We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous everytime”
Review of Caracol

Caracol
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Varzea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ansiao, Portugal
2 reviews
“Fabulous everytime”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have eaten here several times as live locally and it is most definitely our favourite restaurant in the area. Luis can never do enough and his hospitality is second to none. Set lunch daily at 7 euros is a bargain, and if there is nothing you fancy on the given choices Luis is happy to substitute. Shut Tuesdays. Evening meals are superb ranging from Fillet steak (Naco) to whole grilled fish or Octopus. Will also cook anything special to order, just contact him the day before, have known him to do a special of King Prawns which were highly rated. Recommend all my Holiday guests at least once during their stay.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fanta888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peacehaven
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and amazing value”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Racing Snake and I visited this restaurant for the second time with some girlfriends of mine who were visiting Portugal for the first time. Luis (the owner) greeted is in perfect English and remembered us from when we visited before. He has a memory like an elephant! The ambiance and atmosphere of the place is lovely and very cosy. We began our meal with some fantastic rustic bread and olives and was treated to a complimentary dish of octopus to try which was very tasty. All four of us ordered the lamb and we asked for three portions to be cooked slightly pink and the other well done. When it arrived it was cooked to perfection, tender and well seasoned. There was absolutely loads of it, a mixture of chops and loin steaks accompanied by rice, chips, vegetables and salad. It was all delicious. We finished up with the 'sawdust' pudding, a traditional Portuguese desert of crushed biscuits layered with condensed milk and cream, heavenly. We had wine to drink and finished with coffees. It was incredible value, wonderful service and fabulous food. This restaurant is definitely one of the best we have visited in the area and well worth a visit. In the summer they have a swimming pool which patrons of the restaurant may use for free.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seahorse5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Honest Food - Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a surprise find such a lovely restaurant with such great food in the middle of rural Portugal. The owner has a passion for fine food and takes much delight in sharing it with his guests. We ate there both nights during our stay at Villa Pedra.
The quality of our meals were as high as anywhere we ate during our two weeks in Portugal. The meals were of true Northern proportions however we always managed to squeeze in deserts.
We very much enjoyed the company of the owner as he somehow managed to serve the other guests but seemed to always make time for interesting conversation and great food recommendations at our table.
Nice to see a young local guy building and running such a great restaurant in a little village. He truly cares that you are enjoying his food and hospitality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Restaurant... Excellent value...”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Having tried this restaurant several times this year, we were blown away by this wonderful restaurant. An excellent menu with set price from €6.50 for 3 courses including wine/beer. Lovely ambiance with attentive staff.... Food great... Totally recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Master_Bates_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This spot is hidden away from the main roads travelled by most tourists, but is certainly worth a visit if you are anywhere in the vicinty. It was recommended to us by our host at nearby Villa Pedro.

The owner Luis is an engaging host who takes the time to make you feel welcome, with menu suggestions, anecdotes and a delightfully generous spirit.

During our two weeks in Portugal, we did not find a better dining value. The food was well prepared and presented, with more than adequate portions. The veal was especially delicious. The appetizers, wine, and desserts all contributed to the overall dining experience. The final tab was remarkably reasonable in light of the quality and quantity of food consumed.

Don't miss this dining spot if you have the opportunity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caracol also viewed

Macao, Castelo Branco District
Belver, Portalegre District
 
Abrantes, Santarem District
Abrantes, Santarem District
 

Been to Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing