We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good R&R”
Review of Hotel Sonnhalde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonnhalde
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I celebrated Christmas with family at this hotel and I must say we had an amazing time. The drive to the hotel gave us picturesque view of the black forest and perhaps setting the tone for a quiet and relaxing trip.

The hotel is located close to the Swiss border in a small town called Uehlingen. There's not much in this town but there's a lovely hiking trail close to the hotel. The rooms were a little old fashion but it was comfortable and well maintained with all needs provided for. The is a sauna with swimming pool with some beauty and spa treatments available for both man and woman. The pool was ok (a little too much chlorine for my taste) and the sauna area was maintained very well. I only wished that there was a jacuzzi to make our stay perfect.

If lounging by the the pool is not your cup of tea, then you may opt for wandering around the forest grounds. As mentioned there's a hiking trail close by and I believe a bicycle trail as well (though not very sure on this)... Plus a day trip to Switzerland's Rhinefall is a possibility as Rhinefall is about 45 minutes drive away from the hotel.

I really enjoyed the hotel's breakfast which had a good spread of all sorts of hams, breads, fruits and yoghurt. My favourite was the schwarzwald ham which was very good and the Hotel's Schwarzwald Kirsch torte (i.e. the Black Forest Cheery Cake) did not disappoint either. We also had dinners at the hotels's restaurant and overall it was good. The roast beef was particularly awesome! Our stay was made perfect by the helpful and affable staff who always had a welcoming smile.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing time out. A nice place to take it easy and spent quality time with the family without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emelyn_alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sonnhalde
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great biker friendly hotel with garage parking for bikes. Excellant evening meals and very good breakfast. The evening meal and main bar is in one building while you sleep and have breakfast is in the other. We had 4 nights here and would have loved to stay longer. The bedroom was comfortable and quiet although our room had not been refurbished which meant the bathroom was quite dark. There are some great biking roads around and you can get some helpful advice from the staff. There is also a nice pool although we didn't use it as we had forgotten our swim suits! A lot of the staff speak very good English which helped.

Room Tip: Go for an refurbished room! Then you don't get the shower curtain.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We have booked with HRS our last night of the holidays in this hotel because we wanted to visit the Black Forest and the Schaffausen falls. The hotel price was cheap and we thought that the hotel maybe was also "cheap". With a great surprise we have discovered a really confortable and nice hotel. The owner is friendly, the rooms are large and confortable for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. The breakfast is lovely. The swimmingpool and the sauna are fantastic!!!! I suggest this hotel for all kind of visitors.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazzarino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rolf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank denise_dossmann67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: wir hatten zimmer 130 , über andere zimmer kann ich nicht,s sagen
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reiner-th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten nur drei Uebernachtungen gebucht. Einen guten Tipp abzugeben ist deshalb nicht möglich.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uehlingen-Birkendorf
1.5 mi away
Tannenmuhle
Tannenmuhle
#3 of 5 in Grafenhausen
46 reviews
2.7 mi away
Landhotel & Restaurant Haringerhof
7.7 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Adler Haeusern
Hotel Adler Haeusern
#1 of 4 in Hausern
466 reviews
9.9 mi away
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
#3 of 12 in Schluchsee
291 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brauereigasthof Rothaus
Brauereigasthof Rothaus
#1 of 5 in Grafenhausen
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnhalde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnhalde

Address: Hohlgasse 3, 79777 Uehlingen-Birkendorf, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Uehlingen-Birkendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Uehlingen-Birkendorf
Price Range: $99 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonnhalde 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sonnhalde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonnhalde Germany/Uehlingen-Birkendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing