We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, charming and laid back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is 2 minutes drive away from the airport and next to a busy road but you don't really notice either. They only have 16 rooms (all with balconies) and it is quiet and tranquil. It feels like it has come from a more sedate time in the past. The pool areas are quiet and the pool filled by the sea is lovely to swim in. Lush well maintained gardens too. All of the rooms overlook the sea but I would suggest a room on the first floor because the views are obviously better than on the ground. The staff are all helpful and friendly and will sort cars out for you, find bus times etc. Santa Cruz has some cheap cafes/bars and it is a pleasant 15 minute walk away along the side of the sea. The advantage of the road being nearby is that you can get straight on to the main road linking you with the rest of the island. The disadvantage of the location is that you are some way off what most people see at the main sites. However I was happy to relax around the pool. Two very minor moans are that it would be good to have more regular service around the pool rather than having to go looking for someone to get you a drink and it would be good to have a snack menu e.g. sandwiches.

Room Tip: Views are better from the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyexplorer50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 285 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is simply "outstanding". We got married at the Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club in May this year. The reason we choose the Albatroz was because of the swift and professional response to our initial enquiry and the recommendations from Family members.
From the first point of contact Goncalo (the Manager) and Alexandra were exceptional. We visited the Albatroz on our visit to Madeira to finalise our Wedding details and as soon as we drove into the car park we were overwhelmed by the views and the gardens around us.
It's an amazing place with lots of little paths that take you to different places including 2 sea water pools, lots of trees, flowers etc etc. The photos look amazing with all the trees and sea views around, it really is a magical place.
There's a bar right by the grounds that serves coffee or drinks all day, it's lovely to sit there staring into the ocean and admiring the views, it's very relaxing and enjoyable.
With a large pool facing the sea, all the rooms have spacious balconies and all of them have sea views.
Some of our guests stayed at the Albatroz and all the staff including Filipe and various others treated them like royalty, each room had complimentary fruit and water on arrival. Goncalo even collected our remaining two guests at 1am from the Airport!
The staff are very friendly, professional and do actually care, they will also go out of their way to make your stay comfortably and enjoyable.
We were allowed to decorate the function room (which faces the sea each way you look) the day before our wedding. When we arrived all the tables had been decorated according to our instructions, nothing was too much trouble and no request was a silly request, they made everything run smoothly. The food was amazing, very creative and not to be missed!!
Our complimentary suite was so large that you could easily loose yourself inside it with two bathrooms (each with bath & shower). We had room service breakfast that was to die for! Hotel Albatroz is within walking distance to St. Cruz which is a gorgeous village with restaurants, bars, a pebble beach and market. You can take the bus to any destination right from outside the Hotel. We are looking forward to going back to Madeira next year and to visit our friends at the Albatroz.
Thank you Goncalo, Alexandra, Filipe and all the others that we cannot remember the names of for making our day so special and for looking after all our guests and Family.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivone186229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were slightly concerned about the close location to airport. That was absolutely unnecessary since runway is on higher altitude and all noise passes over inaudible. Additional attraction however is to follow approaching planes without sound.
Atmosphere is cozy due to small size, staff know you and give you personal and always friendly service. We appreciated that greatly. They even helped to clear an issue with car rent service.
Sea pool is absolutely marvelous and we enjoyed it every day.
Restaurant has a good menu and tasty food. It is spacious and tables are always available.
Charming is to have romantic dinner at your room balcony, with moon bridge on the sea reaching you.
We certainly will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are have full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seppo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very nice place staff goes the extra mile to make you happy. This hotel was well located by car (a large parking lot). While they do offer a complimentary shuttle car.
The grounds are meticulously maintained. Very nice garden, quiet and very relaxing.
The room is large, was very clean. Greeting-fruit, very nice! Very beautiful views from our room. The warm welcome. The friendly and gracious staff. Breakfast for every taste.
Awesome place and would definitely love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family enjoyed the beatiful hotel and restaurant at Albatroz.
nice swim in the pool, sea pool and in the sea!

the restaurant shows very high quality with excellent service!

the golfcourse at Serra is very close which we enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurt-orvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Gorgeous hotel and scenic views, really enjoyed our stay there. Nice and quiet and Funchal very easy to get to. Staff were so friendly and kind. The sea pool was great to have and also the tennis courts were brilliant. LOvely resteraunt and food and santa cruz was only a short journey away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasioFootjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently staid two nights at this hotel, and we loved 99% of it all. After having a little problem understanding that we had to get of the motor way an then back on again in the other direction when arriving from south east, we did find the hotel and drove all they way up to the main entrance. We were met by a most efficient and friendly gentleman from the staff, who helped with luggage, parked our car, made sure we had all we needed and so it continued for the rest of our stay. We loved the staff and found them all very friendly and helpful. Our room on the second floor was great, all we needed and a little more. Love to open the curtains and from my bed see nothing but the blue sea! Great fruit platter and a large bottle of water with the compliments of the management is a plus. It was also nice to be able to make a cup of tea or coffee in the room. Others have described the room and bathroom quite well and we did like them both, great to have a small chair to sit on in the bathroom and some of us appreciate the scale to check how much the holiday treats have added…

We enjoyed several meals there and it was all very well prepared. A personalized omelette in the morning is a good start, and we also liked their coffee a lot. Lunch from the snack menu had several good options, and we enjoyed two very good dinners as well. All served with the same friendly attitude and with great care.

The walk to the sea water pool is not for those who are not walkers, there are many steps down to them, but there is a good, if a little small pool close to the main building as well. Free towels in the room.

Our only gripe was not with the hotel, but that they allowed a group of four young Swedes to behave in a way that was not proper for a 5 star establishment. Sagging shorts with “underwear view” and caps on backwards at dinner was no delight, nor was their drinking large quantities of beer that they can not have bought at the hotel by the pool. They got accordingly loud and foul mouthed. I did not see anybody trying to calm them down and the waiter just tidied away the empty beer cans and bottles.

We would come back if we need a good place to stay at the beginning or end of a trip to Madeira.

Room Tip: The view is probably best at the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
9.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
8.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
9.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
9.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
26 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club

Address: Vereda da Terca, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-186, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $170 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club Santa Cruz, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing