We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Nearby Hotels
$106
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$94
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$61
$59
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Euromoniz(Madeira)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
PortoBay Serra Golf(Madeira)
$157
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
262
35
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
35
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportsea watersmall hotelilhas desertashotel levelit felt like coming hometheir utmost to makefree roomsea levelhot tublocal townfruit basketfine hotelpleasure of stayingthe atlantic oceanwaves washingplants and trees
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 304 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2011

You can't ask for more; the sea, tennis, pool and a lovely restaurant with excellent service! We gladly recommend it. And if you want to play golf-10 minutes by car!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kurt-orvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We returned to the Albatroz for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time that we will always cherish.

The location is stunning, looking out over the sea and towards the nearby islands. Our room (on the ground floor) was very comfortable, beautifully designed, clean with a lovely veranda and bathroom, had all the extras that we required. The staff were very helpful and the service was continually excellent and attentive. We stayed there for two weeks and barely left the hotel - with the hotel's restaurant, swimming pools and tennis court we didn't need to. We ate nearly all of our meals in the restaurant - the food was delicious, fresh Mediterranean cuisine.

After the stress of organising our wedding, our stay at the Albatroz was truly relaxing and peaceful. I can't think of anything to criticise - we had a perfect honeymoon and can't wait to go back there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie_Elfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Situated off the motorway this hotel is situated between the runway and the sea .As soon as I entered the hotel grounds any traffic noise ceased and I was only aware of aircraft when I walked into Santa Cruz. The walk took 15 minutes to get into the centre near the church. A pleasant small town with several street restaurants. The hotel was very quiet with less than 20 guests during our visit and the attention from the staff excellent.I appreciated the fresh fruit and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The dining room was under used in the evening when we were there however the service, menu, food and whole dining experience was superb. Similarly the choice at breakfast was extensive and of high quality.
There is a very good library and Internet use available with wifi free too.

Only negative if you are new to Madeira take information and maps with you or go online because there are no local or island maps or suggestions of places to go etc at reception.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. No stairs or steps on the ground floor. The first floor closer to the library and computer with lift access or stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EAHKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Hotel is located close to the airport, but the aircraft noise from there is surprisinggly very strong. Unfortuneatley the main coast street is also very close, so the car traffic makes a little bit of noise. Rooms are very nice and quiet, Safe and fresh fruits are included in the price.
All in all the Service is excellent, also the food in the restaurant can be recommended. The Albatros Beach & Yacht Club is an good starting point for trips in the midland and Funchal.
Another great aspects are the direct access to the sea and the nice garden. Pool landscape shows room for improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EiderDausN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have just returned from our first visit to Madeira and to the Albatroz, but will definitely be back.
The Albatroz is an amazing hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with private balconies offering beautiful views of the sea.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We had a buffet breakfast each morning, which included just about everything. Dishes such as omelettes etc, were made fresh to order. We also had two evening meals in the restaurant and found that, as with all Madeiran food, the portions were generous and delicious.
The hotel is very close to the airport but, as other reviews state, you cannot hear the noise from it at all. The hotel provides a free airport shuttle, which is recommended (to get to the airport on foot means crossing some busy main roads).
That lack of noise, combined with the fact that the hotel only holds a maximum of around 30 guests, means that there is always a very tranquil and peaceful atmosphere.
The hotel has one pool at hotel-level, and two further sea-water pools at sea-level which are accessed via steps built into the cliffs. One of these is a shallow pool more suitable for children, and the second is around 8' deep at the deep-end. Again, due to the small number of guests, these were never busy.
Santa Cruz is a short walk away, with direct buses to Funchal. We managed easily without a car for the week.
'Strawberry Tours' offer a variety of island tours which are excellent value for money, and a much more relaxing way of seeing Madeira than hiring a car.
Many of the other hotels are in the 'Lido' area of Funchal, which we visited briefly. These are all in very close proximity to each other, and seemed packed out. We definitely thought that we had chosen the best hotel, and it was a welcome relief to return to its tranquility at the end of our busy days.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous13082011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews