We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive small town, historic hotel building”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Corte Altavilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corte Altavilla
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Conversano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Attractive small town, historic hotel building”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Charming old town with large central square and abundant bars and cafe's. The old monastery was open as well as the Church, it was a special 'Children's Festival'. Town also had a fort with well restored walls. Hotel was quiet, all the bedrooms different as it was converted from several old town houses with secret courtyards and numerous stairways. There was a lift. Beautiful roof top terrace restaurant where breakfast was served. Wifi signal excellent. Beds rather hard. Can recommend this hotel for cleanliness and charm. We were two friends sharing and were allocated a suite with two bedrooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Attratctive small town, historic hotel building... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    202
    78
    40
    12
See reviews for
58
375
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at Corte Altavilla for just one night at the kickoff of a 9-day bike trip in Puglia. The hotel is right in the middle of the old town, just steps away from the main square and castle. It's got tons of character, and built within old, historic structures. Definitely a nice place - I wouldn't rave about it, and probably would stay somewhere else if we came to town again, but it's a pretty decent centro storico-type hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandria Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Great location in Conversano... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Level Contributor
223 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Clean, beautiful small hotel with a fill breakfast on a lovely rooftop terrace. Beautiful stone architecture right in the middle of tiny Conversano. Spent two nights here before a cycling trip through Puglia. Beautiful town and sweet hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelleyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Sweet, beautiful little hotel... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel in the center of a medieval town. Castle-type hotel with rooms carved out of orignal structure. Lots of nooks, crannies, and stairways. How they got modern pluming in a hotel like this is beyond me. Very comfortable beds (if you like hard beds).

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chicagotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...A Solid 4 Stars... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A four star hotel gives you soap, shampoo and tissues; Corte Altavilla gives you a pump container of combo hair and body wash. Planning on using the bidet? Better have long arms as the jug of soap is bolted on the wall out of reach of mere mortals. Really, a Motel 6 or the YMCA can do better. Pillows are like sacks of potatoes.

Our room (rather minimally decorated and furnished) was on a side street, with lots of loud conversation into the warm September nights (Saturday and Sunday) so we had to close the window to sleep. But the AC was on its deathbed; it loudly wheezed and groaned as it cycled on and off the first night, and then died completely on the second. The hot water heater in the bathroom sang a duet with the AC, as it tinkled and bubbled, but gave forth a scant amount of hot water. At least we could close the door on it.

On the plus side, hotel location is nice, rooms are clean, and it has all the right feel for an old renovated rambling dwelling tucked into the ancient town walls. Pleasant desk, good rooftop restaurant. Just bring your own soap and hot water if you want to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, may I thank you for your constructive feedback.

I would like to bring to your attention that our hotel is part of Ecolabel. This is an european program providing eco-friendly hotel products. One of the features of such program includes the provision of soap dispensers supposed to single-dose toiletries. Please rest assured that the reason for using Ecolabel products is a purely environmental one - the hotel is not saving on the cost of soap. In actual fact Ecolabel products are more expensive than the bottled toiletries you refer to, also because Ecolabel soaps are free form toxic or allergenic chemicals.

Whilst I sympathize that the layout of your bathroom may not have conformed to a modern space, Corte Altavilla is centuries old hence any refurbishment is very much restricted both by the building's original features as well as by the authorities (Ministry of Monuments).

It is regrettable that you did not bring your discontent to our attention as we would have certainly moved you to another room where, I am sure, you would have been satisfied with all its features, including the air conditioning unit.

I do hope you will return to Conversano to provide us with an opportunity to welcoming you back to Corte Altavilla once more.

With best wishes,
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at this nice Hotel, located in the city center of Conversano. At first it is not so easy to get there but it is worth the challenge finding out your way. The Hotel is very charming and well designed, it is romantic and beautifully located. We enjoyed the service of the staff, especially Francesca at the reception. Nearly everybody speaks english. The rooms are confortable and spacious (for european standards). Breakfast is on the rooftop. You can also have dinner there, which is worth the try. In overall I can very much recommand this Hotel and would go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Job T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the the title of your review about ... Super ... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. We find some troubles but we'll do better in the future also with your good advise!
Thank you so much for your comment about the service of the staff.
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and its cathedral are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conversano
5.0 mi away
Borgobianco Resort & Spa
Borgobianco Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Masseria Montepaolo Dimora di Charme
5.1 mi away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
#3 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
462 reviews
4.2 mi away
San Tommaso
San Tommaso
#1 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo d'Erchia
Palazzo d'Erchia
#2 of 4 in Conversano
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte Altavilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte Altavilla

Property: Corte Altavilla
Address: Vico Goffredo Altavilla 8, 70014 Conversano, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Conversano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Conversano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Corte Altavilla 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel "Corte Altavilla" is an old medieval court situated in a residential area of the historical centre of Conversano, (City of Art). It stands on a hill, 8 km far from the sea, near the area of the "trulli" and the "grottoes." In 1100 beautiful and young Sibilla d'Altavilla lived here, who were Roberto Courtehouse's wife, the son of William II the Conqueror. Sibilla, missed queen of England, is buried inside the cathedral of Rouen, in Normandy.Following a complete restoration in 2002, a very unusual complex of antique dwellings, located within the walls of the medieval Altavilla court, has been transformed into a receptive centre with hotel rooms, elegant suites and apartments where original stone built rooms with whitewashed plasters, barrel vaults and wooden beams charm the guests. Nothing is made by chance: attention to the details, to the smallest things, in order to make everything elegant and sumptuous, between the past and the present, an harmonic contrast between the modern and the old.Discretion, kindness and helpfulness of our staff at the reception meet your needs to suggest itineraries from the cliffs of Polignano to the "trulli" of Alberobello, from the landscape of the Itria Valley to the "grottoes" of Castellana, and then the "white city" of Ostuni, Frederick II and Castel del Monte, the "rocks" of Matera, Salento, farmhouses, rocky churches: in a word: Apulia. The 31 dwellings (suites and rooms) are equipped with all modern comforts: direct control air conditioning, satellite TV, direct telephone, safes, free internet wi fi, fire alarm, minibar and kitchen area (available in some rooms). On request we have a Junior Suite with hydromassage bath tub.Also available: solarium terrace, concierge/information desk, bikes, transfer facilities and chauffeur, daily excursions by car or on boat all around the area; thermarium spa, cookery course and parking area. In the morning at our restaurant on the terrace with a beautiful view of the old town, you can have breakfast buffet: orange juice, yoghurts, different cereals, croissants, cakes and tarts, bread of a local baker's, toasted bread, marmalades, seasonal fresh fruit, taralli, cheese and salami, eggs.For dinner our chef offers a typical regional cuisine using fresh seasonal products and every day it proposes different menus which enclose the history and the culinary customs of our town. IN SHORT: Every room offers the following service: Free internet Wi fi, sat TV, heat/cold air conditioning with remote control, telephone, Internet connection socket, safe, hairdryer, kitchen area (on request in Standard rooms), minibar and smoke alarm. Internet Wi fi free of charge is in available in 100% of rooms and public areas. In the common area: Free Interne Wi fi free of charge, lounge, free Internet point, typical cuisine restaurant on the terrace with the view of the old city, 2 meeting halls, hall with reading area and courtesy cafe, solarium, lift, free parking service, thermarium spa. Furthermore, we have at our guests disposal: rental bikes, transfer service, organized excursions around Apulia, cookery course, boat or cruise excursions, riding school at 5 km far, olive oil bottles on sale with Corte Altavilla mark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corte Altavilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Altavilla Hotel Conversano
Holiday Inn Bari
Corte Altavilla Bari
Corte Altavilla Conversano, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing