We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is just great”
Review of Das Kranzbach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Das Kranzbach
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Krun
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“This place is just great”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon 2 years ago. Now we have a small baby and we were in the area for her baptism, we thought we'd go back and this time take our parents. We were a little apprehensive as the hotel had just opened from a month of renovations - was everything going to be completed and ready in time for our arrival - but our worries were groundless. Other than some landscaping and re-seeding, everything was perfect.

But it was not really a renovation, but an expansion. One of the things we love about Kranzbach and that we experienced this time is that the place is not crowded. Easy to get a spot by the pool, a good table for breakfast and spa appointment. But I wonder if this is still going to be the case with wht looked like 30 or 40 new rooms coming on tap. Something to think about for the future....

The food is still really great, fabulous breakfast buffet, everything really clean and the staff uber friendlu. What makes Kranbach so relaxing is that you are surrounded by everyone who is also really relaxed.

We went with a 7 month old, and the hotel is not really set up for this agr group - we knew this in advance. But the hotel was able to serve our dinner in our room, with wine and beer and what ever else we wanted, and I think we enjoyed it even more than sitting in the restaurant. No extra charge for having it in the room, by the way.

So, if you are looking for some where to stay in beautiful surroundings, in a restful environment with good food, a lovely spa and pool, than you cannot go wrong at Das Kranzbach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketingmitarbeiterin at Das Kranzbach, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
We were so pleased that you were able to relive the fantastic memories of your honeymoon. The emphasis for the expansion was to give guests more space and better facilities so they can relax in peace whilst maintaining the same level of service. We look forward to seeing you again, Das Kranzbach team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    89
    34
    16
    7
See reviews for
36
351
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

The location is amazing, a mountain plateau, one sees nothing but mountain tops, coniferous trees and blue skies. The hotel was recently erected as an extension to a country style mansion, the new part contains spa and pool faciliities, a restaurant and two wings of rooms. The rooms in the old part have more charm, while the new ones are sleek, each with a generous south side balcony. Anyway, they are spacious and so are the bathrooms. The pool area has several pools, plenty of place to rest, the spa area is amazing as well, spacious, clean, flooded with light and fabulous vistas. The breakfast is great, and dinner is at a 5 star level - quite aspirational, combination of a la carte dishes and a buffet (salad always and starters and desserts in alteration), water from a local spring gratis, the prices reasonable. Also a midday soup/salad buffet and free cakes at 15h, coffee and tea (!) against charge. Free newspapers, free bike hire, as well as ski equipment (fantastic for cross country). Internet free of charge (albeit no WLAN, and one has to deposit 20EUr for a cable which I do not find appropriate). Everything runs smooth, staff is friendly. There was a party for Xmas and everyone got a nice present. No facilities for kids - guests are mostly couples in their 30-50s. Beware that the standars are high in Germany -The hotel has 4.5 stars but is by and large better than many 5 star hotels I´ve been to. Minor minuses: staff´s insufficient knowledge of English, the bathrooms in the old mansion are in need of some LTR (the tiles have been painted and the paint is coming off), very primitive way of billing for beverages with paper invoices that you have to ask for, patiently wait to be brought and signed by you, small TV screens, no foreign language channels.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketingmitarbeiterin at Das Kranzbach, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Das Kranzbach is honoured to have such an impressive report by an international agent. We are particularly pleased that the rating is generated by the guests, which gives confidence to others. We find the system efficient and easy to use so we hope more guests will find us through your service. We have just completed a building phase and so the guest now have the additional use of more relaxation rooms in the Spa area and a new panoramic sauna with fantastic views of the Karwendl and Wetterstein mountain ranges. The Ladies now have their own Spa with 2 x saunas and a steam room, with their own relaxation area. We have recently equipped the hotel with WiFi and now all rooms in the Garden Wing and personnel in the central Lobby have access.

We thank you once again for the impressive article on Das Kranzbach, and we will keep you updated on future changes in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

it is quiet, set in beautiful surroundings, perfect on a sunny summer day for relaxing outside at the pool on the natural lawn. good food in a open-setting dining room, trendy but cozy bar.
Rooms are spacious, but not luxurious; colors are a little dark for the view you get from your room windows.
PERFECT for weekend (and even better) longer get-aways for couples (no kids preferred)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bavariaalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This was a really wonderful find. The setting is stunning with fabulous views - perfect as a base for mountain walking, simply lazing at the spa or indulging in a few treatments. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself has plenty of public rooms and space so although the hotel was quite full, it did not feel crowded. The accommodation was excellent - our room (Scenic View) was comfortable and spacious. Only slight criticism was that the bed was a little on the firm side for us.
The price is not cheap, but considering that all meals and a couple of treatments are included, still feel it was good value. Prices of treatments themselves are good compared to what you would pay in the UK - and if you are concerned about stripping off, rest assured you can enjoy the pools and steam room in the comfort of your bathing costume (the 'naked area' is separated off)!
Don't really understand previous comments about portion sizes at dinner - they don't pile the plates high, but with 5 courses they don't need to (and you can help yourself to as much salad/starters and cheese as you like). This is on top of the huge breakfast selection, lunch and cake in the afternoon!
This may well become an annual pilgrimage!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed in this hotel last weekend. It is just fantastic and everything anyone one want for a relaxing weekend away. The food is great great breakfast, small lunch, coffee and cake at 3 and then a great dinner. I loved all the fire places around the hotel. There is so much to do at this hotel there is no need to book spa treatments .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cailmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Location: Beautiful - in the country amongst rolling hills/mountains (on the edge of the bavarian alps) a few kilometres from Klais & Mittenwald (railway stations) with lovely views from public rooms, bedroom and spa complex. Easily accesible by train from Munich and taxi (13 euros) from Klais. A car would be useful but we were happy for 4 days without a car as hotel leisure facilities excellent and crosscountry skiing & hiking from the door. Surprisingly quiet area (mid february) and appears generally undiscovered by UK visitors.
Rooms: we stayed in the moderm garden rooms. Spacious, attractive and very comfortable (excellent bathroom with double sink and separate btath & shower)
Food: excellent - well above average qualaity, range and presentaion - and good choice for non meat eaters - in bright dining room with stunning views. Excellnet German & Austrian wines (much better than sold in UK!!)
Leisure: Fantastic outdoor poool where in winter you can swim and watch the stars come out. Lots of loungers inside pool/spa complex. Excellent spa facilities but beware that as normal in Austia/Germany clothes not allowed in most of the (mixed) suana. Only sampled on etretament but well above average and good value
The Area: although there are small towns within driving distance (eg Mittenwald) the main reason to come here apart from relaxtion in beautiful surroundings is to get out in the country on your doorstep. We had excellnet cross country skking, hiking (14 kilometres to Mittenwald then taxi back) and also joined in activities provided by the hotel: snow shoeing, nordic walking and an evening walk returnoing through the woods with burning torches.
Staff & Service: very good - many seem to be local and good attention to detail. Many thoughtful touches - nothing ever seemed a bother

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed at the Kranzbach early July. If I remember correctly from what I've read, the castle was build by British artist Mary Portman in the early 20th century. She loved the location and wanted to build the castle as meeting point for artists. Well, today's hotel is rather a meeting point for SPA seekers, who really want to disconnect for a few days. The hotel is far away from the next town and both grounds and SPA are for house guests only. If you are looking for a place where you can hide with a few books and do something for your body, this is the place!

The staff is very friendly and tries hard, not 5 star but above average. Maybe they will get there some time. The morning starts with a nice cold/warm breakfast buffet, for lunch time are soup and salat served both in the castle lounge and the SPA area, afternoon tea with 3 kinds of cake, the highlight was the 4 course dinner-see pic! All food is included (well you couldn't reasonably drive to the next town to find alternative) and beverages are at very moderate prices. It was quite a sport to get attention of the service to order a second glas of wine when dining - but then again the service at breakfast or at the bar were excellent!

There were 3 sports classes to join each day. We hiked one day - the staff provided us with a map and plenty of tips--the beauty of the surroundings is breathtaking. The days we spent at the SPA were fine. But don't expect much from the lady's SPA-it is tiny!! Due to construction work at the car park in front of the house we got upgraded to stay in the modern garden wing for the price of the "Portman" rooms. In the garden rooms you will find an interesting bathroom plan, which I do not find quite practical-and be aware that the bathroom "walls" are glas only, which makes it perfect for lovers but awkward otherwise.

Surprisingly for such a new house was the lousy maintenance of the bathroom equipment (broken toilet seat, broken appliances, broken fuse, broken hairdryer etc.) all in all not a big deal, but still surprising. We did not fuzz about it. What we cared for most was the quietness, peaceful relaxation- that we got plenty of and we will for sure return!

  • Liked — The location and "hominess".
  • Disliked — Only few things.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nla543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krun
4.3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
273 reviews
22.6 mi away
Das Kronthaler
Das Kronthaler
#2 of 10 in Achenkirch
581 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alpenhof Kruen
Alpenhof Kruen
#3 of 4 in Krun
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
591 reviews
4.6 mi away
Parkhotel Wallgau
Parkhotel Wallgau
#1 of 5 in Wallgau
76 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dorint SportHotel
Dorint SportHotel
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Kranzbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Kranzbach

Property: Das Kranzbach
Address: Kranzbach 1, 82493 Krun, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Krun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Krun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Das Kranzbach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 130,000m² of environmentally protected mountain meadow - in a "hidden" valley at an altitude of 1,030m. The "Mary Portman House" was designed in 1913 by English architects in the Arts & Crafts style. The "Garden Wing" was added in 2007, all rooms are South facing and include a balcony/ terrace. The light and spacious Spa and Sauna area has spectacular views of the meadow, forest and mountains. 25 treatment rooms provide massages, cosmetic treatments and bath therapies. All staff are highly trained and certified therapists/ beauticians. A large, wind protected, outdoor relaxation area with recliners and blankets. Fresh spring water from Das Kranzbach’s own mountain spring. The valley provides endless tranquility and natural beauty. An unforgettable holiday experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Das Kranzbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Kranzbach Germany/Krun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing