We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wabatongushi Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Errington's Wilderness Island Resort
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So much more”
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We booked this vacaction for our 12 year old grandson. He wanted to ride a train and to go fishing in Canada. Sounded like a good solution for his trip. I don't fish but hoped there was something I could do. Wow, more than we could have hoped for! The people were wonderful, the food was great (too much of it sometimes), the accomodations neat, clean attractive, fishing was good and fun (I understand) but the surprise was the wildlife. I intended to read a lot but became so in awe of the loons, ducks, eagles and so on, that I sat on the porch and watched their antics. We did see bears but gratefully, not on our island. Don't miss shore lunches. The first time ever I wasn't ready to come home from a vacation. You have never heard that from this Texan. Thanks for a great vacation. Beth Wells

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank GrandmotherTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2007

Just completed our 11th annual trip to Errington's. The scenery is stunning. Forest or lake as far as you can see, crisp clean air, lots of wildlife. Fishing is great, and no, I won't tell you where our favorite holes are, although Doris will tell you where she would go.

We choose the housekeeping plan, cooking our own meals, but we do go to the lodge for dinner once during the week. The cabins are very comfortable, with indoor plumbing, cooking, a refrigerator and propane grill. As a reformed back-packer, it sure looks like the Ritz to me. Everything is well maintained and any problems that do happen are addressed promptly.

What really sets Errington's apart from other places is Al and Doris and their staff. Everyone is cheerful and friendly and they make you feel like your vacation is their most important priority. Highest recommendations for a 'get-away-from-it-all' vacation. No cell phone service, no internet, no tv, no radio, no cable. If there is a newspaper in the lodge, it will be at least a week old. Truly wonderful.

  • Liked — Staff, isolation.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank readerUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

our visit was one of the nicest trips i've taken anywhere. we were treated like kings by all the staff and the food was great. when they realized we were slugs and would sleep a little later, they carried breakfast over from the lodge to our room every morning.
the lake, the scenery, the wildlife and the fishing were great, the boats were nice and started easy. we had the option of shore lunches, where they cooked our catch on a secluded lake island for lunch, and those were incredible meals, delicious and in such pristine locations.
i had never been to a fishing type lodge before and this was a great experience. i can't wait to be able to go there again.

  • Liked — friendly staff, great food, incredible location, nature and fishing
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank heresnookysnooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2007

We've been coming up to Al's place for many years now. We've seen the many positive changes he's made -- all for the better.

I'd say that out of the last 15 years I've been up there 5 or 6 times. Other family members can boast the same record.

It's a proven and pleasant respite. Lucky for me, we've got two cabins reserved for June 2007. Twelve of us will be up there for 4 days of fishing and family reunion.

If it's as good as it's been in past years, I'll be a happy traveller.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2006

As Papaw60 explained above, Erringtons is an excellent place to stay for great fishing, great views of wildlife, and treated like you are the most important person they have all season!

The boats are excellent, the dock staff give 125% to make sure you have good equipment and will answer any questions you have.

A couple pointers:
Come prepaed to relax. While the cabins are not the Ritz Charles, they are very comfortable and make you feel like you are the only peope in camp.

Bring quarters. The minnow races are a MUST!

Be prepared to catch more fish than you can imagine and I would hope you throw most back. My sons and I are extreemly lcky to have a grandpa who we can share this trip with and I hope I can o this with my grandsons!

Bring a camera! You will want pictures to get you until the next time you can go!

  • Liked — Being with my family...
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — A camera!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Upward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2006

Our family of 2 adults and 2 girls (ages 15 & 8) had a super time during our 7day stay. We took a float plane from Hawk Junction to get to the island and took the train out. Both were hassle-free. The food was excellent. Good food (nothing "bistro") that all of us enjoyed. We opted for the family-plan that had three meals a day. We are big eaters, but it was really too much food per day. Next time, we'd opt for fewer meals per day. For activities, we just hung out, doing pretty much nothing. Read books, played card games, girls swam in the frigid water, walked the islands. Observed nature. Good bird watching. Fished everyday, didn't catch much, but oh well. Saw the bears a couple of times. It was remarkable to be so close, yet still at a safe distance. Didn't see any moose. Our girls got along very well with Al and Doris' kids. Nice folks, all of them. Good staff too. Helpful. Nice cabin. Rustic, nothing fancy, but warm, dry, and a good hot shower. Not musty at all. Nice wood stove with plenty of chopped wood. One electric outlet; gas lights.

Our only disappointment was the "roughing it in velvet" slogan. We felt it was more like "roughing it in wool." (Warm and toasty, but a bit scratchy some times.) Our king size bed was really a twin bed separated, then put side by side. My husband got the mattress and I got the box spring. We also had septic system problems that led to raw sewage leaking up from the ground surrounding our cabin. It took a couple of days for the staff to repair it; we would have preferred immediately.

Overall, we would absolutely recommend Erringtons. It is a bit pricey (comparable to Disney) but we feel that the one on one time with our daughters, free from all distractions, was well worth the price. Seeing the northern lights for the first time, together, while roasting marshmallows at the lake was priceless.

  • Liked — It was VERY remote
  • Disliked — The septic tank problem and the uncomfortable bed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring hiking boots. Walking to and from your cabin has uneven terrain.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MistietheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabatong, Owner at Errington's Wilderness Island Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2007
We regret the time it took to repair the sewage problem. We try to get to problems as quickly as we can but being remote it is sometimes difficult to get materials on a timely basis. Since the repair there has not been a problem.
Thank You - Al & Doris Errington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2006

My daughter and I have stayed at the Errington's for one fabulous week every summer for the past 7 years. It has become our special place just to relax and to get in touch with nature and with ourselves.

We are nature lovers and enjoy taking the canoe out for long trips on the lake with its various bays and passages just to look at the wildlife. We always enjoy watching the loons and the moose (our favourites). Each summer we see eagles, beavers and bears as well. The birds are also spectacular, especially in the spring and early summer. On some of our trips we have seen the northern lights. The night sky is really fantastic as there are no city lights anywhere nearby to obscure the view.

When we stay at the Errington's, we rent a cabin and enjoy doing our own cooking (mostly we barbecue). The cabin is very comfortable and has a stove and oven, a fridge, a wood-burning fireplace, cozy bedrooms and a nice size dining area. The main lodge serves very good food if you decide to buy a meal plan.

What makes this place very special for us are the Errington's themselves and their staff. Everyone is so friendly and warm and willing to help make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Al and Doris are very lovely, genuine people who are always willing to take the time to provide us with the latest news about where we should paddle to see wildlife or to share other interesting information.

In short, this is a wonderful place if you want to get far away from the city and feel close to nature but still have a very comfortable place to stay with warm and friendly people as your hosts! My daughter and I will continue to make yearly treks to the Errington's as long as we are able to!

  • Liked — location - lots of wildlife to see; cabins were very comfortable and well equipped
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — If unfamiliar with using a motor boat, ask for instructions before setting out!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rsm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wabatongushi Lake
20.4 mi away
Waterfalls Lodge
Waterfalls Lodge
#1 of 5 in Spanish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
#2 of 2 in Algoma Mills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
14.6 mi away
Laughing Waters
Laughing Waters
#1 of 2 in Algoma Mills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Dunlop Lake Lodge
Dunlop Lake Lodge
#2 of 2 in Elliot Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
18.5 mi away
Auberge Eldo Inn
Auberge Eldo Inn
#4 of 5 in Blind River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
19.0 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Blind River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errington's Wilderness Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errington's Wilderness Island Resort

Property: Errington's Wilderness Island Resort
Address: Island on Lake Wabatongushi | at Mile 206 on the Algoma Central Railway, Wabatongushi Lake, Ontario P6B-6H4 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wabatongushi Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wabatongushi Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable lakeside cabins and suites, fine dining and courteous service on a secluded island easily accessible via the Algoma Central Railway or float plane. Our resort is on Lake Wabatongushi in a 3,000 square mile Wildlife Sanctuary. Sightings of wildlife such as moose, black bear, loons and bald eagles, are numerous. The only hunting allowed since 1925 is with a camera. Excellent fishing for walleye and northern pike. Also canoeing, kayaking, hiking and swimming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Errington`s Wilderness Island Hotel Wabatongushi Lake
Erringtons Wilderness Island Hotel
Errington's Wilderness Island Resort Wabatongushi Lake, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing