We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night's rest!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Merkur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Merkur
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good night's rest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

While traveling through Germany it worked out to visit friends stationed at Ramstein and we decided to spend the night in the area before meeting a group of friends in Ulm the next day. Our room was clean and comfortable and included bathroom ammentities. Staff was courteous and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyLouK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
7
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

My brother in law recommended this hotel based on his stay, so when we came to visit we tried it. It was all he said and more. Very friendly, very clean, very comfortable and they even at times seemed to know what we wanted before we did. They made our welcome to Germany a very pleasant one. I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Plan as early as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times when I have been in the area. The staff is professional and courteous. The facilities are clean, modern and roomy. The food in the restaurant was very good. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed in several hotels in the area and stayed here for 3 months. For what you get and for the price, it can't be beat. Staff are friendly and helpful, free wireless internet, rooms are spacious and includes a microwave and refrigerator, something you will not find in most hotels in the Kaiserslautern area. The beds are typical European with one mattress. The have automatic shutters and the rooms are pretty sound proof. There is a small exercise room and washer/dryer. The train station is a 8-10 minute walk away, a Europcar next door and McDonald's around the corner.

The hotel restaurant is good also. The chicken and beef salad was extra delicious. The free breakfast is really worth it also.

One complaint is about the the hotel policy if you get locked out of you room. I got locked out a couple of times after hours (once at the hotel's fault) and there is no one available to let you in. I even had the owner's/manager's cell phone number and he refused to come let me in the room even though his family lives next door. This happened to several people during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welive2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for business trip. I chose it based on the recommendation of co-workers who had performed work in the Kaiserslaughtern area. The hotel is actually on the outskirts of Kaiserslaughtern right off the A6 motorway. It was about an hour from the Frankfurt airport where I flew in and pretty close to some of the American military bases. Because of this I suspect that most guests are Americans having business with the military. Its not terribly close to anything touristy but its not that far away either. Many interesting places can be found within an hour of the hotel's location.

I booked this hotel on 1 day notice and the hotel was nothing but accommodating in making my reservation, even when I told them later in the day that I needed to extend it. You can easily email them and they are quick and responsive. They happily communicate in English and all the staff I have encountered speak excellent English (as do a large number of Germans it seems).

The hotel is a small 3 story affair, literally spitting distance from the highway. Even though it is next to a highway you do not hear any traffic from the roads because the building is well built. While not too exciting from the outside, the interior is tastefully decorated as are the rooms themselves. As another reviewer mentioned, the rooms have excellent automatic blinds that completely dark out so the room when you sleep you are completely in the dark. I found my room to be excellent in terms of size and amenities. It had just about every feature you could want, such as microwave, fridge, dvd player, 200 cable channels (mostly all in German), a safe, workspace, and free wireless internet. Broken In addition the room was clean and nothing seemed worn or. As a business traveler I could not think of anything else I would want out of a hotel room.

The hotel has a small, but nice, restauraunts that is open for breakfast and dinner. The breakfast is free and included in the price. It was well stocked with a good selection. Not just a continental breakfast, but meats, fruits and standard American fare like pancakes and French toast. Dinner was very good as well. A nice menu with a selection of German and continental dishes at very reasonable prices. Average entree price was $ 12-14 euros. Dinner includes a complimentary salad bar as well. For a hotel restaurant, and especially one of this size, I would rate it well above average. Occasionally the service was a bit in-attentive but the food was always fresh, most items were well prepared, and the staff was always nice.

So in summary, I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to be the Kaiserslaughtern area. It provides excellent value, good service, and meets all the needs any reasonable traveler would have.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pricemc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

The people a great.. very friendly, if you are coming to see the Air Force in Ramstein you want to stay at this hotel..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wnagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

The hotel has complimentary internet, outstanding buffet breakfast, wonderful dinner with truly wonderful local wines. Rooms are a good cross between Western and European. Wonderful blinds which keeps every room quiet and dark. No charge for parking. Suites are available and they are second to none with fridge, HD TV, plenty of work area and more. And oh, the hotel is family run and they take painstaking efforts to make sure your stay is outstanding. I’ve stayed here three times and am looking forward to returning next week.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 150NightsPerYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramstein-Miesenbach
2.0 mi away
Ramsteiner Hof
Ramsteiner Hof
#1 of 8 in Ramstein-Miesenbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Ramstein
Hotel Europa Ramstein
#4 of 8 in Ramstein-Miesenbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosenhof
Hotel Rosenhof
#3 of 8 in Ramstein-Miesenbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oelmuehle Hotel-Restaurant
Oelmuehle Hotel-Restaurant
#3 of 6 in Landstuhl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Circle Inn
Hotel Circle Inn
#5 of 8 in Ramstein-Miesenbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pirsch
Hotel Pirsch
#6 of 8 in Ramstein-Miesenbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Property: Hotel Merkur
Address: Am Koehlwaeldchen 11, 66877 Ramstein-Miesenbach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Ramstein-Miesenbach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ramstein-Miesenbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Merkur 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Merkur Germany/Ramstein-Miesenbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing