We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aqua Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brio(Playa Gigante)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa(Playa Manzanillo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buena Vista Surf Club(Playa Maderas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
HulaKai Hotel(Playa Maderas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveler rating
396
141
59
26
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
141
59
26
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge pooltree houseyoga platformhowler monkeysprivate beachpaddle boardsdaily yoga classesour honeymooncloser to the beachsunset cruisemeal planremote areafull kitchenunique experiencerestaurant staffocean viewclams
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 654 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spend our family vacation at Aqua and had an amazing week. A great and very unique experience.

I booked the room 3-4 months in advance and the resort staff responded very quickly to any questions that I had via email within 24 hours. We booked transportation through the resort from Managua airport to the report (2 hour drive) and the drive met us right when we go out of customs so it was an easy transition.

We traveled with our 2 year old and and the resort is safe and enjoyable for children his age and older. They provided us with a full crib in our treehouse which meant he slept very well.

We stayed in a rain forest treehouse. Plenty of space for the three of us and we had an added kitchen. On the 3rd day we took a tour of Granada and asked our guide to stop at a grocery store on the way back in Rivas so we could get supplies. The resort is very remote and the store in Gigante Beach (20 min walk) is more of a convenience store than anything else.

The restaurant/bar onsite was great and the food was very good with a good amount of options in a fantastic setting. We did the breakfast/lunch meal plan which worked for us so we could do dinner on our own and we made dinner in our kitchen a few nights.

Overall it was an amazing experience. Its a long journey to get there, but its well worth the effort to visit such a pristine and unique place. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARusso1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I didn't stay at this resort, however I had the opportunity to eat at their restaurant overlooking the bay and it was absolutely amazing. The whole community reminded me of a beautifully whimsical tree house village with winding roads, trails, and hidden bays and beaches. Even the restaurant itself was somewhat hidden among the trees. The food was absolutely wonderful, the cocktails were fresh with herbs and citrus, and never before have I had such an overwhelming sense of calm come over me. It was literally paradise sitting in that restaurant overlooking the most beautiful beach I had ever seen, watching my kids splash around while waiting for our food. I will definitely be staying here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

stayed here for 3 nights as a couple with our teenage son. We stayed in a luxury 2 story condo that was very comfortable. Our son slept on a futon on the first floor and we had a king bed on the second. Although there was a door the areas still communicate because none of the walls reach the ceiling The unit we stayed in was independently owned and rented out. All units have gorgeous views of the beach below and beautiful sunsets. Our unit had a small plunge pool which we used quite a bit. The pacific ocean is swimmable but there is surf consistently. Beach is great, white sand, plenty of seating and someone to help arrange. Restuarant good. They will reserve a table if you want. Food was well prepared and there was enough variety for a few days.

The resort is built on a hill so there are many many steps to get to spa, room, reception etc. there is no gym so I jogged every morning. Hard as it is almost all up and down. There is daily yoga which was not strenuous. One can walk to the next beach which is Playa Gigante. There are a few places to eat there although we did not try them fr dinner. Take a flashlight if you plan on going. There is a great TACO stand worth trying!

Rooms are very hot in the middle of the day because the sun hits them in the afternoon. Internet in the rooms is NOT GREAT. You can get it in the restaurant.

One issue I saw others had is that of the billing. Somehow things get confused as one gives the name of the room verbally and this can lead to confusion. However our bill was promptly revised when we saw the erroneous charges.

I think the resort would be improved with the addition of a gym, a better way of charging rooms and in room internet access. We would go back, the resort is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: nearer the beach means fewer stairs
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amalaPrinceton_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed for a week in February.

Pros:
Setting- the beach and grounds were as nice as expected, with a protected cove to swim and kayak in.
Rooms- beautifully decorated, comfortable beds, large decks, well furnished kitchen.
Spa- we had several massages which were excellent
Volcano hike and zip line tour- the hike was great, our guide was excellent

Cons:
Often over promised and under delivered- several of the tours were billed as including things that were not actually provided
Speed of service- meals often took over 90 minutes because it took forever for orders to be put into the system
Management- we had several issues, including a phone stolen from our room and they overcharged us on our room rate. We were promised a follow up from the GM on the phone issue. but we never saw him. On the room rate, they refuse to even return emails on the subject.

I would strongly recommend not staying here until their service lives up to both their promises and their high prices. A change of management is much needed, as all the other staff we quite friendly and generally competent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_AQUA, Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hello JG

Thank you for spending your vacation time with us! AQUA Nicaragua is delighted to offer our visitors an unparalleled opportunity to enjoy unspoiled nature in a pristine eco-habitat. Our guests frequently comment that our private bay, abundant nature, exotic wildlife, and luxurious treehouses harmonize elegantly together and make for the perfect vacation. A place to unwind, unplug, and de-stress from the cares of everyday life. We do appreciate your positive comments in regards to the rooms and location and thank you for your constructive criticism.

It is our desire that all of our guests leave pleased with the level of service that they receive and depart refreshed and relaxed. There is no excuse for poor service and we do apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced.

AQUA Nicaragua reception is staffed with a bilingual receptionist who is available to handle any complaints that our guests have, and we do encourage our visitors to come and see us at the front desk (or call us with the mobile phones we provide) if they experience any problem on site. Our friendly staff is always very ready to assist with any concern that you might have. We also welcome our guest to check out the details of all our tours online and of course please do not hesitate to ask our reception or guide if you have any questions as to what is included in your tour.

AQUA Nicaragua also provides all guests with in-room safes to protect your valuables. While any form of theft is always unfortunate and regrettable, we do advise all guests to utilize the in-room safe and never leave your valuable unattended while traveling throughout Nicaragua as we cannot be responsible for lost or stolen items.

Our resort provides a variety of room types and sizes to fit all budgets and tastes. Please visit us on the web to check out all the options. We hope to welcome you to our warm and beautiful Nicaragua soon!

Saludos Cordiales,
AQUA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Aqua Wellness resort us beautiful and relaxing. All the staff are lovely - friendly and helpful. The food is terrific. The setting is beautiful. And, there are as many or as few activities as anyone could want. A great place for couples or a whole family.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank HenriettaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews