We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh dear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Cruz Village Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 16th to 23rd of March. The Hotel is very basic - the sheets were clean and towels also but that is all I can say that is positive. Obviously it is inexpensive but even so we were disappointed. The staff were not at all friendly or helpful, we felt we were an inconvenience to them !!! There was leaky pipes on our floor (3rd) and the whole landing ceiling was taken down during our visit resulting with no hot water at times and no explanation from hotel staff !!! Dont pay for breakfast you are far better off going to a cafe for a coffee and cake !!!. If you want a cheap base to stay it is ok - long as you dont mind the fact it is underneath a motorway and a main bus stop is right outside - enjoy

Room Tip: dont do it
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrbigblueblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Santa Cruz Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel, particularly as we had read most of the reviews on Tripadvisor and thought it would be alright. Why does no one mention that this supposed four star hotel is situated under a motor-way?? Our room was noisy, damp and the ceiling leaked when it rained, the staff just changed the towels on the floor each day - they were obviously used to it! Our clothes, which were kept in the wardrobe as we had no drawers, were all damp. We had two days without any water when a ceiling collapsed because of a water leak. This hotel is really in need of a good refurbishment, and until this happens should only be awarded one star

Room Tip: Don't choose a room overlooking the pool as you will only see the motorway
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had a 7 night stay with my hubby and friend, I agree that its not a 4 star hotel but the staff very friendly and even changed our room so we could get next to our friend. Loved watching the planes fly over and the swimming pool was very clean has were the rooms. Breakfast was a buffet style and was nearly always same food but other than that we had a fantastic time. Definatley would go back has everything bus, cafes shops and beach was a couple of minutes away. Thank you to all the hotel staff. OBRIGADA.

Room Tip: rooms on 4th floor brilliant for plane spotting
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having just returned from Santa Cruz - the Catarina Hotel was excellent VFM. Not a 4 Star hotel but a good 3 Star. Rooms big - Clean - The Hotel is kept clean and tidy. Room maid service every day with fresh clean towels every day. The breakfast is basic, but something for everone. Wi-FI internet in the bar area. All the staff were plesant. All in all excellent VFM

Room Tip: Not a lot to chose between rooms
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have very recently returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. It was surprise trip for my sister and I was actually embarrassed when I saw the quality of the hotel. I was under the impression it was a 4 star hotel – what a mistake.
Where do I start…

Rooms
Ceiling falling down in hallways of 3rd floor in many places – covered by a wood and some netting
Freezing rooms – no air conditioning at all
No shampoo in bathroom
Ancient small tv with remote control handed to you on check in
Old fashioned horrible rooms

Service
When we asked the receptionist if she knew of a good place for dinner she said she didn’t know the area and shrugged - When we asked again for help she recommended a restaurant in a nearby village - She called a taxi to bring us to a completely empty restaurant in the middle of no-where with terrible food. On seeing the same waiter chatting to her at reception the next day we realized she must be connected to it some way because no one should be advised to go there!

Wrong information was given about transport time and due to this we missed our bus – when we told her the time table was wrong, she again shrugged, no apology.

We had a good experience in Madeira – but NOT at the hotel.

1 star – and I am being generous here! – don’t be fooled and do waste your money

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaelicGirlKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

this a good small hotel staff friendly and helpful food good - breakfast is buffet style fresh fruit salad yoghurts cold meats lovely breads and a cooked breakfast (eggs bacon beans etc.) the staff worked very hard on keeping the breakfast well stocked
Evening meal is a limited choice but well-cooked and presented - generally soup and an other starter, fish or meat main dish and a choice of desserts.
All the staff worked hard and were friendly - the only complaint was the shower was at times luke warm.
the rooms were serviced every day
the noise from the airport was very minimal and the dual carriage did not disturb us at all and we had a room on the second floor facing the main road.
The hotel is a lovely small village with a beautiful sea front, the hotel is near the main bus stop so easy access around the island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnieWD1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've just come back from 6-days holiday in Santa Cruz, Madeira. I stayed in Santa Catarina hotel and it was great choice. For last minute deal with easyJet really cheap as well. My room was clean, hotel stuff really friendly and helpful, good food and happy hour 6-7pm in the bar. Wi-fi internet in the bar or near reception, small swimming pool, but enough to relax (I went in Feb, so wsas to cold to use it for me, but saw some people, as tempereture was 18-20C). Would definietly recommend this hotel to anyone, especially people with rented cars or those who rather want to relax in quiet place. Though it's 2/3 star hotel rather than 4.
Most tours or trips are from Funchal and it's not that far away from Santa Cruz (bus stop is 1 minute form the hotel and it takes 45 minutes (or 25 with express bus) to get there, but ticket price (one way) is 2.70 euro.

Madeira is lovely place to go and I will go back there for another holiday. Also I can recommend Lido Tours http://www.lido-tours.com/en/index.html for all trips. They are great and I had so much fun!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,075 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
2.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solar do Bom Jesus
Hotel Solar do Bom Jesus
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz
24 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#6 of 13 in Canico
549 reviews
21.9 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Village Hotel

Address: Rua Bom Jesus 22, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-152, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Catarina)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $69 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Cruz Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Village Hotel, is located in the heart of Santa Cruz city, about 2 minutes from Madeira International Airport and 15 minutes from Funchal. Fully renovated in 2017, this is a typical city hotel, close to all historical, cultural and leasure facilities. About 50 meters from the historical quarter and Sea promenade. The hotel is located where there was an old sugar cane mill, keeping the original Madeiran Arquitecture. This offers to it’s guest’s a cozy atmosphere in order to make a relaxing and enjoyable stay to all guests. It has 40 rooms, divided in Standard’s; Superior; and Junior Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Santa Cruz Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina Cruz
Santa Cruz Village Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing