We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated hotel with excellent food”
Review of Waldshuter Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waldshuter Hof
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
414 reviews
378 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Newly renovated hotel with excellent food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel Waldshuter-Hof is situated in the pedestrian zone of the old town of Waldshut. The hotel is well maintained. The rooms are new and very clean. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom was pristine neat equipped with a shower cabin. Wifi was free with a good speed. The only setback is that only German TV channels are switched on.
The highlight of our stay in the hotel was the evening diner that is available with the half pension formula and charged € 18.50 per person which includes a glass of sparkling wine. Advance booking is required. A well elaborated 3 course dinner with either fish or meat is served. The quality and the freshness of the food were impeccable. Very seldom I compliment the Chef, but here it was well deserved. The restaurant was decorated tastefully for Easter. The breakfast buffet was good without surprise garnished with fresh bread, rolls, cheese, cold cuts and muesli.
It is possible to park the car behind the hotel as from 07.00 PM to 08.00AM free of charge. The hotel garage is 200 yards away and is charged € 5.- for 24 hours.
We normally stay in the South Black Forest Region before flying out from Zürich airport which is only 45 minutes drive from Waldshut.

Room Tip: The rooms do not have aircon which could be difficult during hot summer nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
13
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very friendly staff in this clean and cute hotel in the middle of the high street. They even have a cage in the underground car park for bike storage. We strongly recommend this hotel. Just need to try the food now....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We arrived at Waldshut with no accomodation booked and were lucky enough to meet the owner of the hotel in the street, he had just had a cancellation and changed bookings around so that we could have two single beds. On seeing our room we were surprised just how modern everything was, the shower was superb. Our rate included breakfast and a parking space for our two motorcycles, this was very reasonable. We wandered around Waldshut looking at the various places to eat but decided to take advantage of the "guest" rate for a three course meal. A wise choice as the owner is also the chef and very good one at that !

The beds were very comfortable and although at the rear of the hotel it was very quiet, we slept soundly after being fed very well.

Breakfast was a good assortment of breads, cheeses, meats and the various other items usually present. All were very fresh and very well presented.

Over two weeks in 5 countries this was by far the best and friendliest hotel we stayed in.

Room Tip: Entrance is in a pedestrian area so get as close by vehicle as you can then find on foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Located right on the old town main square (pedestrian shopping area), this hotel is a good jump-off point for southbound travel into Switzerland (and beyond) or northbound Black Forest trips. Waldshut itself merits an hour of time, not much more. Rooms (all are comfortable) in front are preferable because of the view. Rooms in back face narrow street where after 6 PM overnight (but not daytime) parking is allowed. Good dinner and typical German breakfast. Service with a smile.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Stayed in this Oct 2010 for one night. Staff very welcoming and attentive. Rooms spacious and spotless. Fantastic dinner. Very special service and quite unassuming. A little treasure of a place in a quaint town next to the Rhine. Excellent Value!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mskubiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Waldshut is a very "Twee" little town on the banks of the Rhine. It's an old town, the origins of which I'm not sure of, but these days it appears to be aimed squarely at the tourist industry. We stayed here as part of a 3 week European tour by motorcycle

The central main street street is pleasant and pedestrianised, and somewhere near the middle next door to a pretty incredible bakery, you'll find the Waldshuter Hof. As with most German hotels I've experienced this one is spotlessly clean and staff are friendly and helpful. After staying previously at a chain hotel, landing here made a pleasant change. There's nothing wrong with a decent chain hotel of course, it's just that they do lack a certain character. The Waldshuter has character in spades, right down to it's rickety little lift.

During the evening there are lots of little bars nearby, and places to eat. We spent just one night here, but I'd come back again if ever we were passing through this area.

Not much parking near the hotel though, so we paid a bit extra and left the bikes in a secure underground car park a short walk away where the hotel has spaces for guests.

Wondering around the east end of town we stumbled on an area with a number of drunks around a booth that they take booze bottles back to - obviously to get a bit of money. There was no trouble but some people may feel threatened by them, so it may be an idea to keep away from here as it gets later in the evening, they don't seem to stray into the other parts of town though. We've seen this before in this part of Germany, up in Emmendingen a few years back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

The Waldshuter Hof is located in the old city of Waldshut. It is right on the main walking plaza. As such, there is a lot of later-evening eating and drinking on the street below (in the summer). Our room opened to the walking plaza, which was fine because the noise didn't bother us and the view is so nice.

This is not a luxury place. It is more like a place for backpackers with a few bucks. The rooms are not large, but they are clean and comfortable. There is free internet, although we had trouble getting it to work and instead piggybacked off of someone else's in the area.

There is an elevator (a small one) or stairs to walk up. The place is so cute on the outside. I will post a pic when I get them loaded on my computer.

Nearby (within walking distance) are two bakeries and a lot of restaurants and bars. There is a farmer's market twice per week during the summer.

Oh, and the two clocks at either end of the walking plaza go off until after midnight.

The included breakfast is all cold, but is plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilwaukeeCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldshut-Tiengen
3.0 mi away
Hotel Bercher
Hotel Bercher
#1 of 4 in Waldshut-Tiengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brauerei Walter
Brauerei Walter
#3 of 4 in Waldshut-Tiengen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
4.7 mi away
Schloss Bottstein
Schloss Bottstein
#1 of 1 in Bottstein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Landgasthof Hirschen Birndorf
4.2 mi away
Hotel Tenedo
Hotel Tenedo
#1 of 5 in Bad Zurzach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.2 mi away
Park-Hotel Bad Zurzach
Park-Hotel Bad Zurzach
#3 of 5 in Bad Zurzach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldshuter Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldshuter Hof

Property: Waldshuter Hof
Address: Kaiserstr. 56, 79761 Waldshut-Tiengen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Waldshut-Tiengen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Waldshut-Tiengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldshuter Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Waldshuter Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing