We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Corte Altavilla
Nearby Hotels
Dimora delle Badesse(Conversano)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo d'Erchia(Conversano)
$94
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Dimora Nonna Rosa(Conversano)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Iulius Suite & Spa(Conversano)
$152
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dimore Dei Balzi(Conversano)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B Spartano(Conversano)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B Dimora Francesca(Conversano)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Quattrolinari(Conversano)(Great Value!)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
327
228
83
45
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
228
83
45
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townrailway stationtasting menubeautiful townhotel restauranttop flooryour luggageroof terracechurch bellsunique hotelsteep stepsroom was spaciousbreakfast was excellentjacuzzi bathpaid parkingdouble bedspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 698 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked a 5 night "foodie break" through Secret Escapes / Discovery Collection which was based at Corte Altavilla. Sadly the hotel was disappointing - very few amenities in the room (no kettle / mugs / coffee etc), bed was rock hard (as other guests mentioned as well) and room was generally very basic and bathroom very dated (we stayed in a Junior Suite). Location is good, however, and restaurant OK (for dinner) though breakfast was very simple and quite plain - often with much of the selection already finished / not re-stocked. We had expected a lot more....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjameslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, may I thank you for your constructive feedback.

I would like to bring to your attention that our hotel is part of Ecolabel. This is a program providing eco-friendly hotel product, which dictate we must not use single-dose sachets of any kind.
Please rest assured that the reason for this is purely an environmental one - the hotel is not saving on the cost of coffee.

Whilst I sympathize that the decor of your room may not have conformed to a modern space, Corte Altavilla is centuries old hence any refurbishment is very much restricted both by the building's original features as well as by the authorities (Ministry of Monuments).

I am however surprised by your comments relating your breakfast experience with us as we don't seem to have ever had an issue with food and beverage restocking up. If however you went for breakfast after 9:30am (autumn time), which is when the breakfast room is closed, you would not have found the full breakfast spread.

It is regrettable that you did not bring your discontent to our attention as we would have made sure you received the high standard of service we like to deliver to all our guests.

I do hope you will return to Conversano to provide us with an opportunity to welcoming you back to Corte Altavilla once more.

With best wishes,
Letizia Valenzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent two nights at the Corte Altavilla after it first coming to our attention via Secret Escapes and decided to spend a couple of nights here as we liked the look of both the hotel and Conversano. Both were charming. On arrival, we were shown to our room, which we were not entirely happy with, but were quickly shown another one which we found much more pleasing and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and there were only small things which we felt stopped the hotel rating from being a 5. We were using public transport and felt that local knowledge in this respect could have been better and, instead of the photocopied maps, a proper one from the tourist information would have been nicer.

That said, we had a lovely time there and found it a gorgeous setting and convenient for visiting sights such as Alberobello, easily reached by train.

Room Tip: We had junior suite room l06 which had a window overlooking the entrance and cathedral at the end of the street. However, it might not suit if you have a problem with stairs. Don't know what the standard rooms are like but expect they are fine.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boo-Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Captivating Conversano... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Charming old town with large central square and abundant bars and cafe's. The old monastery was open as well as the Church, it was a special 'Children's Festival'. Town also had a fort with well restored walls. Hotel was quiet, all the bedrooms different as it was converted from several old town houses with secret courtyards and numerous stairways. There was a lift. Beautiful roof top terrace restaurant where breakfast was served. Wifi signal excellent. Beds rather hard. Can recommend this hotel for cleanliness and charm. We were two friends sharing and were allocated a suite with two bedrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Attratctive small town, historic hotel building... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at Corte Altavilla for just one night at the kickoff of a 9-day bike trip in Puglia. The hotel is right in the middle of the old town, just steps away from the main square and castle. It's got tons of character, and built within old, historic structures. Definitely a nice place - I wouldn't rave about it, and probably would stay somewhere else if we came to town again, but it's a pretty decent centro storico-type hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolfeStreetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Great location in Conversano... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Clean, beautiful small hotel with a fill breakfast on a lovely rooftop terrace. Beautiful stone architecture right in the middle of tiny Conversano. Spent two nights here before a cycling trip through Puglia. Beautiful town and sweet hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelleyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Sweet, beautiful little hotel... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews