally chat to make us feel welcome. Our room was very good, a decent balance of period furniture and contemporary design. Oh, and with a spectacular bathroom built into one of the turrets. We decided however to upgrade after the first night to their Superior room (more because of the occasion rather than being unhappy with the standard) and were so pleased we had. A beautiful, light, spacious room with a private terrace overlooking the inner courtyard.
The service was quiet, respectful, precise and always friendly. The entire team (I really mean the whole team and I won't mention names) were excellent and they should be proud of their professionalism.
The dinner service, quality of food and standard of cooking was superb - and the wine-pairing was a great way to show regional specialties at their best. Breakfast was fresh, well presented and abundant!
We were sad to drive away. Our thanks go to all for making this a memorable stay.

I have a feeling we will see them all again....

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms as far as I could tell. If your finances allow, upgrade. The money will event...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonMarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchaux
7.9 mi away
Villa Augusta
Villa Augusta
#1 of 2 in Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux
276 reviews
7.6 mi away
Le Mas de l'Olivier
Le Mas de l'Olivier
#1 of 3 in Pont-Saint-Esprit
128 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Campanile Bollene
Campanile Bollene
#2 of 10 in Bollene
158 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel le XVIIIeme
Hotel le XVIIIeme
#1 of 10 in Bollene
68 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Roches
Hostellerie Chateau des Fines Ro...
#1 of 4 in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Massillan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Massillan

Property: Chateau de Massillan
Address: 730 Chemin de Massillan, 84100 Uchaux, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Uchaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uchaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Massillan 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Massillan is a small Luxury Hotel and Gastronomic restaurant situated in the heart of Provence's famous Cotes du Rhone wine region. In 1550 is was owned by Diane de Poitiers the famous lover of King Henry II, in 2001 it was transformed by it's Interior designer owners stylishly mixing the old with the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau de Massillan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Massillan Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing