We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Nearby Hotels
$241
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$76
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Euromoniz(Madeira)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
PortoBay Serra Golf(Madeira)
$98
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra(Santo Antonio da Serra Machico)(Great Value!)
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (1,164)
    Filter reviews
    1,165 results
    Traveler rating
    511
    470
    134
    31
    19
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    511
    470
    134
    31
    19
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsvila galeclose to the airportplanes landinga la carte restaurantairport runwayparrot showminutes from the airportflight pathlovely hotelindoor poolon an all inclusive basissea viewpublic busrocky beachcourtesy busrelaxing holidayall inclusive drinks
    Filter
    Updating list...
    445 - 450 of 1,165 reviews
    Reviewed August 8, 2013

    This hotel is spotlessly clean and it is a nice place, but there are a few problems with it. Firstly, unless you want to get up at 7am, you won't get a sun lounger by the pool. Secondly, the food isn't great at lunch or dinner - breakfast is nice with freshly baked bread and croissants, but lunch and dinner has a very small selection of hot food and absolutely NOTHING for young children. Thank god we took our own food for our toddler or else he would have starved. Thirdly, the spa facilities are NOT INCLUDED in the all inclusive. I took my toddler for a swim in the indoor pool cos the outdoor pool is ice cold. We had a lovely time in there until we were on our way out and we got really rudely shouted at by the man on the spa reception - He said I was supposed to pay 11 euros for me and 11 euros for my toddler per use of the indoor pool! I told him we were all inclusive and he very rudely pointed out that the spa is not included (I quote, "there are signs everywhere, can't you read??") Well no, I didn't notice the signs, and I assumed that the indoor pool would be free of charge! It is in every other hotel in the world! The fourth problem is, despite the hotel saying they have a kids club and three bars, they actually have no kids club and only one bar, which has a very long queue every night because everyone goes there. The area is very quiet, a nice little playground for kids, a stoney beach and a little cake shop - that's it really unless you get a taxi into one of the bigger towns. Don't get me wrong, we had a lovely holiday but the hotel describes itself generously and it certainly isn't a four star.

    Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view - its a beautiful view!
    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank sara117red
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    First off all thank you for the time you take posting your comments about Vila Galé Santa Cruz.

    We appreciate all the comments of our clients which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day. We can also assure that all your comments are going to be deeply analysed, because we try to do our best ervery day and exceed the expectations of every guest.

    Thank you for selecting Vila Galé Santa Cruz Hotel for your stay and we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

    Best Regards.

    Sofia Ribeiro

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 8, 2013

    stayed there recently and the hotel itself is lovely and very clean, check in was quick as we had booked private transfers from the airport, our room was large but we looked onto the back of the hotel so the view was nothing special.
    the food was nice although there wasnt a massive selection and it could have got boring if we had been staying for more than a week.
    Once a week all inclusive guests could eat at the a la carte restaurant and that was an experience to say the least.
    there were only about 8 people in the restuarant when we arrived and basically got told to sit anywhere while she was taking orders from the other guests.
    We then waited about 10 minutes for a drink, another 10 for our order to be taken and then another 10 for our dips which were meant to come with rolls, but we had to prompt her about 5 minutes later for our rolls.
    The starters were nice but it was over an hour into our meal before they arrived and then 30 minutes after that our mains arrived so after 2 hours we had only had our starter and main and decided just to leave it at that. My partner compained to the manager who wasnt the least bit interested and we eventually sussed that he is not interested at all about all inclusive guests as one night the buffet restaurant was very busy and he was only interested in getting tables for non all inclusive guests and he should really be ashamed for that.
    the sunbed problem is an issue but eventually we just got up early and sat on them for about an hour before going for our breakfast.
    As previous review said the entertainment at night is very poor one night it was a local dance troupe with an average age of about 80 giving us a few songs/dances for about 45 mins, another night it was some parrots doing some "tricks" and our final night it was a 3 piece band who werent to bad
    service at the bars was normally pretty quick so no complaints there
    would we stay there again, probably but certainly not for the money that we paid.

    Room Tip: sea view for you can keep an eye on the sunbed situation :-)
    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank scottishtraveller74
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    We thank you for the time taken posting your comments about Vila Galé Santa Cruz.

    We appreciate all the comments of our clients which allow us to correct the procedures and to improve every day

    We look forward to welcome you back next trip to Madeira.

    Best Regards.

    Sofia Ribeiro

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 7, 2013

    We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Vila gala Santa cruz. Arrived on 29th July at 11:30am and although we could check into the room immediately, we were told to come back to reception at 12:30 to have the bands put onto our wrists which shows we were all inclusive. Not quite sure why this could not be done at check in?

    We had pre booked a sea view room, which was comfortable enough although the beds were uncomfortable. Both my husband and myself suffered with stiff and painful backache when getting out of bed in the morning.

    There was definitely a lack of sun beds. I watched people putting towels out as early as 6:45am and by 10am all the beds had been taken. The management really need to address this problem

    The restaurant was ok, not a massive amount of selection but what was available was good. We mainly lived on salad both at lunch and dinner.

    The evening proved to be the worst time . . There is just nothing to do, no entertainment, no nothing. We were back in the room by 9:30am watching a film.

    Would I recommend this hotel? Probably not, I'm sure there are better hotels for the same amount that we paid to stay at the Vila gale. Very disappointing experience.

    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ladybird15
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for sharing your review with Tripadvisor members.

    We regret not all of our facilities and services met with your approval and expectations.

    We appreciate your constructive criticism which has been taken note of internally and serve to assist us in our efforts in maintaining brand standards and quality guest service.

    We hope to welcome you in near future.

    Best Regards.

    Sofia Ribeiro

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 4, 2013

    very clean....nice position close to beach......lacking atmosphere in the evenings...just a bar with no entertainment......buffet ok...but quite repetitive....biggest gripe.... felt by a lot of guests....250 rooms x 2 people = 500 people...but only 150 sunbeds.....aaarrgghhh.... by 7.15am all the sunbeds are reserved with towels etc.....the management could not recognize how distressing this was to everybody....when you come to a all inclusive hotel you want to stay in the complex all day to take advantage of the facilities...and that cannot happen here....unless you want to sit on the floor ... room for improvement in this area...

    Room Tip: they are all good
    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank paul t
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for your feedback shared on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Vila Galé Santa Cruz Hotel.
    We have taken good note about the issue sunbeds and we improved the number of sunbeds in swimming pool aera

    We would be pleased to welcome you again,

    Best Regards.

    Sofia Ribeiro

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 30, 2013

    Went as a couple for 2 weeks fully inclusive, the hotel it's self is only five minutes form the airport so don't pay for transfer before going cost €5-10 in taxi.
    Hotel was excellent, needs more night time entertainment, room clean and quite (upgraded to sea view when we arrived worked out cheaper) the food is very good at lunch and dinner, but the breakfast fry is not what we are used to after 2 days just had cereal and toast (you get 1 free evening meal in the al-cart restaurant but have to book it at reception) The all-inclusive stops at 11pm
    The pool is a good size and looks out to the sea, we had no problem getting sun bed's as we were up and out for 9am but any later than that people did struggle (people putting towels on and then going off :( ) Also get towels free at reception. There is an indoor pool but cost €11 a day.
    The small beach is located 30 seconds from the hotel and it's mad up of big smooth rocks & pebbles so not comfortable to lie on but there is a few boards but not many.
    There is a path that follows the coast, left is a play ground two restaurants a small market then you pass two outdoor swimming pools and it finishes at far end of airport runway. Right is the marina, a restaurant & aqua park can be walked both ways in 30 mins.
    santa cruz is a small quite village not much there a few small bars and restaurants not commercialised at all.
    Funchal is 45 mins away and cost's €35 in a taxi one way, there is a free mini bus from hotel but book it well in advance last bus back from Funchal is at 5.30pm, there is also public buses that go every half hour or so.
    If you want a nice quiet holiday this is for you.

    Room Tip: Haggle on price
    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank godhanger
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience at Vila Galé Santa Cruz hotel and a big thank you for sharing it on tripadvisor.

    It would be a pleasure to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,

    Warm regards.

    Sofia Ribeiro

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews