We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
320
37
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
320
37
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the airport sea water small hotel hotel level sea level hot tub basket of fruit salt water stunning sea views the atlantic ocean minutes from the airport special hotel room was large tennis courts beautiful hotel hear planes hire car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 366 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

Lovely and cozy hotel only 4 minute drive from the airport. The check in was quick, the rooms are extremely spacious and the pool is super cool :) if you are looking for a quiet place where your mind can take a minute, this is it. What makes this hotel perfect is the staff-from the reception to the restaurant all the way to the general manager. Everybody was nice, smiling and accommodating-they were nice enough to provide us with late check out as well as they offer free airport transfer during certain hours. Otherwise they are able to arrange for you a taxi pick up.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 776michaelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

This hotel is unique in every respect. The location although close to the airport is superb, with uninterrupted views of the ocean and islands. The quality of service is exemplary, from the welcoming, attentive and courteous reception staff, through to the excellent restaurant staff. The rooms are spacious and clean and literally within a few metres of the cliff edge! After spending 7 nights here, we can find nothing to complain about whatsoever; the breakfasts were great, the evening meals we had here were delicious and well presented and although too cold to use the sea water pool, the heated outdoor pool was very pleasant, set in a very tidy, well tended garden. For anyone staying more than a night or two, we would recommend a hire car to get to the island's main attractions. The nearest small town of Santa Cruz is within 10 minutes walking distance, and is a lovely relaxed resort with some really good tavernas, cafes and restaurants in the central area. All in all, we would really recommend this venue for a holiday to remember.

Room tip: All rooms are spread over 2 floors and all face the sea.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019

What can I say to describe this special place. In short: the Albatroz is the best hotel we’ve ever stayed. Just a perfect place to relax, enjoy the pools, the outstanding delicious food, the so friendly staff and the spacious rooms. Breakfast is from an amazing variety.
It’s located very close to the airport, but in fact you don’t hear the planes, it’s a quit and gorgeous place.
We’ve already decided to come back!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

We keep returning to the Albatroz as it has become our home from home. The staff without exception, are great and very helpful, nothing is too much trouble for their guests. The rooms are clean and quiet and the beds comfortable. The food in the restaurant is very tasty and nicely presented. We especially love the fish dishes.
For us it was another relaxing holiday and we want to thank everyone for making us feel so welcome once again. Muito obrigado a tudos! Ate a proxima!

Room tip: superior rooms, all rooms in the main hotel have an unobstructed sea view. No bother with noise
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 910ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019

Stayed here for a week to celebrate my 60th birthday and it was our first trip to Madeira.
The hotel is beautifully situated minutes from the airport but with very little noise from the planes. We had booked a garden view room in the adjacent manor house but were upgraded to a standard room with sea view in the main building: the bedroom was huge and included a table and two chairs with a complimentary basket of fruit, as well as a coffee table and sofa and an enormous bed. My wife enjoyed swimming in both pools, especially the saltwater pool right by the Atlantic, and the garden areas were beautifully maintained. We dined three times in the hotel restaurant and the food is exceptional and very reasonably priced for the quality. For a change it is an easy 10-15 minute stroll into the small town of Santa Cruz where there are a number of more basic options for eating and drinking.
What really impresses about the hotel is the five star service at every level - others have mentioned Costa, who is indeed extremely personable as well as professional and delighted to chat about his experiences of living in both London and Madeira. But all the staff on reception, in the restaurant, and in cleaning the bedrooms, provide the same level of personal service and attention to detail and all seem to enjoy their work and greet guests with a friendly smile. They are all a credit to the operation and I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a real treat to stay here, and the bottle of sparkling wine and canapes the staff unexpectedly brought to our room on our wedding anniversary was an added bonus!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RossLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews