We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel but poor location”
Review of Hotel Merkur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Merkur
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A good hotel but poor location”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very nice and the room I stayed in 211 is extremely spacious with excellent facilities including tv refrigerator and microwave iron and ironing board. My only concern was the location. The hotel is difficult to access from the main road with no signs and is at least ten minutes walk from restaurants in unless you count macdonalds which I don't
That said with friendly staff and a great breakfast I would recommend it

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank benedick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
7
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Ga
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've stayed with Gerrit for years now on business while in the area several times per year. Always very pleased. Large clean rooms, Breakfast is super. Helpful as always and know what I want/need when I hit the door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joerenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here with my family and it was a very good experience. Check in was easy and fast. The staff was professional and tended to our needs with ease.
the accommodations were excellent. the towels, linens, and amenities were all of good quality.
The breakfast buffet was top notch. They had a great variety of breads, meats, cheeses, and drinks. They also had many American style breakfast foods as well.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlS200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I love Hotel Merkur; every time I have to come to Landstuhl, Germany, I stay at Merkur because it is just great! Gerrit and his team make the hotel very modern and the rooms are large enough to make you feel like you're home. They have a great bar and food is good too.
There are things to do nearby and walk-able to McDonalds if you need, however, recommend staying here than going to a major hotel chain.

While there is no swimming pool or fitness center, Ramstein base is nearby and can access the gym there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hersh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Merkur is the best in all areas for hotel choice in Ramstein area. The staff and owners are very accommodating and you won't be disappointed! It is smoker friendly, but the ventilation system is excellent and you won't know it in the common areas. Highly recommended and your best choice in the area!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rodeweary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We choose this hotel because it was the highest rated in the area and were pretty disappointed. We paid about 200 euro a night for a quadruple room, which was just a double room with the (small) couch make into a bed and an additional rollaway bed, making for a very tight squeeze.

My main problem with this hotel was the smoking in the lobby; the lobby/bar area is quite small and even when there was no one smoking it smelled dirty, like stale smoke and the smell drifted throughout the hotel. One afternoon I went to the front desk to ask a question and found an employee smoking in the bar.

We had a problem with our credit card (fraud alert since we were traveling) while we were staying here and the man at the front desk was not helpful at all. He couldn't tell me how much a phone call would cost or how I might make a collect call and made no attempt to be helpful.

The service was also lacking in the dining area; though breakfast time was posted as lasting until 9:30, by 8:30 a lot of the food was gone and was not replenished, nearly all the tables were dirty and it took awhile to get a hot cup of coffee. The was also an odd sign requesting you not take food back to your room that seemed directed at Americans.

The only thing going for this hotel was the location and only then if you have to be close to the air base, which I believe is where they get most of their business (and why they can charge so much). There are many nice small hotels in Germany, this isn't one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amynielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I think we have as much right to an opinion of Hotel Merkur as anyone. We lived there, continuously, for 95 nights--our home while we looked for a home!

Merkur was our retreat and our respite. Always quiet. Always immaculately clean. We slept great in the bed, and may call them up to ask the brand of mattress! The restaurant was uniformly excellent, whether dining in, or room service. A short walk to several other restaurants and a movie theater, and an easy walk to several more. A very short commute to Ramstein Air Base, and not too far from Landstuhl Regional Medical Center, either.

When we had to extend, several times, the staff worked very hard to hold our room for us.

When we move back to the States, we get 30 more nights in hotel, and we're spending them all at Merkur.

Room Tip: Suites are hardly more expensive than rooms, and can make a long stay very comfortable. For a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramstein-Miesenbach
1.4 mi away
Hotel Circle Inn
Hotel Circle Inn
#3 of 8 in Ramstein-Miesenbach
64 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Ramstein
Hotel Europa Ramstein
#5 of 8 in Ramstein-Miesenbach
62 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramsteiner Hof
Ramsteiner Hof
#1 of 8 in Ramstein-Miesenbach
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosenhof
Hotel Rosenhof
#4 of 8 in Ramstein-Miesenbach
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Air Hotel Royal Landstuhl
Air Hotel Royal Landstuhl
#2 of 6 in Landstuhl
75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pirsch
Hotel Pirsch
#6 of 8 in Ramstein-Miesenbach
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Property: Hotel Merkur
Address: Am Koehlwaeldchen 11, 66877 Ramstein-Miesenbach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Ramstein-Miesenbach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ramstein-Miesenbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Merkur 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Merkur Germany/Ramstein-Miesenbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing