We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Cruz Village Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$106
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$83
Priceline
View Deal
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
$212
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Euromoniz(Madeira)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa Cap Madere(Santa Cruz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
68
123
82
32
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
123
82
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportyogurttea coffeereception staffhire carlocal busesmotorwaycatalinanoisefunchalmadeiraeurosproximitypromenadeponchasunbedsbalconies
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 329 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2009

My partner & I stayed at this hotel from the 3rd Nov till 10th Nov 2009. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Santa Catarina. The staff couldn't do enough for you and the food was very good. Rooms cleaned well & clean towels every day. Set in a nice location, very near the airport, although there is aircraft noise during the day, there is no noise at night. In the middle of the village on the main road so there is some noise from traffic, again during the day, but we spent most days out around the island anyway so this didn't bother us. Santa Cruz is a lovely friendly village with a nice square & some good restaurants, or just somewhere to sit & have a coffee & watch the world go by. We would recommend this hotel to anyone & would definately return. Would recommend a car as there is not much going on in the hotel but the bus stop to Funchal is a 2 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby6859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Very business like hotel which overrates itself (claims to be 4*, but in our experience at most 2*). Free internet and parking (in a dark garage).
Can only advise it if you need to get an early morning flight.
Otherwise there are much nicer (and cheaper) hotels in Funchal (appx 20 km further on the highway).

Located between the highway and the main road into town: quite noisy.
Difficult to find unless you get a very good description (you can see it from the main road, but it's not that clear how to get there.

The city center of Santa Cruz can easily be reached on foot, and is surprisingly friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed one night at the Santa Catarina as we wanted somewhere near to the airport as our flight arrival time would otherwise have meant a drive along dark, winding, roads into the mountains, which didn't sound a prudent option. The car hire compond was only a couple of miles from Santa Cruz, so no lengthy journey to the hotel. It wasn't actually that easy to find in practice though, being tucked away on the right just after popping out of a tunnel. Once spotted, you have to find a way to get to it, as the road it was on was a one way street and our road was at the wrong end of it. We eventually discovered that you need to take the 1st exit off the next roundabout, then turn right across a small bridge and back towards the hotel. It has an underground garage entrance just before the hotel entrance and stairs from it into the hotel, but no lift from it. Inside the staff were friendly and welcoming. The bar offered snacks if, like us, a full meal was not desired. We were allocated a room accessible via a lift, on the second floor It was clean and tidy, but small and basic. Noting previous reports on Trip Advisor, we anticipated some noise and sure enough it was mainly from loud motorcycles racing about. Later this ceased and a pleasant night's sleep followed, only to be awoken at about 5.30am by very noisy plumbing! In fact the plumbing was the noisiest I have even experienced. Maybe we were unlucky with the location of the room? To summarise. Handy for the airport, but don't expect a full night's sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Arrived on 02/09/09. Booked 7 nights B&B. I had asked for a quiet room as dislike noise.
Room 409 on top floor.Very clean but smallish.Patio doors onto balcony facing front of hotel.Room hot during night but ubable to open patio doors due to the loud traffic noise from nearby roads.
Following morning changed rooms to 206 . Still noisy but a very slight improvement.
This hotel is very clean but lacks personality.If you choose to sit by the pool the road noise is very bad and we were unable to enjoy pool. The pool bar was not open.
We did not eat a meal apart from Breakfast at the hotel because we would of been the only ones in the dining room!
Breakfast ok but staff not very freindly apart from cleaners.
Underground parking is available.
No tea and coffee making facilities in room.( we took our own )
Resort (if you call it that ) very quiet.Limited choice of places to eat .We liked bon Jesus (cafe/restaurant) and the one next door.
e would recommend a car if you stay here or you will be very isolated and local buses take ages to get anywhere.
There is no nearby beach just a pebble seafront.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank location125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews